Help For Minnows and New Users // My Series of Steemit Help Posts // 5 SBD For The Most Helpful Comment!

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

Help For Minnows and New Users // My Series of Steemit Help Posts // 5 SBD For The Most Helpful Comment!

Minnow University (19).jpg

I've been writing Steemit Help Posts every week for the last 4 months.
I want to help people succeed on Steemit, but I'm pretty sure the people who need to see these posts aren't seeing them.
Steemit posts tend to get lost in the Steemit void after a day or so unless they are on Trending.
Hopefully, Steemit will one day have blog categories where older posts can be sorted and easily viewed.
A Steemit Help tag as one of the main tags would also be useful.

With all that in mind, I've decided to link all my previous Help posts here today.
These posts cover a full range of topics including:
Currencies, your wallet, account security, how to gain followers, valuable comments, Discord Communities, building a following, finding a niche, etc.

At this point, I feel that I have given as much advice as I can. If I think of anything else to help I will write about it.
I'm still here to help so if you have any questions you can contact me in Discord.

My Series of Steemit Help Posts

Introduction to Steemit - The Currencies

Your Wallet Explained - Balances

Your Wallet Explained - Permissions

Keeping Your Steemit Account Secure

Post Rewards - Powering Up

How To Gain Followers

The Importance of Meaningful and Valuable Comments

How Discord Communities Can Help You

How To Find Your Nice and Build Your Audience

Creating Value By Helping Others

3 Great Tips For A Successful Steemit Experience

Realistic Expectations and Tips For Success

Isaria's Random Advice

Patience - Isa's Story Time

Don't Give Up

5 SBD for the Most Helpful Comment!


I'd like to hear about your Steemit experience.
Do you have any helpful advice for Minnows and New Users?
Jeffy the Cat wants to start his own Steemit account, so he will be selecting the most helpful comment and that Steemian will receive 5 SBD!

Sort:  
Loading...

I'd split my advice up:

Technicalities

  • basically just read your posts above*, and/ or read the FAQs.

General blogging advice

  • stick to a handful of themes
  • write batches of posts at a time and interlink them
  • don't worry about posting every day. Better to post three times a week posts which are quality, rather than churning posts out for the sake of it.
  • have some integrity, post about what you know about!

Connect with other people

  • start with @abh12345's* curation leagues (*no need to upvote every comment I mention you in btw, HONEST!) and the @minnowsupport project and take it from there.

Reality check about potential earnings

  • Remember that most of the people who are earning $100s of dollars per post are buying votes, are early adopters or heavy investors.
  • Aim instead to earn a decent second income, assume you won't ever reach those giddy heights!
  • Enjoy the community aspect and forget about earnings may actually be a better approach.

Thanks for all the community related efforts btw!

*My advice to you is to offline those links, in a shared Google doc or something similar, so you can update them regularly, until steemit introduces 'pages' that aren't locked down after 7 days.

Hey thanks for the advice, very helpful for a guy like me who has become disillusioned.

Of course you are correct that it is as much about persistence than anything else.

At any rate I appreciate it.

It helps if you treat it as a second income. It got a lot more interesting for me once I invested to above 500SP, but I realise not everyone's in a position to be able to do that!

Yeah it is a commitment absolutely. It's easy to be blinded by the big profit posts. I got on here because I really liked the premise of the platform but caught myself up in the numbers game.

Second income, never thought of it that way. It lets the pressure off this way. Thank you @revisesociology

Thank you for your valuable advice!

I think you have left nothing untouched which i can share because I am a minnow myself.However still i'll try to advice just to satisfy myself that I am not hiding anything inside because that will amount to selfishness.
Here is what I realised, minnoww should do.

  • Don"t expect to be millionare in days-- I mean don"t expect your posts to earn dollars like whales because that is frustating.
    You can also earn but it takes time. You should check the joining date of those dollar earners and you will realize that none among them has joined a week or month ago, but at least near about year ago.So you too need to wait at least half of that rime-6 months but that time you will understand what and how to do.
    *Minnows start your earnings from comments but remember to make quality comments.For minnows quality comments means-not to write comments like " wow nice post, good post, informative post etc"
    These commemts are not going to help you.
    Minnows make such commemts with the aim of making short but many commemts but that ia not going to work.
    *What to write then- read the posts you know you can comment on, carefully and then add a comment which adds value to original post-comment which may add something or may include constructive criticism.
    *Don't write comments with the aim of earning something on every comment even if you make quality comments.
    *Be consiatent even in making commwnts- I mean make quality comments on post of people regularly so that they notice you.
    *Make good quality posts..Making a one quality post in two days is better than making 2 low quality posts in a single.By quality posts i mean informative, free from.plagiarism, original, good length, well formatted with audio-visual support.
    *Make friends on different discord channels which will visit your blog and support you.
    *Discord has certain free upvoting channels like PAL, INDIAUNITED, STEEMITCHAT.Do join them.Sometimes they are the only supporters initially.
    *Take part in challanges like colorchallange, photobombcontest, meme contests, comment challanges like this ppst, daily brain games challange etc.But be original there.
    *Try to learn something new everyday.Somethings every minnow needs to know like Markdown editing, image use-free images, image source and text source,
    safety and privacy rules. goose-step-836735_1280.jpgsource
    *Work sincerely and work hard with zeal and enthusiasm like.I AM WORKING RIGHT NOW.I AM TRYING TO MAKE EVERY POSSIBLE.EFFORT TO WIN 5 SBD (lolx.....just for fun).
    *Be persistant/consistant because initial weeks/months are frustrating.

Excellent tips...thank you!

I have created a page on my website called 'The Steemit Blogging Essentials Library' that will basically feature an archived collection of useful graphics and guides for encouraging successful blogging.

http://the.creativestudio.space/the-steemit-blogging-essentials-library/

So far the collection only features some graphics...but my intention is to prevent all kinds of great community and minnow help related content from disappearing entirely into the void. Since writing help articles isn't my forte...and so much great stuff already exists...I will be asking to feature links to select original posts so they can become part of the evergreen collection.

The library page and the whole site are still quite raw...so I understand if you want to hold back or aren't interested...but I would love to create an archive page that lists your whole help series and can be updated with new post links if you decide to write any more in the future. Let me know what you think!

That's a great idea!!!

Nice the efforts you have out into giving minnows and new users knowledge of how the platform works.


The advice I have for minnows and newbies is that they should focus on building friendships not support. It is only from friendships can one get lasting support.

Do not go for those follow for follow, upvote for upvote systems but rather interact with people who will love you then love your blog.

You can only do this by taking out time to be involved in a community on either discord or steemit.chat.


Stop pursuing whales with spam comments or tagging them on your posts. They will come or not but if you spend time on formatting your posts and pay attention to your community, you will attract the kind of upvotes a whale would give to you with time.


Be patient, good things do not come easy. The upvotes may be low but they will rise and when they do, do not forget to powerup. You have to be your first support.

Stop pursuing the whales, they will come or not.

Noted,thanks

Excellent advice, thank you for sharing!

Bravo! I saw this thanks to @HopeHuggs resteeming! I'm very interested to check out your guide because I've been working on one of my own called The Beginner's Guide to Steemit. It covers many of the same things you've done, but perhaps you'll find an interesting tidbit or two if you check them out.

Thanks for sharing, and I wish you the best. I'll return to give this post a vote once my VP recovers!

Your beginner's guide is excellent!!!!

Loading...

First of all, this series if "Help" posts are indeed very helpful.
There are a lot of technical jargons here in steemit that newbies would find confusing. The way you simplified the explanation of the currency alone is awesome. When I explain what steemit to my friends I always get confused with Steem, SBD and SP. Now it is much clearer.

I also love the way you dissected each topic. Instead of posting a long one, you created a series of posts.
And it's a great idea to have this post that serves as the table of content as well.
I bookmarked this one. I only need to bookmark this one now since it has all the links to the other Help posts.

Good job!

Thank you....I am glad you found it helpful!!!

A little advice from me is also new.

  • Create steemit like blog in general, place of writing, can write turorial, poetry, song, place to pour heart, diary, and others.

  • Do not think about making money in steemit (although the general purpose is that), because if you only think about money, when our writing does not get a positive response from Whales, we will be lazy to write.

  • Follow the steemian friends who often hold the contest, this is important for beginners, because generally beginner's difficulty is to find an idea of what they will write today, So by looking at contested topics of the contest maybe we will find the idea of the theme contest.

  • Do not think about followers problem, over time they will grow on their own.

  • And lastly, do not be embarrassed if your English is ugly :D, because there are still many out there who are uglier than us, the most important is the willingness to continue.

The above suggestion is my personal experience, maybe other steemian friends have different experiences.

Great advice, thanks for sharing!

Thanks @isaria for your concern to make a good steem community by helping new steem user.

My advice for minnows and newbies:

 Don't be desperate to earn. Because STEEMIT is not a Profit & Loss Statement. Rather it's a community. Just work to build your community.

Evaluate the posts that you really like by voting and leaving valuable comments. If you want to see such posts, don't forget to follow the post owner. Don't offer exchanges like vote for vote or follow for follow.

Publish your posts with good content. If people like your post, they may vote or follow you and day by day you will be popular. Also try to react on people's comments.

Try to make your post specific, short and easy as much as possible. Don't use difficult words or difficult sentences; because there are different type of people from different countries, community, culture and religion and they might face difficulty to understand. Just keep in your mind that your post should be acceptable by much people.

Thank You
@a-sreshthota

Excellent advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56