You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Six From the 60s Music Challenge

in #music6 years ago

Great songs, Though I wasn't born until just as the 60s ended, I still listened to 60s music. I had an odd mix growing up. Having very old parents their music was from pre rock and roll, being teens during 40's so I listened to big band and swing and jazz , my older sisters (much older than me) were teens in the 60s so I had all their old albums and 45s and listened to those as well ( I remember playing incense and peppermints 45 over and over again in the summer on my little pink gingham portable record player) I also was close to my paternal grandfather and I'd listen to old 78's of caruso on his gramophone, now mix in the new wave of my own 80s and it made for an interesting mix of songs.

Sort:  

My Grandmother had a '78 or two of Caruso that she played on her Victrola. She was just transformed by his music. Mom said when they were kids they knew to just vacate when her mom put Caruso on. They had probably pushed what ever too far :)

Do you remember when Doc Severensen (Johnny Carson's band leader) did a 'big band' LP in the 90s? It was REALLY good. Cleveland symphony members if I remember correctly doing covers of the 'signature songs' of a whole bunch of big bands.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86