Popular songs that annoy me and presumably other people

in #music5 years ago

Some things in life just don't make sense to me. I don't understand how some of these songs became popular in the first place and in many instances they were considered legendary. Many of these songs are still played at gatherings and discos and I just don't get it. Every song on this list was a chart-topper and sold millions of copies. Some of these songs, if played in public, i find so annoying that I will actually have to leave for a while (or permanently.) Let's see if you agree.

Jump Around: House of Pain




Sadly, this song is still a go to song for DJ's at clubs all over the world. I find the screeching sample that is played over and over and over and over to be nothing short of ear-rape. I can't imagine how this song took hold and became popular; the rap is not good and some of the lyrics are just dumb.


I never eat a pig cuz a pig is a cop!

Urgh!


That "Crazy Frog" song by Axel F

fcec7e9bd4ec35ee9289a6e4ea60890b3fb79555.jpg

So someone takes a popular song that is played at basketball games and then uses a voice modulator to make ridiculous and annoying sounds that don't actually sound anything like a frog. If you are over 8 years old and dig this song I think there is something wrong with you.


My Humps by The Black Eyed Peas

220px-My_Humps.png

I might be a bit biased about this one because I was a 5th grade teacher at the time and a few of the boys in the class would not stop singing this one. It was released in 2005 and I wonder what the feminist SJW lunatic reaction would be if this song were released today. With such incredible lyrics as "whatcha gone do with all that ass?" I roll my eyes when i hear this song.


Mambo No. 5 (1999) - Lou Bega

220px-Mambo_No._5_(Lou_Bega_single_-_cover_art).jpg

So you mention a bunch of girl's names in the song so that everyone thinks you are speaking directly to them. This is sometimes done with city names. It is a shameless tactic of ensuring some college girl will end up making this "her jam." If you play this song around me I might stab you.


We Built this City by Starship

220px-WeBuiltThisCity.jpg

This song was friggin everywhere in the 80's. Videos were still relatively new and this one was likely played more than most. I think the thing that annoys me the most about this song is the fact that it isn't even a rock and roll song. It is poppy garbage that gets stuck in your head and wont leave. Oh, and the video is just terrible.


Tubthumping, Chumbawamba

R-112057-1344090738-1596.jpeg.jpg

This song is a great way to get me to leave a wedding reception. It is a collection of i don't even know what. I suppose it was popular because it talks about drinking a bunch and then singing songs that remind him of the best times and then it does that same lyric over and over again. Honestly, if it weren't for the horns we would never know when this one was going to end.


Well, that's my list. There are more but I figured I would make this reasonably short. If you can think of a popular song that annoys the crap out of you please post it in the comments and if i agree i will reward you accordingly!

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85