MinnowSupportProject – Turning Minnows into Dolphins and Making Steemit A Better Place

I joined the minnowsupportproject (MSP) about a week ago. And after just a week, I decided it was worth delegating some of my steem power. You might ask, “Why?”

MSP is creating a real community.

One where people interact at a level more meaningful than “Can you upvote my post?”, or “Follow for follow?”
Instead, MSP participants are offering to review other users’ posts, give writing workshops, run contests, and award bounties for quality posts. In short, we’re trying to make Steemit a better place. And it’s working. The chat gets busier every day. @aggroed and the @minnowsupport team are making changes at a rapid pace to keep up with the needs of the community. They are adding channels, creating new projects, and finding more ways to support new users.

MSP is creating better content.

With the programs that have already been implemented, and new ones in the works, MSP is helping author write more effectively. They offer help with grammar, punctuation, style, content, and formatting.

Additionally, users upvoting garbage content may be removed from the project. So the community’s curation votes are only going to content of a quality that raises the overall average here on Steemit. That helps all of us - and makes it easier to find quality content, follow quality authors, and avoid the junk writing that plagues the platform.

MSP is turning minnows into dolphins.

With the help of some generous and incredibly helpful whales who-shall-not-be-named (they get enough notifications), and the hard work of the MSP team, our minnows posts have started soaring. Even for those who haven’t gotten traction yet, $1.00 on a post that otherwise would have received $0.05 is encouraging, and is helping them stick around. But many of them are already making hundreds per post, and as more people join, that’s only going to get better.

It’s a great community, and I’m happy to be a part of it. Delegating a chunk of my steem power to MSP is the least I can do. I know it’s going to help the community, and in turn that will help create opportunities for me.

Room for improvement, but getting better every day.

I’m not a Positive Pete, a Happy Helga, a Blind Bertha, or a Giggling Greggory. There are absolutely things that need improvement. But every day MSP notes some of the things I’m thinking of, and since I’ve delegated some SP, they’re even more willing to listen.

We need to do a better job of finding the best authors – to get them rewards right away so that they stay in the community. We can do a better job of organizing our content, helping our new users learn the system in a streamlined way, and in rewarding people in various ways based on the quality of their contributions. But I have no doubt that we’ll do those things.

Now I know you’re thinking… “So what can I do to help?”

If you’re not… you SHOULD BE. Seriously. It’s in your best interest.

Better content = more users who stick around. Which means your investment has more potential buyers. And we all know Facebook sucks because the content sucks. Help use boost good content!

I’ll assume you’re smart and didn't need that explanation. So:

It’s funny you should ask! Here’s a short list of things you can do to help:

• Join the project! Start at the Discord channel: Join now and follow the instructions to register.
• Follow minnowsupport.
• Delegate SP to minnowsupport, and help the community grow. Here’s how: SP Delegation.

MinnoWhale.jpg
Image swiped from @minnowsupport with aggroed's permission.

Sort:  

Thank you i would also like to join the minnow support assuming they'd want me.

Well come on down! We'll be happy to have you if you write great content... and if you don't, we'll be happy to help you learn.

Great you can run an evaluation process

We offer peer review, so yes - definitely!

Im new to Minnowsupport, and just starting to get my head around it. @justinchase was one of the first people to offer help and support to me, and realised I didn't understand what I was doing. So just wanted to say thanks justin, I actually do feel that there is a great support community there ready and willing to help us minnows out.

Happy to help! Remember me when you're rich ;)

But really, let me know if I can do anything else for ya.

haha. I suspect when im rich you will be too buddy!

That works for me.

Excellent post and concept.

It will take some of us a bit longer to acquire enough steem in order to delegate. I think the min using the method by @zeartul is 30 SP, but it makes perfect sense to do that once one has accrued enough power to make ones' own vote count.

Good stuff. This post is a keeper.

Until you have enough to delegate and officially join, you can use Streemian to follow the curation trail (though it's buggy), or just come hang out in the channels with us. There are plenty who are just watching what's going on.

Worst case, start by following @minnowsupport for updates, etc.

Yes indeed. I am already doing both. The more Steemians join, the more impact the project has.

Good grassroots project.

D'awww it's so cute!

I might be .. a minnow, but a happy one! and with all the support and friends to follow minnows and dolphins and wales out there are all my friends. I can't wait to know more of you. I like posts like this.

Well join up and you'll see a lot more of us! And if you already joined, glad to have you with us.

I tried to join, but my computer does not accept that discord program. It locks up my computer. also from the link my computer cannot operate the button to accept the invite. I don't know why, but it doesn't seem to work. I will just have to work here on steemit without that community. (sad) but I will support and resteem anything for you

Weird. One last try: https://discord.gg/hZZjZ5

You can download the app on a phone as well. If there's anything else I can do to help, let me know!

okay great! I'll try that

I have tried to join but do not know how. How do I do that?

Start by getting Discord (a chat app, also accessible in the browser) here: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Then join the chat and ask any questions you have. You'll find me on there.

I have downloaded it but didn't see people to chat with there. What next do I do?

Try the link again once you're registered, then go into the general channel
or try this one: https://discord.gg/hZZjZ5

Thanks a lot. I have registered, what next?

You can become a full member by delegating some SP and following minnowsupport on steemvoter. Honestly I think some changes need to be made on the process as we were using streemian (which used some of your votes to upvote member content) and it's not working well.

I believe aggroed is looking at alternatives. So for now, join the channels, say hello, and ask lots of good questions!

Would love to hear more about this program! Looking forward to it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by GnocDepatat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

First, good post, also I wrote an introduction for minnowsupport project in Chinese. Please help me upvote so that more chinese can see. https://steemit.com/cn/@shenchensucc/how-to-became-a-member-in-minnow-support-project

Consider it done.

Me too I am in this project, I like it very much, I feel that I will be dolphin very soon ☺

And I hope you achieve that! Thanks for being a part of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73