You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 📀 Mixtape Monday Song & Contest Winners: 🤘🏽No Resteem, No Follow, No Upvote Required🤘🏽

in #music5 years ago

Bob Dylan's Masters of War.
It was released in '63 on freewheeling album. There are many versions of him playing this, like a true artist he reinterprets with each performance (doesn't just reproduce a studio track time after time). This is an early version from 63, but not the one released at the time.
This track differs from other protest songs of the period because it does not sell hope and unity and the popular positive "people power" message. It is angry and hateful. It is timeless for that reason. Written to the world leaders more than a generation ago, the sentiment, sadly, is still relevant.


I also like It's alright ma, for similar reasons.


With regards to a more introspective pondering on life I choose
Last thoughts on Woody Guthrie.
I'm not sure it qualifies, as it is spoken word, not music. I am posting it here anyway, even if it disqualifies my entry. Everyone should listen to this track at least once in their lifetime.
This is why Dylan was the first song writer to receive the Nobel Prize for literature.

Sort:  

Congratulations!!!!

I'm choosing your entry as the winner of this contest!! 3 SBI shares coming your way. It should take about 7 days for it to be recorded and you start to receive your SBI votes.

Why did I choose your track? Because that Dylan track was the one that touched me the most during this week.

It's been a difficult week, and I didn't even get the chance to post a Mixtape Monday track this week... which is why I'm writing this here, and letting you know 2 days late!!! But for some reason, this track made me think about a lot of stuff and somewhat relevant to what's happening for me at present... even though this is a song about war, about power, and social rank. But I've been contemplating all the crap that's going on in my life, and putting into a wider context, and also wondering about what I can do to make change in the world and in my life.

So that's why. I have this album, and I know this track quite well, and I wouldn't say I'm a huge Dylan fan... but it was poignant for me this past week.

😊🙏🏽☯️📀📻

Hi!
Thanks!
Everyone loves to win a steem contest, but this one feels like it has a touch of synergy about it.
Are you in Melbourne? I'm a new south Welsh woman myself.
I'm sorry you have had a tough week. I posted this song in the context of an acute on chronic week of issues myself. I just popped over to your posts after reading your comment here, to find I may have a lot to learn from you.
I don't want to indulge in my own stuff, but you did have me reflect on the time in my life when I was most well, across all domains. Not ridiculously fab in any particular area, but in general a life that was balanced physically, socially, occupationally, economically, emotionally. I don't think it is a coincidence that I was greatly involved in ging mo kune kung-fu and Qi gong at the time.
It feels like an impossible mountain to climb to return to a state of ease, as apposed to dis ease, but I am at the foot of a great mountain right now, and I see no alternative but to try to start clawing my way up. I feel I have tried a number of times to do just that, and that perhaps I am not coming at this hurdle at the right angle or with the right mind set or tools.

It is funny how our lives and seemingly small incidental things can influence others. Your message here has had me spend the last hour watching videos of my old Sifu on YouTube. Thank you.
My last post was about a raven I know whose name happens to be a variation of petah. That's an interesting coincidence that has me intrigue...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69