You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WordPress vs steemit: A comparative analysis of the relative precariousness of two online income streams

in #money6 years ago

How do you go about earning money from Wordpress advertising? I have a wordpress blog I hardly use these days, but I'd happily start it back up if it were an income stream.

Sort:  

With WordPress.com you get the option to switch their advertising program on once you hit 20K views a month, alternatively you can purchase a pro subscription and that allows you to benefit from word-ads, although you probably wouldn't make your money back on the sub with only 20K views a month.

Hmm. Might need to think about starting to post on there again.

You look like you're doing pretty well on here to me!

Although the one big advantage with WP is that you control it, you can organise with pages so give it more structure, change the appearance, edit posts years after you write them, and of course you just keep on earning as those big posts climb the google rankings over the years. And with WP.org you can do even more.

Did I say 'one' advantage?

As far as I support steemiteducation, the functionality here is just hopeless from a student's perspective - I mean I did a post today on WP on 'thoughts on yesterday's AS Sociology exam' - with WP I can go into my page on 'exam advice' and drop in a link to today's post, then go the posts which cover the topics on yesterday's exam and add in links at the top or bottom saying 'to see how this relates to an exam click here' etc. etc.....

Or I can do a quick post on 'crime stats in the news' and then use the same info to quickly update my main post on 'the media and crime' - updating boosts the google ranking and traffic.

You see, steemit's functionality simply cannot compete with WP from a student-user's perspective....

And I can't cash in on each successive cohort of students being exposed to the adverts because of the 7 day payment window.

Yeah, I'm doing pretty well here, and really have way more reader interaction than I ever did on Wordpress. I also seldom topped a hundred views a day on Wordpress.

It depends what you're after - this is much more personal for me on here, and I feel quite cheeky/ blessed (depending on what mood I'm in) that I'm earning anything - WP's more of a professional concern - I have a 'market' - students, and I'm the professional providing a service. Totally different relationship to what I've got with people on here.

This is a much better way of earning an income, because I just write about what interests me. (Although in fairness, pretty much all of substantive chunks of the A-level sociology syllabus interests me, and the exam posts are just easy to bash out, so the other blog is hardly a chore!)

That makes sense, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87