You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: a-ha - Take On Me (Cover by Ed Privat)

in #music6 years ago

Man oh man. I got a story! First, thank you for playing that one this morning, I have history with this song.

Back in the decades, the only vinyl in the bags was drum n bass and jungle, long long time turning that stuff. I only had two ‘mainstream’ type mixes I would layer on top of drum n bass.

One was Pat Benetar’s “Love is a battlefield” and the other I was A-ha “take on me.”

Thanks Ed, great song!

Sort:  

I wanted to be Pat Benetar!! Sang into my brush handle plenty to "Love is a battlefield" lol

As far as I know, you sound just like her!

Story time: I saw her recently, not longer than 5 years ago. I was really interested to see her because I saw her 20’ish years ago also, she was such a rock star back then! I expected mellow and I didn’t expect big pipes.

She rocked harder at age 60+ than any time I’ve ever seen her. It was awesome.

Oh that is an awesome story!! I was worried it was going in the direction of "get out while the gettin's good" kind of thing :) A lot of aging singers can't pull that off. Never of you, @edprivat, but those lesser is who I'm referring to!

Thanks for the the best story time @dandays! I just read your comment to Brian here, and he's now singing "Love is a Battlefield" lol

Aging singers.... :o
Oh why Lynn did you even mention me in the same sentence ? :P

Aging singer....

I'm gonna go have a nap

hahahaha @edprivat, totally not you!! Actually, I think it was this post where I showed your picture to Brian and said, "doesn't Ed look like a kid?". 😅 Seriously!!

Oh wow thanks for sharing your story Art! I wonder how it sounds with some drums and bass because I can hear in my head this is the perfect rhythm for it !

Absolutely! Both of them, right?? Love Is A Battlefield and Take On Me at 45rpm are both right around 175. Trip out hu?! Man I only mixed the records live a couple of times back in the day and I got big reactions from the crowd each time.

I am sure you did, I was always the first to go right in front of the speaker when a classic was getting mixed .
I had my fav though, Asian Dub Foundation was always putting me in a trance, and any cartoon/series opening mixed with DnB or Hard Techno was just making me go crazy for some reason

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67