Mowed Over.......

in #mowing6 years ago (edited)

The following is an entry from my blog that you can find at: http://www.lulabelle.net

It's that time again. With the warmer weather, it's time to make sure your yard is mowed regularly and well-groomed.

Y'all, My husband and I have had the worst time getting someone to mow our grass and clip the hedges. We hired someone two years ago, but they quit last year. Because my husband Chad has allergies and our yard is too small for a riding lawn mower (so I can't do it), we realized quickly that our only option was to use a lawn service. So I started asking around and someone (who shall remain nameless because I don't blame them one bit) contacted me with the name of a local, family-owned lawn care business.

Sound promising? Read on......

Now, in the beginning, I was pretty impressed. They answered my inquiry quickly and were able to accommodate our hectic schedule by agreeing to do the work on a day where other businesses were normally closed. On the first day they mowed, I told them that of course the grass needed to be mowed and the large weeds in the front and side of the house needed to be removed. Including that weed on the side of our house by our porch. I specifically remember telling them to remove the porch weed.

This weed was so large we had used part of it as a Christmas tree this year(from December to April as it turns out, but that's neither here nor there). Honestly, it's gotten SO much bigger since December that you hardly have to open the door the entire way to see it in its full glory. And yes I have tried plucking it out with my dainty hands and Goliath strength, but it's passed the point at which tools wouldn't be necessary.

We agree on a reasonable payment and the guy shows up to do the work. Now, this is where I made the mistake. After the first mowing session ended, I noticed the porch weed was still firmly cemented in the side yard. The guy told me that he'd get to it next time, he just didn't have his lopper with him (I don't know why this word sounds like a euphemism for something else. But there it is).

This was my mistake. I should have told him we couldn't pay him till the job was done, but as this was our first go around, I decided to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I should have reread that first sentence in the above paragraph. Even when he was mowing the grass last week, I could have sworn I heard a weed eater whirring in the background.

So it was to my great surprise and annoyance that I saw the porch weed sitting, untouched, hugging the cool concrete when I opened the door after he had finished. He had knocked on the door so he could say he was finished and I could pay him. But the instant I saw the weed, I looked at him, nodded and gazed toward the weed and pointed. He said, "What?" as I kept eye contact and kept my finger pointed firmly toward the weed.

His eye follows my finger to the weed, he gasped, throws up his hands and says, "$#@%&#!, I forgot my lopper again! Text me and remind me for next time!"

"WHAAATT??!!"

So, um, I guess it's on me that I thought just verbally telling you what needed to be done would be enough to actually DO what I'm paying you to do.

My bad.

So because you forgot to bring your loppers (Ok, is this a real thing or a tool from Who-ville?), I forgot how to do the math and am only paying you for mowing.

Also, here is a handy-dandy little reminder for next time:

Porch Weed For Blog 1.jpg

Porch Weed For Blog 2.jpg
Good luck!!

PS: Since this writing, the yard guy has been fired and our palatial acreage is on the hunt-for the 1,268th time-for an expert yard guy/girl/person.

It may be about time to invest in a goat. :-P

Sort:  

@lulabelle, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Maybe it's possible to dig a hole around the neck of the weed and then dig it out from the bottom. I dug out some plants like these when I was young since I liked digging holes. But if you can find a good lawn mowing service with a lopper on hand you won't have to do that.

Good luck!

P.S. I don't know what a lopper is either.

Since this writing I've learned that it's a large scissory thing and we do have one, I just don't know where it is. Also since this writing we've gone through one more yard guy who claimed that it wasn't actually a weed, but a TREE that was part of the LANDSCAPING. :-P :-D I'm THIS close to just saying screw it, and putting down cement! :-P

Yeah. I think you really need to dig it out or get someone else to dig it out. If you cut it down without digging it out it will grow back and weeds grow fast!

P.S. I thought it was funny that the other guy said it was intended for landscaping lol.

RIGHT? "Landscaping" HA! Bruh, I don't care if it's landscaping or not, I told you to cut it down!! :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73