Working my DREAM JOB, albeit temporarily ~ #minnowuprising #busy

I'm some what in the middle of jobs right now. I am part of a start-up that has had good reviews, but monetizing that model 24/7 for myself to survive has not been realistic. To say that I took a leap of faith would be an understatement. But that's what life is all about. Michael Jordan said it best, "you miss 100% of the shots you never take". I took a shot, and so far it hasn't panned out the way I had hoped. But it's not all for naught and there still could be light at then end of the tunnel.

In the mean time to supplement myself, I have been so fortunate to know so many people who have great livelihoods who know me, and are willing to let me work for them in a snap. One of those quick side gigs is...working in the kitchen of a restaurant.

An old buddy who I went to high school with helped open up a really successful restaurant in Richfield, MN, called LYN65. They actually hosted my weddings grooms dinner at their location. It was delicious and we all had a great time.

Since then though, he has now helped out with a new Mexican concept called Centro/Popol Vuh. Centro is already built out and in operation, Popol Vuh will be attached to the same building but is still in progress. Essentially you have laid back, counter/bar service on the Centro side, and more sit down style at Popol Vuh.

In lieu of pictures of me cutting up a bunch of produce, salivate at some pictures of the tacos I had my first time in. And if you are a resident of MN, or visiting soon, I highly suggest making your way in for some absolutely delicious Mexican fare. I've never been a fan of a place with $4 tacos and the protein portion is so miniscule. The portions here are huge! Two tacos and I was STUFFED!

IMG_2381.jpg

I have worked for years in the serving industry going back to my early 20's. But one of my dreams as a child, was to be a chef. It was that or a magician, and although I was pretty damn good at magic growing up, making food that people loved put a bigger smile on my face than tricking them with magic. It also pays better, for the most part.

IMG_2380.jpg

So when I asked him if I could come help out in the kitchen, he didn't hesitate. I have now worked 4 shifts and am starting to get my calluses. I do love to cook at home so I have a fairly nice knife set which I bring with me. But I don't normally go through 2 giant bags of onions, a massive bag of tomatoes, shallots, and 20 bags of flour tortillas (for chips) in a single day. I would gander my knives have gotten more use in the past 4 shifts than they had in the last 2 years.

IMG_2379.jpg

I've worked the fryer and made marinades. I pickled red onion, which I julienne'd myself. I've packed Chorizo and cleaned oysters. Peeled carrots and shredded cabbage. Swept the floors and cut my fingers 3 times, none of which required a band-aid. I'm picking up more and more Espanol every day and am liking the music that I can't understand more every day too. The free food is a bonus and everyone is nice and a joy to work with.

Some day I hope to open a bed and breakfast on my farm (which I don't yet own). I will be the head chef and will wake up with a smile on my face everyday, ready to put a smile on your face at breakfast! Just getting all my studying out of the way now while I can.

Blessed and gracious for some people in my life, just thought I'd share. Cheers y'all!

Sort:  

I've heard good things but I don't get to Nordeast very often, and it's pretty hard to keep me out of Kramarczuk's when I am. But I will put it on my list. Any place I can get nopales is a good place.

I haven't even tried the Nopales yet, tbh. But I have heard that they are good! Everything I've had so far has been amazing. You best make some time and check it out soon. Let me know ahead of time and I'll make sure I'm working :)

I am glad you've found your dream job! I also loving cooking and recently started working in the restaurant industry. I feel like working as a cook is one of the most challenging and rewarding jobs out there. I have learned over the past two years cooking that every other person no matter their experience can always teach you something of value. I always try to be open to advice/instruction from anyone in the kitchen no matter how skilled I feel I am. Do you have any simple advice for a new comer in the industry? Thanks for the post! @intothewild

Hey man, funny, I was just writing on your post.

Although I would consider myself a fairly decent cook without having any professional training, working in a commercial kitchen is a delicate dance. There isn't as much space to maneuver as there is at home. It's tight and communication can be tough, considering I'm not fluent in Spanish.

But I am learning too. I think you have the right mindset. Be open to advice, critical or not. Ask questions (I don't care if I look dumb, my motto is show me once, and I'll replicate it) and ask for specificity. I would hate to get 80% through a recipe for a marinade and then add the wrong amount, or wrong ingredient and mess it all up. Rather be safe than sorry :)

I'll have a margarita with that! Those tacos look so yummy. I would love to come check out Centro sometime. (I'm out in the burbs, but I do get into the city pretty regularly.)

Good luck with your business ventures and cooking ventures.

Their margarita is really good!!! I have a love affair with Brazil, and they make a twist on the Brazilian National cocktail, the caipirinha, by using prickly pear juice, it’s phenomenal.

Hope you can make it in soon!

Thanks so much for your words of encouragement, they go a long way.

Oh that sounds fantastic! I’ve never heard of it, but will plan to get in there this summer. Maybe I will drag @preparedwombat and @ducksaplenty with me. 😊

Make it happen!!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I've never been a fan of a place with $4 tacos and the protein portion is so miniscule.
It should be minuscule instead of miniscule.

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64