Will I receive enough upvotes to pay for my ticket to last night's Phish concert?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Will I receive enough upvotes to pay for my ticket to last night's Phish concert?


In March 2020, many Steem users, including @dhimmel, migrated to the Hive blockchain in response to the hostile takeover of Steem. Please use the Hive link when sharing this post and comment on the Hive version to get in touch.


We had just started playing disc golf in the Sedgley Woods of Philadelphia, when Hayden received a text from a friend. The message read:

Hey I have 4 tickets to Phish in Camden tonight at 7:30 if you want them they're going unused. $5 each

None of us had ever seen Phish live, and as a deadhead, I felt going to a Phish concert was overdue. Problem was the show started in 45 minutes, and the tickets were at a bar in downtown Philly.

We hopped on our bikes and banged out the 4.1 mile bike ride to the bar. While the deal went down, @trang got us some Philly Pretzels. Yum! They went well with the 5 cartons of blackberries Hayden picked up from the Italian District for $1.00.

Flash-forward, we were in Camden, New Jersey at the BB&T Pavilion. This venue fits 25,000 people, and it looked at capacity. We were on the lawn. Hayden, Staci¹, @trang, and I looking down at the sea of Phish (heads):

MVIMG_20180808_205509_exported_76041845474932712.jpg

Now let's apply some motion:

MVIMG_20180808_205541_exported_stabilized_3543362022201073008.gif

MVIMG_20180808_203139_exported_stabilized_8092201029417918109.gif

MVIMG_20180808_210546_exported_stabilized_6455956141906812028.gif

The jams were good, and even made it onto jambands.com. The recording for the previous night's show, also in Camden, is on the Phish website (will comment when the August 8, 2018 show is up).

Flashback

Since I wanted a picture of the lightshow to be the preview photo on Steemit and Busy, I had to break the chronological order of photos. Here's a selfie from our bike ride over the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, crossing the Delaware river from Pennsylvania into New Jersey.

IMG_20180808_194733.jpg

The trip back was no less exhilarating. We took the RiverLink Ferry.

MVIMG_20180808_215243_exported_stabilized_5166031004940576014.gif

From the ferry we got a side view of the Benjamin Franklin Bridge, now illuminated. The breeze felt good in the sweltering August heat.

Anyways, given the low price of the ticket ($5), I'm hoping the Steem blockchain will "decide" to reimburse this expense. However, I don't plan to be converting the rewards to Federal Reserve Notes. Full Power ahead!

Footnotes

¹ Staci's claim to fame is that she has the most miles of any user on Philly's Bike Share Program, Indego. hashtag badass

License

This post as well as its images are released under a CC BY 4.0 License. Republish or reuse this content, but please attribute by linking to this Steem post by @dhimmel.

Sort:  

Post Dedication

I forgot to mention that I'm dedicating this post to Whitey, a camp counselor from my younger years at Camp Coniston, who is an avid Phish user.

Whitey commented on Facebook:

Audio of every show gets posted within an hour or so of the show and your ticketstub comes with a code so that you can download a free recording on livephish.com

Nice! The link for our show is here. Will have to get my ticket from Hayden.

I tried livedead.com, but the code does not allow you to download the FLAC-HD recording. It didn't even seem to allow me to download the MP3 files, at least not without installing non-free software, so I passed. In fact, I don't even see how to stream the show in my browser. Disappointing!

Alternatively, the pirates got the FLAC version up quite quickly according to The Pirate Bay.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

I like your style of story telling. Every post captures your adventures vividly and I feel like I am sharing the experience with you. As I have mentioned before, I think the custom gifs accents your post. I’m surprise that hasn’t become a trend already. Thanks for sharing another fun adventure. I hope you get enough upvote to pay for your ticket. All you need is one curie vote. I will resteem in hopes of getting you more votes.

Fig. n. Proof that we biked there. I forgot to unpause my Garmin after the deal went down (hence the diagonal segment) but I turned it back on before we reached the bridge. B6B62B2E-7367-41D5-98D1-561B1CFCE200.jpeg

That is so crazy! I'm envious of super active individuals. I keep saying I will walk more often, but yeaahh, on my to-do list. Biking is out of the picture for me. I believe I was 12 the last time I hopped on a bike. :)

Thank you! It was quite insane, but to bike across the Benjamin Franklin Bridge during sunset was a priceless experience! Also, we can now cross "biking to Camden at night" off our adventurous bucket list!

I'm sure it was a priceless experience. Being on the bridge at that height would be too nerve-wrecking for me. Yes, I can see how "biking to Camden at night" is an adventurous event. You both made it back in one piece. :)

Here are the tickets!

IMG_20180810_105103.jpg

Never heard of that band but concert looks like blast! I am sorry to discover this post a bit too late but I am upvoting anyway :) I have some nice memories of Philly from a couple of years ago :)

Greetings from the Czech Republic!

I don't think my couple penny upvote worth will do much to cover the cost of the Phish ticket, but cumulatively, let's see! I can't believe you biked across the bridge. Wow, way to go on being active and fit. My preference would be that ferry ride. Nice shot of the bridge in the background.

I'm sure you will get awarded more than $5 by Steem blockchain community for this wonderful Phish tour event story.

Not looking likely, but maybe with enough self-upvotes on my comments!

Cool going there, being there and going out Phish concert story. The lightshow GIFs are awesome. Resteemed to help you make that five dollars, :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62