Six From the 60s Music Challenge

in #music6 years ago

Uhhhhoooo Boy. My friend Slobberchops is on a mission to educate his teenage daughter (at her request) to the 'old' music. I'm not saying he missed on his 6, but I think I can come up with a slightly different mix. I graduated from High School in 1969. I remember.


Source

I thought about limiting this list to bands that I actually saw in concert, but I decided to give a little more depth to it. I'm writing this from an American perspective, which does make it a bit different than Slobberchops list. You can find that here

The Rules

(copy and paste from the original post. Sue me)

Link SIX singles from the 1960’s and let us know why the song is memorable to you.

Make sure they are not too obscure, we are trying to teach the younger readers what was good, not about old ‘B-sides’.

State the year of release, we are trying to educate people!

Add a Wikipedia link to each song so the uneducated can learn a little about the song. If there isn’t one available, then choose something a little more popular.

Use the # sixtieschallenge tag in your article.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The 60s was a time of turmoil in the US. It started as a continuation of the 50s but social pressure soon left a huge mark. America got the draft back with the express purpose of filling body bags in Vietnam. The inner cities of the US burned in '68 which was also the Summer of Love. Ken Kesey toured the Electric Kool Aide Acid Test from a school bus and Hunter S Thompson wrote a little missive called Fear and Loathing. Jack Kerouac, Alan Ginsburg, Andy Warhol and Espresso Shops that smelled strangely of burned rope. That was the 60s in the USA.

Iron Butterfly IN A GADDA DA VIDA

This is just awful black and white video from 1968. Most TV stations did not have video recorders in 1968.

Yes. 17 minutes worth. There was a huge battle in the music industry between bands that wanted their music as written and radio stations that wanted 3 minutes tops. This was considered extisential music for the dope fueled lifestyle.

Wikipedia Link

Steve Miller Band LIVIN IN THE USA

Steve Miller Band was a hot set up in the second half of the 60s. They had a full time harp player, Norton Buffalo, a nod to their blues roots. They weren't particularly bluesy on this album.

Wikipedia Link

Deep Purple KENTUCKY WOMAN

Deep Purple. Hush. Smoke on the Water. Good music, but it featured the organ and vocals. Kentucky Woman would feature a screaming guitar. Metal was born right here. This video was edited to fit a TV show, but you get the idea...For the record, this is a B side to Hush.

Wikipedia Link

Spencer Davis Group GIMME SOME LOVIN'

Little Stevie Winwood left a mark on Rock Music that lasts to this day. This was just the hottest thing going in 1966 when Winwood was all of 16 years old.

Wikipedia Link

John Mayhall and the Blues Breakers with Eric Clapton ALL YOUR LOVE

John Mayhall and the Blues Breakers used over 100 members in the band including a kid named Clapton. Always an innovator, Mayhall pioneered several items including a tour with no drum kit. Listen to the drums on this for instance...

Wikipedia Link

Santana JINGO

Not their best known from the early days, but one of my favorites. Written by a Nigerian drummer I saw Carlos and the boys perform this song live in 1969. Doesn't every band carry 4 drummers? And Carlos is still making damn fine music!

Wikipedia Link

There are 6 from the 60s that I remember. Some of it may be just a little bit foggy. I was living the life!

Thanks

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Great stuff! All new to me apart from the Spencer Davis Group and Santana, and I didn't recognise the Santana one until 5 mins in. It was great to be a child in the Sixties - must have been even better to have been a teenager.
I recognised the Iron Butterfly intro, but I'd never heard the track before. Then I remembered where I'd heard it... in this song.

Wowwie. I learned something too. That there is a will i am outside the Black Eyed Peas. Actually, I knew that at some level but had never heard that song.

That is almost a 'trick' version of Jingo by Santana. The live version was significantly different than the album version. Thanks for a great comment.

Those are very guitar driven bluesy picks and much different than mine! Your exposure to music would not be anything like mine being over the pond, and I was also a nipper in short pants during these times.

70's next week, when it gets more fun.

Sometime in the mid 70s is when I really got after the blues. Started in HS, but then went completely off the rails for a while. And STILL love the blues.

I'll probably have an idea or two next week, too!

a Great selection of songs, today I was in a sixties mood and on a 60's channel heard a few of them today

tip!

Thanks! I often listen to mixes from the 60s, but I tried to veer a little off the path of what is popular today compared with what was popular then.

Consider me educated! I did not know one song in the list, gonna add them to my playlist.

Can not believe Santana is still doing his thing!

When does the contest end?

It's just a challenge, not a contest. No prizes except trash talking rights and the education of Slobberchop's daughter. There is no end posted. It could go on forever!

I really like Santana's stuff from this century. He's really 'modernized' well. I think I'd really like to see him in concert again. I'm guessing 1978 or so was the last time for me. And I've been to lots of shows from musicians that have played with Carlos over the years. Notably Tito Fuentes and Coco Montoya. Both are terrific musicians in their own right.

Great songs, Though I wasn't born until just as the 60s ended, I still listened to 60s music. I had an odd mix growing up. Having very old parents their music was from pre rock and roll, being teens during 40's so I listened to big band and swing and jazz , my older sisters (much older than me) were teens in the 60s so I had all their old albums and 45s and listened to those as well ( I remember playing incense and peppermints 45 over and over again in the summer on my little pink gingham portable record player) I also was close to my paternal grandfather and I'd listen to old 78's of caruso on his gramophone, now mix in the new wave of my own 80s and it made for an interesting mix of songs.

My Grandmother had a '78 or two of Caruso that she played on her Victrola. She was just transformed by his music. Mom said when they were kids they knew to just vacate when her mom put Caruso on. They had probably pushed what ever too far :)

Do you remember when Doc Severensen (Johnny Carson's band leader) did a 'big band' LP in the 90s? It was REALLY good. Cleveland symphony members if I remember correctly doing covers of the 'signature songs' of a whole bunch of big bands.

Oh I want in on this. Very nice selection there.

Cool deal. I look forward to your list. I just jumped when I saw the challenge!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 186 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01