Mountain Monday ~ All Roads Lead to Pyramid Mountain

in #mountainmonday5 years ago

Welcome to #mountainmonday, hosted by me, @keithboone!

This is your invitation to share anything you like about mountains - Tag your post #mountainmonday and drop me a link in the comments below and I will do my best to upvote and resteem your post.

This week I thought I would show you a few photos of Pyramid Mountain in Jasper National Park, Alberta, Canada. If you don't know where this is, start out in Banff National Park and head north up the Icefields Parkway, one of the most scenic drives anywhere. Here are a few thoughts on how to get to Pyramid Mountain.

You might want to stop for a little canoeing on Lake Louise first, before leaving Banff.

74phtoglra.jpg

Heading up the highway, you will see amazing mountain vistas all along the way.

yw8aep48vp.jpg

I'll only show a few shots from here - need to save more for another Monday! Check out that crazy colour of glacier fed lakes and rivers!

xoxp9qlt1p.jpg

Now of course you might choose to get there by train. Ever wonder why trains sometimes stop on the tracks for no apparent reason? There is Pyramid Mountain down the tracks.

9svi7vs896.jpg

It would be way more fun to get there by rafting down the Athabasca River!

hoaaf56nub.jpg

Me? I'm boring, I always drive.

rjgsla86ja.jpg

My final shot was taken in a campground in Jasper. I went walking through the campground in the evening and only had a 50mm lens on my camera - no zoom. Can you believe what I found at the end of a parking lot? These female Elk were unafraid of people, but the bull stayed down in the treeline, bugling away while the sun set behind Pyramid Mountain. You'll have to look at this one full-screen to see the bull Elk.

uwolr6zvi3.jpg

Have a great #mountainmonday my friends! Don't forget to drop me a link to your post in the comments.

Sort:  

Excellent, thanks for entering. I'm heading to your post now!

Gorgeous photos! Love that train shot! nominated to @c_squared.

Thank you so much, Melinda!

Amazing photography

We have some of the most amazing mountains here in Cape Town - including one which is listed as one of the 7 wonders of the world - table mountain. I will snap up some shots this week and participate next week :)

That will be great, I'm looking forward to it!

I think my favourite mountains are always those that plunge into a lake, but I'm quite biased with my place...LoL Your shots are wonderful my dear, you live in a country where mountains are huge, numerous and various, which will make a lot of pleasant mondays... ;-)
Thought of your challenge yesterday and came back with some shots and a little sore thighs as I must admit =D
https://steemit.com/mountainmonday/@barbara-orenya/walk-in-the-mountains-promenade-en-montagne-eng-fr-2a91e6494b60eest

Have a pgdnss1ylq.png

Fabulous, Barbara! Thanks so much for posting!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much!

I love all the entries so far! I'm off for a while on a short trip to see the Bald Eagles at Goldstream Park. Wish me luck! Back in a few hours :)

I'm so happy to see posts of mountains from around the world! I just visited and resteemed your post. Have a great week!

You have the most wonderful mountains 🗻 @keithboone!
The Jasper area is so gorgeous, the third photo is tremendously
beautiful! Ah so that is why they stop, to get a good view of
the pyramid! :-)

Happy mountain monday!
Here is my mountain entry

Thanks very much, @shasta, I'm excited to see what you posted - I'm heading there next!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66