Sort:  

What interesting post and iniative. I am in. Thanks for the mention.
I write in italian unfortunately but I write a lot about movies and tv...Only in the last week I talk about "Glass", "Oscar Nominations", "Titans", "Straight Outta Compton" and "American Vandal". I started 2 new operations: serialgallery and "forgive me for my seen". In the first one I propose 4 of my old articles about movies and tv shows. In the second one I track a list of movies and tv shows I ve seen in 2019. I hope you could find some tip in there.

You're welcome. I will keep an eye on your posts for advice for newer movies. I myself prefer to talk about more independent and older films.

Arrivederci!

Let me throw a few names into the conversation here :)
@hilladigahackles (LeftHouse Films)
@asonintrigue (IMDb director profile)

I think my friend @basilmarples was also involved in some way with independent film production in the UK (may have just been as an actor but I seem to remember some other involvement) although it looks like he may have left or at least hasn't posted in 3 months nor commented in a month.

Thank you, Carl :>)

Sup how can I help?

Hi @asonintrigue, I tagged you here because the original poster (a friend of mine) was putting out feelers to see if there were people on Steem that were into arthouse/lowbudget/indie movies and your name popped into my head as fitting the bill :) See the root post above. Much love - Carl

Can anyone say “Roma?” I liked it but not like what everyone else is.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wantbto watch it.. My folks said it was good. I think its on Netflix?

Posted using Partiko Android

It was good @riverflows especially the cinematography ... the story/plot is good but I think it is the “feeling” the film evokes with the way it was filmed that really takes you into the world of Roma.... a rich mexican neighborhood surrounded by poverty

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds good.

I like films that evoke loads of feeling. In the end, I 'feel' ( and also felt as a filmmaker ) that that is one of the most important things: to touch the audience and - preferably - not in the opposite way that you had in mind :>)

I think a scene in “Roma” where we meet the father of the story but never “see” him is a perfect example of the director using the lens to convey meaning and feeling rather than using words And actors.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds intriguing. Thanks for going a little deeper into this :>)

@streetstyle I guess you're referring to the series on the Romans from the mid 2000s and not to Fellini's 1970s movie? Or, wait, I see there's a 2018 film with this title. Didn't know anything about it. If you refer to the latter, directed by Alfonso Cuaron and nominated for 10 Oscars: It sure seems interesting/ like a good movie but kind of the opposite of the kind of films that I point to in this post :>)

Snob! He he he he he xxx

Posted using Partiko Android

I know and I wear that badge with pride ;>)

Tomorrow I will release a post (in italian) about that. Stay tuned and keep google translate near...

Cheers for the tag.
I’m very out the loop in indie cinema. After having kids I basically stopped having time to watch any films. Sadly. (But equally my time is almost always better off being spent with them!)

But my goal is to make a film of my own. I’m well versed in shooting on no-budget and using my imagination to see others ways of story telling.

I’d be interested in this thread and might follow a couple of examples if they crop up. All the best, mate.

Posted using Partiko iOS

( your own ) kids are more important than watching movies indeed and real life is more important than escapism although we need some relaxation of the mind every now and then.

But my goal is to make a film of my own. I’m well versed in shooting on no-budget and using my imagination to see others ways of story telling.

Keep that dream alive! I tried my hand on a feature thrice and - right now - I'm not sure if it's ever gonna happen. I'm not saying it won't though. It's just not the right time for me.

You're always welcome to add your voice to the conversation.

Enjoy the remainder of your weekend! :>)

Hi there! Thanks for including me in this discussion. I haven't seen any of those films, but I definitely find myself somewhere in between the arthouse lover / filmmaker and big Hollywood. I recently saw Glass and for me, a film like that with it's kind of budget and rogue attitude (self financed by M. Night) creates an incredible opportunity for creative, unorthodox filmmaking with talent that can actually draw a crowd. Drive was like that and so were some of Lynch's and Cronenberg films.

I find it hard to compare a 20 million Shyamalan movie - even if it was self financed - with Drive or with Lynch and Cronenberg's work. I also find it difficult to compare Lynch and Cronenberg, although I - more or less - get what you're saying. They are all auteurs and rebels, in a way.

No matter what, Lynch is an artist too. In fact, he was a painter, before he became a filmmaker and has never stopped focussing on all kind of other creative stuff besides his filmmaking.

Better not get me started on Lynch. He was my biggest example as a filmmaker and I wrote my final thesis of film studies on ( part of ) his oeuvre :>)

I will try my best to check out Glass in the near future. I would like to see Split first though.

Nice to have you here as the only filmmaking voice out of L.A. that I've connected with ever :>)

I pretty much love anything Shylaman does.

Posted using Partiko Android

Better call him M. Night, like @distantsignal. His last name is impossible to spell ;>)

I feel he is a hit or miss filmmaker. I enjoyed a bunch of his films but he has made a bunch of stinkers ( I like that word! ) too. Nevertheless, I admire him for his trademark style and prolificness.

He really started to turn to shit after Lady in the Water. I did like Split and am looking forward to seeing Glass.

I already found it hard to enjoy Lady in the water, although I liked parts of it. I heard good things about Split and felt I might like it. Haven't gotten around to seeing it yet though.

I sometimes think that it would be a good thing for filmmakers to go back to microbudget to really get their creative gears turning again but if you already have a 40 million budget to work with, when you're in your late twenties ( Sixth Sense) and are being hailed as one of the hottest filmmakers ever, the pressure is on and you might start to believe that you actually need loads of money and a bunch of star actors to make a good movie.

Let's not even start talking about The Last Airbender and After Earth. What can I say about these films besides that they made loads of money...

( p.s. some of the above talk - and some frustration in it - might be coming from having years of experience as an indie shoestring budget filmmaker who never made any money with his films )

Oh I agree. I mostly watch indies and oldies now. Not just because I find them better, but also because with all the abusive stuff going on in Hollywood, there are a lot of famous directors and actors I just don't want to watch anymore. I never saw Airbender or After Earth. I gave up on M. Night until Devil, which I liked although it had some typical Shyamalan stupid aspects.

I try to stay away from the news as much as possible as keeping up with it(s propaganda and negativity ) means certified depression.

I never saw Devil - just found out he wrote the story for it - and have no plans to watch it. I have become way less prone to watch horror lately, especially the depressing, torturous, sick stuff that we see more and more these days.

I still have a weak spot for goo dold suspense, scifi, monster movies and ( preferably 1980s ) horror comedies.

I live in Crappyfornia, though in the northern part, not LA. Some of it drifts up here anyways. :(

Oh hey, I got mentioned. ;) Thanks, Vincent! Yeah, I like reading your film posts. I'd like to explore indie cinema more, because that's where I'd like to be myself, but often I don't really know where to start. There are unfortunately a LOT of very bad indie films out there, but there are gold nuggets too.

I can enjoy blockbusters if the story is good, and I like more thoughtful, artistic movies that probably wouldn't qualify as art films exactly... Paul Thomas Anderson comes to mind. And what did you think of The Ballad of Buster Scruggs?

I liked Buster Scruggs! Not memorable like their other films but fun and worth a watch.

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed the majority of it stories, but also felt it was forgettable. In fact, I had forgotten about it already, after a month or so.

My favorite Coen Brothers' films are ( in chronological order): Miller's Crossing, Barton Fink, The Hudsucker Proxy, Fargo, The Big Lebowski and No Country for Old Men.

I think I've watched every single Coen Brothers movie lol. Gotta admit that my favorite is probably The Ladykillers. XD

I found that one pretty disappointing, haha. I guess we can't always agree ;>)

But it's so funny XD

I guess we have a different taste in funny ;>)

Barton Fink is number one for me. And how could you leave out Blood Simple? "What I know about is Texas, and down heah, you're on your ownnnnn...."

Barton Fink is plain awesome! :>)

I enjoyed Blood simple. I vaguely remember watching it on the big screen, in the early 2000s. Since then I must have seen a couple of thousand other movies. In all honesty, I don't remember much of it, so I decided not to name it.

I didn't like it when I first saw it, but that was a late 90s VHS copy. (The VHS copy doesn't have the original music.) I saw it on disc and it seemed like a totally different film. It was their first break-out film.

I found it very good... and deeply sad. It's one of those movies you keep on thinking about long afterwards.

I will definitely watch it!

Posted using Partiko Android

deeply sad. It's one of those movies you keep on thinking about long afterwards.

I felt the exact opposite ( scroll down for more info ) but it might just be the state of mind that we were in when watching :>)

Or aren't you talking about Buster S here?

The one about the actor with no arms and legs tho...

And the gold miner one.

And the one about the hanging...

Somewhat morbid but I still consider this black comedy.
I watched it at a good friend's place so I was feeling pretty positive overall :>)

I mainly meant to say though that the film didn't stay with me.

Haven't seen either film. I am not a Lynch fan either. However I do appreciate a good film. I'll be a film snob with you x

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! I love your honesty and it's a pleasure to have a film snob like you on my side. Please allow me to have the middle seat though ;>)

Well I can't pretend to like David Lynch!!!

You sure can but I don't like pretenders ;>)

Quentin Dupieux... that's news to me, thanks.

I'm working on a few long film reviews I hope to post in the near future.

Thanks for the resteem @namiks !

I'm working on a few long film reviews

Cool! Make sure to reach out to me whenever you post those :>)

Disappointed not to see my name up there. I probably write more about foreign films, documentaries and independent films than blockbusters. Although I write about all of them. I guess I need to build a following. If you want to see recommendations for films that never had widespread exposure in the US, my blog is probably a good place to keep an eye out.

Didn't mean to make this about me...I agree with you. For those of us who like film, it isn't about snobbery. It is about enjoying the craft. And being able to call a big budget film crap when it is crap.

I get it :>)

I am not as much looking for recommendations, as I'm looking for conversation. I would sure like your voice to be added to the discussion, as I have no doubt you are a source of cinema knowledge to reckon with.

P.S. There's nothing like calling a big budget film crap when it smells like it. But, these days I prefer to focus on finding the positives. I have been a negative nelly/ thinker for too big a part of my life and there's already way too much negativity out there :>)

I agree with you on that point. I watch all of the big budget films. I like the cinematography of a big budget film. You can usually count on immersive visual experiences. I love that and often try to see them in IMax of Real3D (or both). I try to keep balanced when discussing them. It's easy to get distracted by the bells and whistles.

The best films are the ones where I walk out of the theater feeling moved. The ones I have to chew on at night when I am dozing off to sleep.

I like the cinematography of a big budget film. You can usually count on immersive visual experiences. I love that and often try to see them in IMax of Real3D (or both).

I get it. Big budget movies often look better on the big screen. Last September, I moved to a place where the nearest cinema is hard to reach ( especially without a car ).

Luckily, most films I watch don't necessarily need a huge screen as they are carried by story. I own a movie projector, since a couple of weeks, though and watching them on something else than my laptop actually makes a differene :>)

The best films are the ones where I walk out of the theater feeling moved. The ones I have to chew on at night when I am dozing off to sleep.

Same here. And the very best ones are the ones that keep coming back to me in later years. The truly unforgettable.

can I get in on that list please xxx I am quite the admirer of David Lynch and Ernesto Contreras xx

You will always be on my ( guest ) list. I just decided to not name you as I was sure you would interact with my post anyway, being one of the constant factors :>)

Thanks for informing me of a ( Mexican ) filmmaker I hadn't even heard of. His work sure sounds interesting

Un abrazo desde Portugal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61