A Mountain Monday Rant and Proposal

in #mountainmonday5 years ago (edited)

I was taking a drive on Vancouver Island looking for some mountains when I saw something that really got me annoyed. Here it is:

5phzppcn10.jpg

On Sproat Lake near Port Alberni I captured a photo of one of the most amazing airplanes ever built. This plane started out as a 1946 US Navy transport plane - a flying boat. There were only seven ever made and there are two remaining in the world. These are the largest flying boats ever made - not counting the Spruce Goose built by Howard Hughes which was only a prototype. Both remaining airplanes are owned by a British Columbia company and they were converted to water bombers for fighting forest fires. These are by far the largest water bombers ever built.

I'll tell you why this plane, the Martin Mars water bomber, gets me upset, but first, take a look at this Youtube video to learn a little more about the plane.

Martin Mars water Bomber

Got it? Fantastic airplane, capable of drenching four acres of forest in a single pass. So why would this get me upset? Simple. They don't use it anymore. It flies around to airshows and does not fight fires. I think this is due to the expense of running it and also the lack of spare parts, but this plane doesn't fight fires anymore and there is nothing in the world that can replace it.

I want to show you something else... you guys know I love mountains, right? Have a look at what surrounds the mountains.

79u29hr34n.jpg

rwrfdd1x2y.jpg

TREES! And also lakes and rivers filled with... WATER.

Last year was one the worst years on record for forest fires. All up and down the western Provinces and States of North America the whole place was on fire. Here's a little map of fires still burning in BC last September when the fire season should have been wrapping up. I believe the number of active fires in BC at that time was still close to six hundred.

9o6e0qfz2s.jpg
source

The smoke carried as far east as Ireland. California alone had some of the biggest forest fires ever recorded. The climate is changing whether we chose to accept it or not, and I'm not going to get all "Al Gore" on you about the causes. Some of this is due to natural cycles in the environment and some of it is no doubt caused by humans. I'm not here to talk about the causes. I don't think there is anything we can do about it in any case except perhaps for this one tiny thing...

How about we start putting out all the damn forest fires???

We need to get WAY better at this. Let me show you just a couple more photos, then I'll tell you what I think we should be doing.

6a9d78oxoa.jpg

The Three Sisters, in Canmore Alberta. Above: May 2018. Below: August 2018.

2gur0kma6i.jpg

You should try breathing that air. I had to wear a mask inside the car. It was unbelievable!

A modest proposal.

How about we here in Canada take the lead and start building a fleet of new 21st-century water bombers? We have all the engineering and scientific capabilities for doing this. We have the aircraft manufacturing capabilities right here, right now. All this needs is some political will and funding from the government to get the ball rolling. The Martin Mars was built in 1946. That's seventy-three years ago! Do you think there might be a worldwide demand for planes bigger and better than the Martin Mars? I sure as heck think so.

How about we call up Australia on the phone. "Hey there, I understand half your country is on fire at the moment. We've got some cool new planes for you... interested?"

Or this... "California? Put the governor on the phone, will ya?"

Think some massive new high-tech planes wouldn't sell? Are you kidding me? Let's get this done!

Sort:  

I think they do not stop the fires because they are setting them. Look up directed energy weapons. In California, Portugal, and Greece the fires melt cars and houses are 100% leveled to the ground - yet the trees are not even burned. I have no idea about Canada, but you might have the same pattern there.

My post this week is about monoculture with some mountain-like views as well :)
https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/mountain-monday-rides-the-bus-south-of-kuala-lumpur-malaysia

Thank you so much for the challenge Keith. These might not be great photos, but they are better than my birds!

I've driven through some of these areas after a fire. Plenty of trees destroyed, believe me. It is also amazing how quickly life returns to the burned areas. I'm off to see you post now, thank you! :-)

Howdy sir Keith! wonderful post and that plane video is awesome, wow what an aircraft! Yes why don't we built a fleet of those? I don't know why they aren't doing that right now.

I think they need to go bigger. Not 7,200 gallons, let's go for 15,000! Needs to be short take-off and landing as well in order to get in and out of small mountain lakes. It's a tall order, I know, but something has to be done. It's also more complex than I make the problem out to be. We actually need some fires, that's part of nature. The dead-fall has to be burned up before it piles up too high. When we put out every fire the dead-fall accumulates and the fires are much hotter when they do happen.

howdy again sir keithboone! yes sir, didn't they used to do control burns all the time in small areas at a time to keep the brush and stuff cleared out? Even the Indians did that here in Texas.
With our technology there is no reason they can't design and build a plane like that so I'm wondering what the hold up is?

Well... I guess I'm the first person to think of it! :-)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

Just gorgeous! I want to be there!

Happy day @keithboone, thank you very much, you are invited to cononerlo, it is an expectacular and very extensive place

Great mountain photos, Keith. Definitely need those water bombers. If they could built one in 1946 why not now, bigger and better?

Thank you! Why can't this be done? Bombardier could build it.

I also prefer my mountains covered in trees. That smokey picture looks like a normal blue sky day in korea.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was worse than whatever you've seen in Korea. Last summer, the air pollution was measured at FOUR times higher than the worst day in Beijing. It was the highest recorded anywhere on the planet.

Wow, thats bad. You definitely need more ways to put them out quickly. We are very used to it since it always came in spring. Now it doesn't even go away during other seasons anymore. We have more options to deal with it like extra filters in rooms and cars and vending machines with good quality face masks.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's awful. Normally we have very good air quality in Vancouver and Victoria. Last summer the horrible fires made the air so bad and it lasted for weeks. I made a big road trip east to see my family and I travelled in the smoke for 2,000 miles. Check a map of North America... I was in smoke from Vancouver all the way to Lake Superior. I couldn't even find a proper particulate mask for days, and a painters mask does nothing really.

We got a bunch of that smoke down here in Oregon. I looked at a satellite map and it was just a white smear from B.C. to all points south. I agree about using the water bombers, not just because they are awesome firefighting machines, but also because I am super nerdy about old airplanes in general. I'm still mad that they took the SR-71 out of service. Coolest plane ever built.

BC had it very bad, but the fires are all over, and two-thirds of them are man-made. I was reading about Alaska tonight, they've had awful fires. I know there were plenty of fires in Washington & Oregon. California may have had the worst, I don't know. It's not a prize you want to win! I agree about the SR-71!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "Caption this photo" and "Finish this story" contests and win prizes worth 12 Steem!

Also check out 1Ramp on Android and Web.

Thank you, I'll check it out!

You got a 7.99% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @keithboone! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07