You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travels with whatever piece of crap I had at the time #1 - The Sand Bike

in #motorcycle6 years ago

Ahahahahaha. That's the funniest post I've read in days. You certainly don't owe me any credit for the name. I stole it from John Steinbeck. You might wonder about my theft from a lot higher class of writer than yours.

Looking at it I wonder if the body was changed or the fenders. It's sorta French looking, if you hold your head just right. Tri-color.

So. My first motorcycle was a 1964 YG1-KT Yamaha. 80 cc and 5 net hp, it could beat the 50 cc bikes of the day but was way less than the 90s. The scary part of that is that I put 30,000 miles on it and overhauled it 3 times before I moved up to an incredibly battered TR6 Triumph, the single carb version of the Bonneville. Made in that part of the world, sorta.

I tried wearing rubber boots in my younger days. You described the problem perfectly: They did not leak a drop and a couple hours after the rain ended you could be pretty miserable.

Thanks for a wonderful post. I just laughed and laughed. Great story, I hope there are many more to come.

What part of NM? My dog sent me a text yesterday from Tucumcari where he had lunch on his way to Wisconsin for his summer vacation.

Sort:  

I'm not crediting you for the name, which could just as easily have come from Graham Greene's "Travels with My Aunt." That has been buzzing round my head lately. The idea of stories of adventures with vehicles rests squarely on your shoulders, whether it be with words and pictures as you are able to do or words only is neither here nor there.

Never occured to me that the photo could be of a mutt, but it was the closest I could find. Could explain why I'm a bit hazy on the blue. That disgusting body, though, kinda burns onto your retinas if you look at it too long.

I can't rember if my first bike was a 50cc stepthrough or a Honda 250cc of some sort. I had them both at the same time. I learned on a friend's CD175. Back and forth in an alley for an hour or so until I could pop the clutch without stalling or falling over. My first Triumph was a bathtub a few years later. My first vehicle, though, I bought for my 21st birthday. A 66 VW pickup, followed by

followed by two microbuses. Then I discovered minis, possibly the most fun you can have on four wheels while moving.

I would have been far better off with a pair of canvas deck shoes, but I wasn't exactly given a lot of time to prepare. Wellies are great for splash guards, but when the rain is driving through your jeans and running down your shins - you know the rest as well as I do. Had it been legal I'd have ridden naked.

You are most welcome, but absolutely no guarantee of more. As I said, depending on my mood, my memory, and the availability of round tuits.

South on I25 and turn left at Alboocoykey. Look for the rabbit. Or Elmer.

Your dog texts you? Mine never phone, they never write, nuttin. All I get is "What'd you bring us Dad?" when I come in the door.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99