You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Any Film Snobs Out There? Let's Start a Conversation About Arthouse, Indie film, Classical Movies and Documentaries

in #movie5 years ago

Disappointed not to see my name up there. I probably write more about foreign films, documentaries and independent films than blockbusters. Although I write about all of them. I guess I need to build a following. If you want to see recommendations for films that never had widespread exposure in the US, my blog is probably a good place to keep an eye out.

Didn't mean to make this about me...I agree with you. For those of us who like film, it isn't about snobbery. It is about enjoying the craft. And being able to call a big budget film crap when it is crap.

Sort:  

I get it :>)

I am not as much looking for recommendations, as I'm looking for conversation. I would sure like your voice to be added to the discussion, as I have no doubt you are a source of cinema knowledge to reckon with.

P.S. There's nothing like calling a big budget film crap when it smells like it. But, these days I prefer to focus on finding the positives. I have been a negative nelly/ thinker for too big a part of my life and there's already way too much negativity out there :>)

I agree with you on that point. I watch all of the big budget films. I like the cinematography of a big budget film. You can usually count on immersive visual experiences. I love that and often try to see them in IMax of Real3D (or both). I try to keep balanced when discussing them. It's easy to get distracted by the bells and whistles.

The best films are the ones where I walk out of the theater feeling moved. The ones I have to chew on at night when I am dozing off to sleep.

I like the cinematography of a big budget film. You can usually count on immersive visual experiences. I love that and often try to see them in IMax of Real3D (or both).

I get it. Big budget movies often look better on the big screen. Last September, I moved to a place where the nearest cinema is hard to reach ( especially without a car ).

Luckily, most films I watch don't necessarily need a huge screen as they are carried by story. I own a movie projector, since a couple of weeks, though and watching them on something else than my laptop actually makes a differene :>)

The best films are the ones where I walk out of the theater feeling moved. The ones I have to chew on at night when I am dozing off to sleep.

Same here. And the very best ones are the ones that keep coming back to me in later years. The truly unforgettable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73