Is It Possible To Be Content?

in #motivation6 years ago


Hey Dtube,

Question of the day: Is it possible to be content in life?

During a recent drive, I noticed that a lot beautiful homes through a nice area I was passing through were up for sale...

These houses were large beautiful and landscaped wonderfully but it got me thinking that as humans. We think that if "I had this or that" I would be happy and content.
However, going through this neighborhood I was thinking that even if you get to the point where you planned and said to yourself that "I would be content if I got there." Chances are that you wouldn't be.

My opinion is that in life we are almost never content, no matter how much success we gain. That success isn't what defines a person. But we should all strive to be content, thankful and grateful for everything in life...Instead of hateful, jealous and ungrateful...Because life is short.

Hope you enjoy!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I agree. I have experienced this in my own life. "Once I get to Point A, I will be happy." Then I get to point A and I am already planning Point C. It's hard not to do but it's important not to get sucked into that mentality.

When I look back on my best memories, they were times where things were miserable, but we all really came together as a family, so I try to enjoy every day as much as I can. I try to live right now and not think about the future so much. It's hard to do though.

Really great, thought provoking video.

Beth, your have natural charisma to you that I can't explain, and a great speaker. I completely agree it's a hard thing to do, we have to re evaluate many priorities sometimes to realize which ones are truly important.

It's a great question and undoubtedly being content is an inner game. If you are always striving, you'll never be happy.

Very true. It is an inner game indeed. One that many people get very bitter over...unfortunately.
Thanks for the comment!

Wanting a better life for ourselves is in our DNA. I retired 2 years ago to a relatively comfortable lifestyle, however this past Sunday I had a stroke which left me partially paralyzed on my left side. This is where striving for a better life will come in a very handy as it will help me recover!

I'm sooo sorry to hear that. I wish you all the best and a full recovery with all of my heart.

thank you so much!

Oh my gosh. I didn't see this and I just made a post today (just a quick steepshot) about how I think the secret to happiness is gratefulness!!!!!!! Great minds think alike and even kind souls do too. I love that you are doing these thought provoking videos. They encourage others to think twice and especially in a world that seems to be driven by materialistic things, this message needs to be heard. :) Maybe I will start doing a few motivational videos as well here and there because we need to spread the word of being positive and grateful. You did a fantastic job with this video and as always - I love it!!!!

That's a great one! I'll go check it out right now! Great minds think alike indeed. We often post similar things at similar times haha. And your really inspiring you should totally post some motivational videos. Your right we need to spread the word!! Can't wait to see your vid! ❤️

I think @theaudgirl is into something here. You know, when I used to live back in the big city I was always dreaming of living in a wooden house in the mountains with a lake. And this is exactly where I am right now. It has taken me about 3 years to see that I am where I wanted to be a few years back, and where I'll probably want to be when I'm older. But some times the thought of going back to the city and pursuing ideas one can't execute just where we are right now is just overwhelming. Through being grateful one learns to be in the present, see what you have and realize that one has what one needs in the now. I believe we live in a society that keeps us worried about the future, while at the same time, making us miss our past. I've heard so many times (and said) the phrase "when we were happy and we didn't know it". This is a poisonous thought that kills the present moment. Same thing goes when we worry about tomorrow and the days to come, with news about war, and mortgages to pay. How could anyone be content, or happy at all?. One must have absolutely no interest in the main things that drive society in order to be content. In my honest opinion of course. This is not financial advice.

Let's be grateful.

Cheers

@greencross

Synchronicity is one of the most beautiful and meaningful gifts of life ;)

"humans are not made for a static utopia, we are made for a dynamic and changing World." Dr. Jordan Peterson

Thanks Felix! Another great quote.

Not a Peterson fan , just fishing for likes

If I'm going to go back to college and listen to what my teacher says based on book, Human is a natural pleasure seeker. We seek things that could give pleasure to us whether it's food, shelter, material things, and others. I have doubts about it because I see people really content with their lives and wants nothing else. Books might be wrong sometimes even Philosophers.

I see people that are content also, or at least they say they are... Or people that give up what they have to live a simple life and seem to be happy with it. It's an "inner man" thing that we need to evaluate I believe. And I think many time's philosophers are wrong just like anyone else.

Humans are naturally never satisfied and that’s why it depends on the individual himself. And another perspective is that I think, we should actually never be fully satisfied and about this I’m talking about our “self-development”. We should always keep learning, educating and developing ourself continuously. There’s a popular saying that says “when you stop learning, you start dying”

Yes, that's what I was trying to get at, you said it very well. It's good to be content, but that shouldn't mean we don't keep moving on and trying to grow...and thanks for that great quote. I've been getting so many lately I'll have to start writing them down lol. Appreciate your comment!

Lol you should
Keep up the great work!

Sounds to me more like there might be another financial crisis brewing rather than people not being content.

Haha, I'm sure your onto something there...

Buy one of them and we'll visit you! hahaha

I don't need it...Come anyways! lol

but not everything is probable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87