a-ha - Take On Me (Cover by Ed Privat)

in #music6 years ago


A month ago , i watched Deadpool 2, and at a very unexpected moment in the movie, it gets very poignant and emotional,it's thanks to an acoustic version of the a-ha song "Take On Me" performed by the original band, which is mind blowing by the way,it just shows how it doesn't matter the way you arrange a song, a good song is a good song inherent of its form.As usual when I like a song , I had to give it a try, so that's pretty much what I spent my day doing :)

I got so carried away that I almost stopped playing the guitar in the third verse, I was transported a little...

I added some brightness and contrast, played around with the saturation as I wanted to reproduce the visual effect of the music video.

Here are the lyrics
Take care !!!

TAKE ON ME
We're talking away
I don't know what
I'm to say I'll say it anyway
Today's another day to find you
Shying away
I'll be coming for your love, okay?
Take on me (take on me)
Take me on (take on me)
I'll be gone
In a day or two
So needless to say
I'm odds and ends
I'll be stumbling away
Slowly learning that life is okay
Say after me
It's no better to be safe than sorry
Take on me (take on me)
Take me on (take on me)
I'll be gone
In a day or two
Oh the things that you say
Is it live or
Just to play my worries away
You're all the things I've got to remember
You're shying away
I'll be coming for you anyway
Take on me (take on me)
Take me on (take on me)
I'll be gone
In a day
Take on me (take on me)
Take me on (take on me)
I'll be gone (take on me)
In a day (take me on) (take on me)
Take on me (take on me)
Take me on (take on me)
Take on me


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is one of my favorite songs and favorite music videos. We are listening to your rendition over a cup of coffee now. Good to hear ya this morning 👍

Thanks my 2 favorites people on steemit listening to one of my favorite song !!! And that's you favorite song too ?
Seriously go check out the acoustic version that a-ha released last year, it's so good

I saw this comment and jumped straight to YouTube to check it out. As @dandays and I are sitting here listening to the acoustic, live version he gets a smile on his face… I ask him what he’s smiling at and he says “I like Ed’s version better”. Who doesn’t like hearing something like that… keep doing what you do.

Man oh man. I got a story! First, thank you for playing that one this morning, I have history with this song.

Back in the decades, the only vinyl in the bags was drum n bass and jungle, long long time turning that stuff. I only had two ‘mainstream’ type mixes I would layer on top of drum n bass.

One was Pat Benetar’s “Love is a battlefield” and the other I was A-ha “take on me.”

Thanks Ed, great song!

I wanted to be Pat Benetar!! Sang into my brush handle plenty to "Love is a battlefield" lol

As far as I know, you sound just like her!

Story time: I saw her recently, not longer than 5 years ago. I was really interested to see her because I saw her 20’ish years ago also, she was such a rock star back then! I expected mellow and I didn’t expect big pipes.

She rocked harder at age 60+ than any time I’ve ever seen her. It was awesome.

Oh that is an awesome story!! I was worried it was going in the direction of "get out while the gettin's good" kind of thing :) A lot of aging singers can't pull that off. Never of you, @edprivat, but those lesser is who I'm referring to!

Thanks for the the best story time @dandays! I just read your comment to Brian here, and he's now singing "Love is a Battlefield" lol

Aging singers.... :o
Oh why Lynn did you even mention me in the same sentence ? :P

Aging singer....

I'm gonna go have a nap

hahahaha @edprivat, totally not you!! Actually, I think it was this post where I showed your picture to Brian and said, "doesn't Ed look like a kid?". 😅 Seriously!!

Oh wow thanks for sharing your story Art! I wonder how it sounds with some drums and bass because I can hear in my head this is the perfect rhythm for it !

Absolutely! Both of them, right?? Love Is A Battlefield and Take On Me at 45rpm are both right around 175. Trip out hu?! Man I only mixed the records live a couple of times back in the day and I got big reactions from the crowd each time.

I am sure you did, I was always the first to go right in front of the speaker when a classic was getting mixed .
I had my fav though, Asian Dub Foundation was always putting me in a trance, and any cartoon/series opening mixed with DnB or Hard Techno was just making me go crazy for some reason

That takes me back to my youth! Definitely one of my favourites. Very nicely done Ed.

Thanks :)I hope I bring your back some good flavors !!!

This is one of my favorites @edprivat!! I love your take on it as usual; you gave me goosebumps today buddy :) Thanks for sharing an oldie, but a goodie!!

Yaaaaay !!! Oldie's always a goodie !!! And thanks for the goosebump comment that's exactly what I was going for :)

You did a perfect job then @edprivat 😎

Très Belle reprise, Man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78