You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #MountainMonday ~ On The Road To Yoho National Park

in #mountainmonday5 years ago

Oh, truly!! I love this challenge, Keith! #MountainMonday shares such beautiful sights, the Rockies are breathtaking with each of the views you share the viewfinder with.

The thing is, I have no real words for most of these shots, the beauty robs me of an intelligent response. That first shot like you are screaming down the highway toward the mountain and I can feel my hair blowing in the breeze. (because it's May, right??)

The low clouds meandering through have always held a fascination for me. I am sure that I am not alone on that front. So, soft and can feel them floating. Oh, what a beautiful picture you paint with your camera.

I especially love the view of the 169 inhabitants. I confess to having lived in a town much like that in New Hampshire with 129 people in it. It was only for 9 months but the experience has stuck with me for the 100 years ago that it was. I must say it wasn't nearly as incredible looking, but, hey! You have the Rockies and I only had the White Mountains. No contest. :)

That church. Oh! Enough said.

Thank you for sharing your always incredible work. Now, get in the car. I'm taking you home with me.

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Sort:  

Thanks so much for your support, Denise! I truly appreciate it! The last several shots are from May of this year, while the first three are from an earlier trip. I've driven these roads so many times I've lost track. I just checked and found the first three shots are from early October, 2014 and I'm heading east into the mountains! Ridiculous, who does that? It means I had to come back later in the year, crossing the mountains when there could be serious snow! Now that I think about it, the return leg of that trip we went through the states... that's the year I drove to the Grand Tetons and couldn't stop because I had a crazy bad concussion - and I still insisted on driving, mind you - and I couldn't even take many photos.... Ah, good times! :)

That little town called Field used to be something back in the day when the railroad had a round house there. Today, there is a rest stop on the highway across the river from the town, and a single lane bridge crosses the river. I took this photo from the rest stop parking lot this August when the forest fire smoke was so bad.... A bus full of Japanese tourists had stopped and they were taking pictures of the mountains... so sad to travel all that way and barely see the mountains!

Have a wonderful week, Denise! Thank you again! :)

hj8quw9t5p.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77