🌟DEAR STEEM DIARY - FAST FASHION and CONSCIENTIOUS SPENDING 🌟

in #money5 years ago (edited)

steemdiary.jpg

Happy Hump Day Y'all!

I'm back with my diary confessions, where I let my thoughts spill out like water from a glass.

Today I want to talk about FAST FASHION and CONSCIENTIOUS SPENDING. I was speaking to my girl @soyrosa about these really expensive shoes I want to buy, and it got me thinking about the different attitudes people have towards money.


There is a saying in Afrikaans, goedkoop is duurkoop, which basically means, to buy cheaply, is to buy expensively - ie, if you buy cheaply, the goods will break or not last, and you will end up spending more money in the long term.

It got me thinking about fast fashion, and the whole debacle that comes with that thought process. As some one who LOVES fashion and clothing, I can tell you first hand that the thrill of something new is very exciting.


Source

Big clothing brands have obviously cottoned onto this - I have recently read an article on how most people would rather spend $50 on two items of clothing, instead of one item. They bank on you wanting not to spend a big chunk of your money, and the fact that most shoppers are looking for something cheaper.

Besides this terrible psychology, another effect is the quality of clothing - fast fashion. How are clothes meant to last when they are being made as cheaply as possible, from low quality materials?

If you have ever seen the documentary "The True Cost", you would have been just as horrified as I was. People in Bangladesh working for the a salary that is the price of a cheap t-shirt, in unsafe conditions. Buildings collapsing due to non maintenance, to get the cheapest t--shirt out, and many people dying. This is not okay.

When I saw that, I made up my mind to shop more conscientiously, local where ever I could, and only buy what I truly need.


Source

Which brings me to my point - we were discussing shoes - which I deem to be VERY expensive. My first thought was - I need a pair of boots, it is winter now. My second thought was - I cannot spend $300 on a pair of shoes. My third thought was - I could get a cheap pair for $40 at H&M. I know the cheap pair from H&M can last me one or two winters at most. These very expensive shoes will probably last for at least ten winters.

I have learnt many times over that goedkoop is indeed duurkoop, and am slowly changes my thought patterns towards shopping and clothing. I am slowly learning that less is more, and I would be happier with the better quality items, firstly for quality reasons, and secondly - to know that I am hopefully treating the environment and other fellow humans in a better and kinder way. I will admit, as a die hard fashion bitch, it is difficult to untrain your brain.

SOME TIPS FROM MY DARLING @SOYROSA, ON HOW TO STAY CONSCIENTIOUS AND SAVVY:

Few things I do to buy more consciously without breaking the bank:

✅Save quality items I want to have, often based on fabric (wool, linen, silk, expensive stuff that lasts long) in a wishlist and buying when they're on sale. Sometimes the items are sold out before the sale, but every season I can get a few quality items for 'cheaper' than if I would have bought immediately.

✅This strategy also helps prevent impulse buys: put stuff on the wishlist and check if you still want them in 20 months (like you still wanted your shoes...)

✅Buy vintage! Bought an amazing wool and leather coat two winters ago and I get compliments for everyone! Bought 80$ for it while something with these materials and quality and design would cost me 300$ at least if bought new

✅Dye clothes! A few years ago I decided to go with some colour advise and buy only black/white or earth toned clothing. That also meant some clothes didn't fit my wardrobe anymore. But then I dyed a few good items and they feel as new and fit my 'new' wardrobe immediately :D


How Do You Feel?

Are you a conscientious spender? Do you feel forced into buying cheaper as you don't have the money to get the more expensive option? This can come down to anything really, not just clothing - food items too.

I recently had a pity party because I had to buy cheap and unhealthy salt instead of the non-iodated salt, because I didn't have any money. Poor me. I'll get over it, promise


Dear Steem Diary, all my emotions jumbled on this here page. I'll be back next Wednesday. Love you. Bye.

Queen of All Mew Mews.

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜

footer.png

Sort:  

Quality over quantity!! I definitely agree. Have just bought a silk pillowcase and it has been feeling very luxurious! ((:

YES! Love this article. By the way, we also use that expression: https://onzetaal.nl/taaladvies/goedkoop-is-duurkoop/


Few things I do to buy more consciously without breaking the bank:

  • Save quality items I want to have, often based on fabric (wool, linen, silk, expensive stuff that lasts long) in a wishlist and buying when they're on sale. Sometimes the items are sold out before the sale, but every season I can get a few quality items for 'cheaper' than if I would have bought immediately.
  • This strategy also helps prevent impulse buys: put stuff on the wishlist and check if you still want them in 2 months (like you still wanted your shoes...)
  • Buy vintage! Bought an amazing wool and leather coat two winters ago and I get compliments from everyone! Bought 80$ for it while something with these materials and quality and design would cost me 300$ at least if bought new
  • Paint clothes! A few years ago I decided to go with some colour advise and buy only black/white or earth toned clothing. That also meant some clothes didn't fit my wardrobe anymore. But then I painted a few good items and they feel as new and fit my 'new' wardrobe immediately :D

Anyway, as said, great article, I'm hoping more and more people will buy consciously :-)

oh wow, these are great tips! I should actually have included them - I think I will, if you don't mind.

I do actually abide by all of those rules - especially the sales - I am a SALES WHORE! and vintage is my thang too - you know that 😅

You paint your clothes? Do you mean dye? By default - I mainly wear black. It stems from being an ex gothy punk rocker, and now it's just easier, black always matches black. xx

Thank you for your fantastiese comment - you always have the best and most thoughtful things to say 💜

Ah yes, see?! You said I spoke perfect English once but here's proof you were wrong :P It's dye indeed :-)

I can buy these packages with cotton dye, put them in the washing machine with some salt, and add one or two items of clothing depending on how saturated I want them to be :-) After that I just wash the painted clothes to get the dye to settle even more, and after that one more wash to clean the washing machine ;-) I love black too and wear it a lot (outfit of today: black paints, black and white polka dot shirt :D), but earth tones are my other love ;-)

And you're fantastisch yourself! :D

hehe well near perfect English - I think that was the first time I didn't know what you meant!

I have always wanted to dye things, but we don't have a washing machine, and even though Mork is Goth inside, I don't think he would like a black bath 😆

We've had a purple bath from the toner I put in my hair to keep it blonde, and I think it might be the actual bane of his existence 😂

Hahahaha - awesome, a black bath sounds epic.

There's two varieties of the paint: one for the washing machine and one for just putting in a bucket and soak it for 2 hours :-)

I'm gonna try it. I have this pair of canvas shoes that are faded. I can dye them. Woop Woop Dark Bath time.

(i'll use a bucket)

Just remember: all natural fibers will ‘take’ but of there’s for examply polyester stitches they won’t take the colour. Can work out great or not so great :D I guess in shoes they would use polyester stitching, that’s why I’m saying :-)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great philosophy and advice. I fully believe in spending the little extra for something that will last longer. I learned this lesson with shoes of all things. Inevitably when I buy shoes that are for work and I digress to purchasing the cheaper of the 2 I like, it never fails that they wear out within a year. Each time I have spent the money for good quality, they fit better, feel better and last 3 times as long.

Yes! You are very right. I have also learnt this lesson. Actually, last winter I bought the most expensive pair of leather boots. They were actually the most expensive shoes I have ever bought, but they are amazing, and now I am wearing them for a second winter. I think they will last quite a while.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I too love buying clothes and those are really good tips
Though I hardly buy anything anymore, since I stopped working...
I do miss dressing up

As you have mentioned, shoes are a different ball game
I am not really a shoes person and usually have just one or two pairs and if I do spend a little and get quality shoes... they can last me a pretty long time.

Hope you get the salt you want soonish ;D

Thanks! I enjoyed writing my thoughts down.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think I am not just a conscientious shopper. I am a thrift, conscientious buyer. I often shop where I could find cheap, quality and fair labor goods. I don't really mind buying anything expensive as long as its quality and labor is assured.

That’s a good attitude. I think that does equal a very expensive product though, well, at least, if an item is made here in SA, it is much more expensive

Posted using Partiko iOS

"goedkoop is duurkoop" This saying is quite true sometimes. I guess it depends on the products we are buying. When it comes to shoes I always try to get the best ones. When you spend little on shoes they prolly won't last a month. Cheers!

Very true. Especially with women’s shoes, which can be so poorly made

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great topic. Seriously.

I tend to be a 'value conscious' shopper. I am on a limited budget, and need to justify every penny.

I am also a 'reduce, reuse, recycle' guy. I buy at a 'thrift store' when it is available. My fashion statement is mostly about form and function so mainly T shirts and blue jeans. My best jeans are all 'previously owned' from EBay or a thrift store. That's the only way I buy 'brands'.

And I NEVER give up on an article of clothing just due to age. I have event T shirts that I wear from time to time from the 1980s. Motorcycle rallies, mostly. I have one Sturgis and one Daytona shirt from '88. It was a good year.

I do have a good pair of boots that is near 25 years old. I paid stupid money for custom made when I was on concrete all day. They are still wiggling along.

Thanks for a marvelous topic.

I am also very value conscious - I always say that I could feed an army with a small amount of food or money.

The fact that you have shorts form the eighties speaks value of the quality, I am sure no shirt made nowadays will be around in forty years time!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quality is definitely the best. We often wait for year end sale or clearance sale in order to buy branded clothing. They do last longer and a shirt that I used back in college is still wearable. I was surprised to see my son wearing it the other day.

I donthat too! Especially with online stores - I put my favourite s in my basket, and then when there is a sale or promotion, I quickly check out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a great post goedkoop is duurkoop, is a saying that I love although I only knew it in English.
Somethings I do buy cheap, but with SHoes and jackets and big items I do try to get quality over price as I want comfort and long lasting

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65399.87
ETH 2939.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66