You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Any Film Snobs Out There? Let's Start a Conversation About Arthouse, Indie film, Classical Movies and Documentaries

in #movie5 years ago

Oh hey, I got mentioned. ;) Thanks, Vincent! Yeah, I like reading your film posts. I'd like to explore indie cinema more, because that's where I'd like to be myself, but often I don't really know where to start. There are unfortunately a LOT of very bad indie films out there, but there are gold nuggets too.

I can enjoy blockbusters if the story is good, and I like more thoughtful, artistic movies that probably wouldn't qualify as art films exactly... Paul Thomas Anderson comes to mind. And what did you think of The Ballad of Buster Scruggs?

Sort:  

I liked Buster Scruggs! Not memorable like their other films but fun and worth a watch.

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed the majority of it stories, but also felt it was forgettable. In fact, I had forgotten about it already, after a month or so.

My favorite Coen Brothers' films are ( in chronological order): Miller's Crossing, Barton Fink, The Hudsucker Proxy, Fargo, The Big Lebowski and No Country for Old Men.

I think I've watched every single Coen Brothers movie lol. Gotta admit that my favorite is probably The Ladykillers. XD

I found that one pretty disappointing, haha. I guess we can't always agree ;>)

But it's so funny XD

I guess we have a different taste in funny ;>)

Barton Fink is number one for me. And how could you leave out Blood Simple? "What I know about is Texas, and down heah, you're on your ownnnnn...."

Barton Fink is plain awesome! :>)

I enjoyed Blood simple. I vaguely remember watching it on the big screen, in the early 2000s. Since then I must have seen a couple of thousand other movies. In all honesty, I don't remember much of it, so I decided not to name it.

I didn't like it when I first saw it, but that was a late 90s VHS copy. (The VHS copy doesn't have the original music.) I saw it on disc and it seemed like a totally different film. It was their first break-out film.

I found it very good... and deeply sad. It's one of those movies you keep on thinking about long afterwards.

I will definitely watch it!

Posted using Partiko Android

deeply sad. It's one of those movies you keep on thinking about long afterwards.

I felt the exact opposite ( scroll down for more info ) but it might just be the state of mind that we were in when watching :>)

Or aren't you talking about Buster S here?

The one about the actor with no arms and legs tho...

And the gold miner one.

And the one about the hanging...

Somewhat morbid but I still consider this black comedy.
I watched it at a good friend's place so I was feeling pretty positive overall :>)

I mainly meant to say though that the film didn't stay with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82