Songs I Love To Play: I'm Looking Through You (The Beatles Cover)

in #music6 years ago

Who says The Beatles weren't country? "I'm Looking Through You" was written by Paul McCartney, and was included on the Rubber Soul album, released in 1965. The song is mainly about McCartney's relationship with Jane Asher, which was going through a difficult time. The song includes two of McCartney's better and not so sunny lines: "Love has a nasty habit of disapearing overnight" and You don't look different, but you have changed". The Beatles version was not released as a single, but is still very well known.

For me, the most interesting version of this song comes from Steve Earle, who included it on his 1995 album Train A' Comin'. Earle's version is very acoustic, and shows just how easily adaptable the song is to a country setting. He doesn't use twang, but the sound has a more Americana spirit to it.

When I play the song, I tend to use the middle ground between McCartney and Earle, and it works surprisingly well. Even to a country crowd, the song goes over nicely. McCartney wrote the song in G# major...I play it in C major, using the original chords with a capo on the 5th fret. McCartney used the capo on the first fret.

So, here's my version. Because you have to have at least one Beatles song in your back pocket. This is the one I like to play first. I've been sick all week, but felt well enough to actually play today. Maybe tomorrow, I'll feel good enough to find my razor and actually shave...

Sort:  

Glad that you look energetic now. You look rock without shave :p. Music always is a best medicine in the world. With music, you can forget anything.

Beatles was my idol. I love listen to their song since young until now. And you have sang it well and I like the version you played.
With another curie vote after your "Make My Dreams Come True", you are really talented. All your hard work paid off by recorded this song after you recovered :) I enjoy it every much and hope can listen more of your song.

Thank you so very much! I'm happy that you enjoy what I do. I will try to keep the songs coming for you!

@dinoromanelli, thank you in advance for that. Looking forward listen to your song.

You are welcome. It's people like you that make it all worthwhile. I'll try to keep you in good music the best I can!

Yay to the Beatles! Love them and you sang it really well! I really like your rock voice and your energetic strumming. Glad you are feeling better now :)

Hey! Hi! Thank you so much! You really can't do half a job on Beatles songs...they do deserve to be played to the best of your ability. I'm happy you like this!

Thank you. That means a lot! :)

what good sound do you do with the guitar @dinoromanelli and the spectacular voice if you were practicing the video was perfect, much talent I say here a lot of love.

Why, thank you! So much! I'm very happy you enjoyed this!

My cousin had a similar (or maybe even the same) guitar many years ago. I remember the color and the shape :)

You are a great guitar player! And I'm not familiar with this song from Beatles but it sounds great in the country version! I will check it out on youtube to compare them.

I'm glad that you feel better. Being sick for all week is quite a long time. And I think that when you do what you love, the healing process is quicker :) So keep playing and singing!

Congratulations on your curie vote! I'm sure that this makes you feel better too :)

Thank you so much! I am feeling better today than yesterday. I hate being sick for so long. Only happens to me about once ever 4 or 5 years, so I guess I shouldn't complain!

The Beatles version is on Rubber Soul. The Steve Earle version is also worth checking out!

I didn't know this one yet, and I like it! I'm glad you feel better my friend, but just in case... Here's some get well fruit 🍎 🍐 🍊and a get better cake 🍰 🎂 and a get best beer 🍺! 😉

Thank you so much! It has indeed been a long week...being sick is not any fun. I will gladly accept fruit and cake and beer! NOM! I'm glad you like this one. It's one of my favorite Paul Beatles songs.

Hi dinoromanelli,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi, @dinoromanelli!

You just got a 4.47% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I very much love this song and you have performed it wonderfully Dino ! Thanks a lot for posting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97