You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Inside of the House' (Part #216)

in #motorcycle6 years ago

How cool! I love the new stove in the old space, and I love the feel of wood heat in general. I don't love getting up in the middle of the night to stoke the stove :)

I remember kerosene lights. My parents were electrified before I came along, but power was prone to going out, especially in winter. The smell and the look are warm feelings for me.

And I remember the radio. My parents didn't get TV until 1954 when I was 3. But the radio could explore the world! My Dad had a crystal set (not the box radio that sat on the counter and lived on a regional station) that he could tune with two knobs. We could get Cincinnati Reds home baseball games, they were our home team until the Dodgers moved west in 1957 and put their top farm team in Spokane, Wa. We could then hear all the games from either team!

Thanks for another delightful walk down memory lane.

Sort:  

Hiii...

look at my photos.

=*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91