You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #MountainMonday ~ On The Road To Yoho National Park

Hey! Awesome photos. So one quick thing regarding the name.

The name Kicking horse is because a person on Sir James Hector's Geology exploration team was kicked in the head... an old geo legend.
Here is the quote from wiki:
"A little way above this fall one of our pack horses, to escape the fallen timber, plunged into the river, luckily where it formed an eddy, but the banks were so steep that we had great difficulty in getting him out. In attempting to recatch my own horse, which had strayed off while we were engaged with the one in the water, he kicked me in the chest, but I had luckily got close to him before he struck out, so that I did not get the full force of the blow. However, it knocked me down and rendered me senseless for some time. This was unfortunate, as we had seen no tracks of game in the neighbourhood, and were now without food; but I was so hurt that we could not proceed further that day at least." - James Hector chronicles, 1858

Cheers!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kicking_Horse_River

Sort:  

Check it out! I found the sign I was talking about. It's in Field. You can see an artists conception of the Kicking Horse :)
23wzgp9ct2.jpg

Awesome! Great find and great interest! Thanks for the awesome union of mountain photos and ideas!

Have a great day @keithboone!

Ah, that's great. I think they have all that on a sign in Field, or perhaps I saw it in Golden, BC which is a few miles away. So, these geologists, were they looking for gold do you think? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62423.89
ETH 3202.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81