A Geeky Guy’s Movie Guide to Deadpool 2 (2018)

in #movie-review6 years ago

Here is probably the only thing most people who clicked on this need to know: if you enjoyed Deadpool you must see Deadpool 2 ASAP.





For several months leading up to the release of Deadpool 2, I kept hearing rumors that test audiences had major problems with the movie. Some were saying that the creators had lost their minds and taken the merc with a mouth down the completely wrong path.

Even though this made me a bit nervous, I still had to see Deadpool 2 on opening day (in a high quality Dolby theater). I honestly think that those reports of Deadpool's failure were either an elaborate hoax, flat out lies, or the ravings of a crazy person.

Deadpool 2 was freaking awesome!


I loved the first movie. I was blown away by how entertaining yet incredibly wrong it was. It was so wrong in fact that I have vowed never to watch it in the same room with my son... ever. Even when he's 30, I would not feel comfortable watching that level of wrong with someone whose diapers I used to change.

I'm still not sure if I like Deadpool 2 better than the original or I merely like it differently from the original. Although I truly enjoyed his origin story mixed in with a little "romance", having to tell it slowed down the first movie a little bit. Deadpool 2 does not have that handicap. It is basically action or jokes for the entire 2 hours (including 5 hilarious after the credit scenes).





Another dilemma I am having is what I would classify this movie as. Obviously it is a comic book movie. However, I am not sure if it is an action movie or a comedy? Right now I am leaning toward comedy. Although it is filled with impressive action sequences, there are at least six jokes I can think of that are still making me laugh the day after seeing the movie. In fact, I am cracking up writing this right now. Therefore, I would argue this is a comedy that happens to fill time between jokes with incredible, over the top, violent action sequences.

After watching this movie, I kept comparing it to another recent comic book movie that really surprised me: The Lego Batman Movie. Please don't misunderstand this. The Deadpool series is NOT for children. Heck I don't even think it is for many adults. The reason I was reminded of The Lego Batman Movie is that it was not required for either one of them to be a good movie. The writers could have thrown together a lazy and cliche story, sat back, and counted their money. Instead, both actually came up with a clever story and paid very close attention to detail.

Writers Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick (who collaborated on the highly underrated Zombieland) did not miss a single opportunity to slide in a well timed joke about the Marvel or D.C. universe. The team also included many inside jokes and Easter eggs for fans of the comic. Although they did not thoroughly flesh out the character of Cable, they took enough time to explain his motivations.




No. Cable's motivation is not to sweep DP off his feet.

Perhaps my favorite detail was the perfect use of songs. If you check out the soundtrack, you may find some very surprising artists (Dolly Parton? Cher? Air Supply? A-ha?). Trust me. These songs are used in the most clever ways possible. Not to be outdone, the original songs written for the movie are BRILLIANT! Although some of them are hard to decipher during the actual movie, if you stay for the credits, you will be able to truly enjoy them for their comic genius.

It wasn't just the songs that were surprising. I was shocked at how moving some parts of the story were. We all know I am a complete wuss who is not afraid to cry at insurance commercials, but even I was amazed that I found myself tearing up at a few scenes. This was more proof that these writers actually wanted to create something more than just a mindless action movie. They clearly put maximum effort into this.

The story, humor, music, and characters are all impressive. But what about the action? First of all, there is plenty of it. Without having to spend too much time on an origin story, they are able to jump right in with the action and do not have to break from it for very long. The special effects are acceptable... but they are not spectacular. For some reason, I do not think the CGI characters in this movie are as good as the ones in the Disney produced Marvel or Star Wars franchises. There is also one scene involving the X-Jet landing that looks absolutely terrible. It looked like low quality television special effects rather than those for a blockbuster movie. Even with these flaws, the action did its job. It was plentiful and exciting.




This is how I transitioned from action to my new favorite character. I'm clever.

Before I wrap this up, I would never forgive myself if I did not mention my favorite new character. No it is not Cable (although Josh Brolin was perfectly cast in this role). Although Cable is very cool and I can't wait to see what he does next, Domino was simply amazing. Even though I do not recall seeing Zazie Beetz in any other movies, I will never forget her portrayal of Domino in this one. Not only is she funny, she holds her own in her action scenes. She did not quite upstage the star as was the case with the women in Black Panther, but she was a close second.

Regardless of the fact that there were some plot holes and some characters did things that made no sense, the laughs, action and heart made up for these minor blemishes. That being said, after you see this movie, please try to explain to me why she just didn't stop the freaking truck right away? Why was there a chase? Because I don't want to spoil anything, I won't say anything more about the scene. Trust me. You will know it when you see it.

By the way, the post credit scenes are a must see!


Some are saying there are five post credit scenes. I see it as one that is broken up into five sections. Either way, they are hilarious! After the five are complete, I would recommend sticking around to listen to he lyrics of the original songs. They are masterpieces of juvenile humor.

Possible yet very tiny spoiler below.


The song and video Take on Me by A-ha plays a pretty important role in this movie. If you are too young to remember the video, it was considered quite groundbreaking when it was created. It is one of the most memorable and iconic videos of the early MTV era (you know when MTV was about music and videos). If you have never seen it, you should watch it before the movie. Being familiar with it will make the movie better.





Geeky Guy's Movie Guide

Number of times I fell asleep: 0 (It's kind of hard to sleep with so many people laughing.)
Number of eye rolls: 0 (1 major one. Stop the truck!)
Number of face palms: 3 (Some things were so wrong, in the best way, that I just had to hide my face)
Number of times I checked steemit: 0
Can my kids see it: No. No. No. No. No. No. No.
Number of times I will watch it: At least one more time in the theater and I will buy the DVD
Full price/Matinee/Rental/Free/Not worth the time: Full price in Dolby if possible.

Images 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

"They clearly put maximum effort into this."
Oh, @hanshotfirst, you clever devil!
I see what you did there!

Thank you for all of your movie reviews; this one got me especially excited to see DP2 today.
👹

Yes! You got the joke!

You have been nominated @hanshotfirst! 😀
For the Comedy Open Mic round on my Deadpool 2 movie review!
The review link is much like the movie, safe for work, but not meant for consumption by children 🙂 https://steemit.com/funny/@scan0017/deadpool-2-a-love-story-open-mic-round-14-2nd-submission

😊
Yes!
Immediately!
Powerful @hanshotfirst 🤝
Let's hope Ryan Reynolds is successful in the courting of his good friend Hugh Jackman, and can convince him to bring out The Wolverine one last time in Deadpool 3-D...
The buzz on Deadpool 2 is incredible!
Fingers crossed that they break some sales records this weekend and they're compelled to make a third 😄😀😀
I haven't been this excited to see a movie since
The Dark Knight.

Loading...

Watch or Download Deadpool 2 Full HDRip/Bluray Free Online

Visit here -> CLICK TO WATCH DEADPOOL 2 FULL HD BLURAY
Or
Visit here -> CLICK TO DOWNLOAD DEADPOOL 2 FULL HD BLURAY

Deadpool-2-Production-Start-Delayed-June-2017.jpg

Loading...

I can't wait to see this, unfortantly there's no cinemas in Canoa, Ecuador. I'm going to have to take a long bus trip to the city

Here's a little for the bus fare.

Maybe my favorite detail was the perfect use of the songs. If you check the soundtrack , you may find some very surprising artists (Dolly Parton, Cher, Air Supply, A-ha?). Trust me. Trust me. These songs are used as intelligently as possible. Not to be outdone, the original songs written for the film are BRILLANT! Although some of them are difficult to decipher during the film, if you stay for the credits, you can really enjoy them for their comic genius.

I think that with these artists we already have a great positive, although I'm not a musical lover, the music in the movies makes a difference that you can notice until your subconscious, many times when you listen to a song, identifies you immediately with the movie, if you call the movie as a comic, it definitely pushes me to see it, I applaud your passion for the movies, you are too enthusiastic, I would like to know if you can reduce your list of best movies to 3 and what would be? Right now I'm doing a post for a challenge, where the difficult task today is to name the 3 movies you like best, would you tell me your selection??
Excuse my English, I use a translator.

Great question. I answered over in your post.

It is very tough for me to narrow it down to 3.

I need a LOTR and a Star Wars so I'll go with The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King, and Empire Strikes back.

For the 3rd I'd have to go with something like The Usual Suspects, Memento, Inception, but it is so hard to choose. I could list 20 more.

I knew it would be a difficult choice for you, but I felt your great passion for cinema and I was curious to know the favorites, very kind to answer! I'll take your selection into account, although I've already seen some, happy evening.

I have a feeling this will be my new favorite movie~!

Lol I took my 15 year old to see it. A LOT OF REFERENCES AND ONE LINERS WENT OVER HIS HEAD. LOL It’s really not for kids at all. I enjoyed the hell out of it though!

Yeah this one I could handle with my son when he was 15. No way could I watch the first with him. So good though.

Dead pool he is a cool bastard, 😂

I am Deadpool...
If my joke's offend you

  1. I am sorry
  2. It won't happen againt
  3. 1 & 2 are lies

Deadpool Approved....

The first part of deadpool was very awesome and what a acting he did,
full of action with comedy and sci-fic i was very waiting for this movie after avenger is into thearters hope it also make some records in market @hanshotfirst Thanks for sharing

Was the movie as good as Deadpool?
I would say no.
Is the movie worth a watch?
Yeah, I might go in a second time soon
It has certain scenes and moments where you actually see Deadpool trying to teach you certain life lessons and in the end he does leave you with a message. The highlight of the movie is a hilarious scene where all the characters assemble in the blind grandma’s apartment, and the audience is left in splits

I was surprised that there was a little more depth to this one. But best of all, I'm still laughing as I write this.

Wow !!! I’m blown away
This is by far the best movie review I’ve read in years
I must say you’re a good promoter my friend I must confess . I love Deadpool, the hilarious amazing superhero. This is awesome, absolutely amazing I must see Deadpool 2 asap as advised . You’re much appreciated

If you like unusual comedies, then I have a recommendation for you. I really liked the series "Misfits". This is a very strange series, very funny at the same time. A lot of jokes on the verge and even I would say beyond. I will definitely never watch it with kids either, even when they become adults. We watched together with my husband and we were sometimes so embarrassed and ashamed but very funny and funny. Look if you haven't seen this series yet.

Thanks I will have to check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57