You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Any Film Snobs Out There? - Part 2 - Let's Talk about 1970s Movies

in #movies5 years ago

A couple that come to mind are Patton, Dog Day Afternoon, and The Outlaw Josey Wales. Patton was one of the first of what I would call raw war movies, showing a bit more of the reality of war. Though by today's standards, is pretty tame. Plus there was a lot of swearing, that to that time, was NOT in mainstream movies. Patton was the first I remember seeing that pushed back a bit on the glorification of war, though some is a bit over the top about the man. Or so I've heard. Never met him, so I'll leave that to folks that know. But his bravado kind of glorifies war all over again. Hadn't really thought about that until now.

The Outlaw Josey Wales was a classic western, and it had a bit of humor too. Loved Chief Dan George (hence I quote him now and then in my posts...) He stole that movie. I remember my friend Jimmy McD and I counting how many people Clint shot in total. No, not something to be proud of on some scale, but hey, we were kids when we watched it.
The western is probably my favorite genre, but not as many come out anymore, though a few more recent are classics (not 70's). Quigley Down Under, Silverado, and the more recent, really good Open Range.

Dog Day Afternoon is an early Pacino, and I like a lot of his stuff. Supposedly it's based on a real story, so that makes it even more interesting. If not a bit hard to believe.

Thanks for the food for thought on this idea. I love movies, and more will no-doubt come to mind in time. There were a lot of greats in the seventies. James Bond really got started then. (I realize few of these are very 'deep' movies, but entertainment is usually why I go...) Thanks, and movie on.

Sort:  

Awesome comment!

I remember enjoying Patton, watching it on TV in the attic of my parents house, ages ago.

Dog Day Afternoon is one of my favorites. It always got to me, every single time I watched it. Pacino once was my favorite actor and this is one of his finest performances as goes for his co-star John Cazale, who died way too early

I don’t remember having seen The Outlaw Josey Wales but I like a good western, when I see it.

Favs of mine are High Noon, Once Upon A Time in the West, The Good The Bad and The Ugly, The Great Silence ( taking place in the snow ), Jodorowsky’s El Topo and Unforgiven

Thanks again for adding to the conversation and STAY TUNED

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85