Travels with whatever piece of crap I had at the time #1 - The Sand Bike

in #motorcycle6 years ago

Travels with whatever piece of crap I had at the time

Inspired by @bigtom13's "Travels with Connie"

#1 - The Sand Bike

Over the years I have had many bikes and cars and a few vans and trucks. Sometimes the vehicle was interesting, sometimes it was the event. I may or may not post more of these stories, depending on my mood, my memory, and the availability of round tuits. The only thing I promise is no original photographs. Unlike Mr 13 I never carried a camera so I will have to rely on what I can find that most closely resembles what I had and tell you where I stole borrowed nah, I had it right the first time stole it from.

Today I am going to tell you how I came to be the proud(?) owner of a battered Suzuki RV125, and my first day with it.

suzuki__rv_125_1977_1_lgw.jpg
Photo uploaded by epinene to databikes.com

In the early 80s I drove a taxi in London. Not one of the ubiquitous black cabs, but a regular car known as a minicab. There were special rules for minicabs. The most important, the ones which, if you were caught in violation of, could get you hung, drawn and quartered, were you were not allowed to pick up passengers on the street, and you had to have "hire and reward" insurance. Expensive? Yeesh. A month of hire and reward insurance and a year of "third party fire and theft" or regular insurance cost about the same.

At the time I was driving a 2 litre Princess. A very smooth ride mid-range car, plenty of room. Also the first automatic I ever owned. 12 to 16 hours a day in central London traffic and suddenly you really appreciate the lack of a clutch pedal. Anyway, I'd better get on with the bike or I'll have to find another pic.

The car was in the shop due to some serious front end issues, so my boss said "Go to my house and collect an old Suzuki from my garage. It's yours. Courier with it while your car is off the road, and if I need an emergency courier." This would usually mean phoning me at home, since I usually worked nights.

So I grabbed a handheld radio, got a driver to get me to said garage, and behold, my first glimpse of my first Suzuki, my first 125, and my first sand bike. It was called a sand bike because it had abnormally fat, low-pressure tyres, great for beaches and dunes. None of these facts impressed me so much as the appearance, though. It was ugly. Even pristine like the photo would have been bad enough, but this bike had probably been through several world wars.

The horrid colour, that was there, but the lettering was scratched and scraped so that on the side facing me it was a SU. KI Rv(amorphous blob.) The blue mudguards were sort of present and sort of blue. It did have a top box, though, and a waterproof one to boot. That will come in handy later. The rest of the bike was scratched and/or dented, but nothing appeared broken bar one mirror. Nearside, so less important. Wait. I almost forgot the seat. Do you see where there is a little bump near the front of the seat? That was the front of my seat. The back end had suffered a similar fate, but there was more than enough left in the middle, liberally covered in silver duct tape, for me to park my arse.

The proof of the pudding is in the eating, they say. In the case of a bike it's more like can you feel anything when I do this? This? THIS Vroom ping ping ping vroom vroom. Vroom may seem an exaggeration, coming from a Japanese 125, but if you stop thinking 900 and think five-year-old on his tricycle instead you pretty much have it. Pop the clutch and we're off. With a whopping nine horses thrashing away beneath me I pointed the front wheel, as BigTom might say, and followed it toward Central London.

About halfway back, when I figured I was in range of our transmitter, I called in. "26 26." "26" was my call sign, doubled to increase the odds of being heard between other conversations. And again, "26 26." This time I got a response, not from our dispatcher but the boss himself. "26, how's the bike?" "I hope nobody I know sees me on it, but thank you very much. Seriously." "I have a job for you, 26. Multidrop in the City." He then handed me back to the dispatcher, who told me to go to one of our regular clients and "pick up several envelopes for the City." This becomes important shortly, but first ...

A little background here would be in order. London as many people know it is not a city. Sometimes it is a county, sometimes who knows what it is. Politically it has been LCC - London County Council, and GLC - Greater London Council, and others too numerous to mention. Not really, but "too numerous to mention" sounds more impressive than "I can't be arsed to look it up." Sometimes the Conservatives slice it up to create right-wing pockets, because as a whole London almost always votes solid Labour.

More background, I'm afraid, this time a partial explanation of postcodes. Like the US of A with its zipcodes, every locale in the UK has an identifying code. First is a one or two letter code which identifies the nearest city. "B" is for Birmingham, "M" is for Manchester, (in PC that might ought to be Personchester, but I've already said what I think of PC,) "BS" is for Bristol, etc. London is so big it has several primary codes. "N" is for North London, "SE" for SouthEast London, and so forth. For example, I once lived in "W2 2SE" in West London and for a while in "BS3 4QJ" in Bristol. I now live in "87032" in New Mexico, where the first two digits denote the general area. 87 is New Mexico like 90 is part of California.

Within London, which, as I said, is not a city, there are two actual cities. One is the City of Westminster. The other is the City of London. No, I'm not trying to confuse you. There is London and there is the City of London. The latter is usually referred to as "The City" or less often as "the square mile." Here is another of those inconsistencies I keep bombarding you with - it's actually 1.12 square miles, but we feel square mile scans better.

The City was the original London, with a wall around it built before even I was born. You can still find bits of the wall. Nowadays it is the financial centre of the United Kingdom, and absolutely dead on a Sunday morning. The postcodes for this sometimes lifeless landscape start either EC1 through 4 or WC1 or 2. Western Central and Eastern Central between them include all of the City of London, but also parts of the neighbouring boroughs. We often assume that WC and EC addresses are City addresses, it makes it easier.

So anyway, I'm barrelling along Euston Road towards my pickup at speeds sometimes in excess of 30 mph. The spec for this monstrosity claims a top speed of 60. Not in my universe. Finally I'm there, and being handed a pile of envelopes. I go out to my bike and start to sort them before dropping them in the top box. WC2, EC2, EC3, Greenwich ... Greenwich? Not only is that not the City, I'm not sure it's in the county!!! Streatham, SE. Cricklewood, NW. Shepherds Bush, W. Hackney, E. Highbury Corner, N. In all, there were 7 envelopes for addresses which could be loosely considered the City.

Okay, this is going to take some serious planning, so back to the office to lay it all out on our poker table. The boss takes one look and says give me the miles, the hours, the drops. We'll bill this whatever honest way gives you the best payment. So I develop a plan to do this the best way possible. City, then E to Greenwich, then SE, SW, W, NW, N. And I'm off.

A couple of banks and a newspaper in the City down and it starts to rain. Okay, I'm strong. It won't last long. I can take it. By Greenwich, which I think was my twelfth drop, I figured it was let's make Catweasel miserable day in somebody's mind. Undaunted was I. I was wet. I was not going to get any wetter. Even with windchill I wasn't cold. I'd made it this far, and I knew that however they sliced it up at the office I was due a good payout. I don't remember the payment, but I know I never uttered a word of complaint when it came.

At this point I decided to take off my shoes to pour them out and made an interesting discovery. Every other item of clothing I wore that day leaked. Including the yellow jacket I'd found in the top box, which I'm guessing could best be described as "light shower resistant." My shoes, on the other hand, did not let out a drop.

Catweasel.gif

Trust me, I'm a doctor.
Catweasel

186,000 miles a second may be fast, but it's the law.

cws.gif

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

cws.gif

The Alliance

cws.gif

SteemUSA

cws.gif

Isle of Write

cws.gif

#thesteemengine #thealliance #steemusa #isleofwrite

cws.gif

Sort:  

As fantastic of a post this is I will be sure not to be sharing this with my other half who is currently going through the process of yet another mid life crisis and wants another motorbike, but he wants something retro and off road. Great post mr weasel.

I thought MLCs are allocated one per customer. How does himself manage "yet another?"

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I don't think I could muster riding in the UK, its far too cold and wet. I did have a Honda Nighhawk 450cc when I lived in Phoenix though. It was all down to insurance cost, $50 a year for that or $1600 for a 1970's boat. I couldn't afford the latter so went for the bike. I'm sure the insurance company was figuring I would crash and die so they wouldn't have to dish out.

Seems you stayed out there, but I was forced back due to work complications and HR1 Visa limitations. I would have stayed in AZ given the choice. I miss the climate.

Remember summer? Or did you sleep through it last year? Perfect riding weather.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Summer in bad for riding in AZ, the heat bounces off the freeway and hits you full on. If your talking about blighty, well.. I don't even have a licence here!

Ahahahahaha. That's the funniest post I've read in days. You certainly don't owe me any credit for the name. I stole it from John Steinbeck. You might wonder about my theft from a lot higher class of writer than yours.

Looking at it I wonder if the body was changed or the fenders. It's sorta French looking, if you hold your head just right. Tri-color.

So. My first motorcycle was a 1964 YG1-KT Yamaha. 80 cc and 5 net hp, it could beat the 50 cc bikes of the day but was way less than the 90s. The scary part of that is that I put 30,000 miles on it and overhauled it 3 times before I moved up to an incredibly battered TR6 Triumph, the single carb version of the Bonneville. Made in that part of the world, sorta.

I tried wearing rubber boots in my younger days. You described the problem perfectly: They did not leak a drop and a couple hours after the rain ended you could be pretty miserable.

Thanks for a wonderful post. I just laughed and laughed. Great story, I hope there are many more to come.

What part of NM? My dog sent me a text yesterday from Tucumcari where he had lunch on his way to Wisconsin for his summer vacation.

I'm not crediting you for the name, which could just as easily have come from Graham Greene's "Travels with My Aunt." That has been buzzing round my head lately. The idea of stories of adventures with vehicles rests squarely on your shoulders, whether it be with words and pictures as you are able to do or words only is neither here nor there.

Never occured to me that the photo could be of a mutt, but it was the closest I could find. Could explain why I'm a bit hazy on the blue. That disgusting body, though, kinda burns onto your retinas if you look at it too long.

I can't rember if my first bike was a 50cc stepthrough or a Honda 250cc of some sort. I had them both at the same time. I learned on a friend's CD175. Back and forth in an alley for an hour or so until I could pop the clutch without stalling or falling over. My first Triumph was a bathtub a few years later. My first vehicle, though, I bought for my 21st birthday. A 66 VW pickup, followed by

followed by two microbuses. Then I discovered minis, possibly the most fun you can have on four wheels while moving.

I would have been far better off with a pair of canvas deck shoes, but I wasn't exactly given a lot of time to prepare. Wellies are great for splash guards, but when the rain is driving through your jeans and running down your shins - you know the rest as well as I do. Had it been legal I'd have ridden naked.

You are most welcome, but absolutely no guarantee of more. As I said, depending on my mood, my memory, and the availability of round tuits.

South on I25 and turn left at Alboocoykey. Look for the rabbit. Or Elmer.

Your dog texts you? Mine never phone, they never write, nuttin. All I get is "What'd you bring us Dad?" when I come in the door.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I came here searching through motorcycle posts. Couldn't stop laughing reading about the Suzuki. I can only imagine how terrible it would be to ride something so physically tiny! You would barely fit, a kid's tricycle is an apt description.

Never been to London, but in Delhi we have a similar problem of defining where it begins and ends!

Oh, you were looking for a serious post? Not many of those in these parts, I'm afraid.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

I am glad this wasn't a serious post. Good to have a laugh first thing in the morning. And motorcycles aren't meant to make people take life seriously.

Serious people die early of heart attacks. Trust me. I am not a doctor!

I am 67. I figure that is way too early for a heart attack. Occasional bursts of seriousness are okay, but I don't like to overdo it.

I trust you, you give good advice.

Catweasel-c.png

Hahaha.

To not overdoing seriousness and many more years of laughter. Cheers :)

So you were a dope runner back then eh? All those bankers and lawyers use runners to distribute dope that is why it paid so well.

I don't think so, and definitely not knowingly, or I'd have demanded more money. Cocaine is nature's way of telling you you have too much money.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Catweasel from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.41$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #133 (5/13/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98