You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Si Bheag Si Mhor

in #music6 years ago

What an amazing piece of music :) its so hard to tell that it is from the 17 century, Irish music influenced modern folk so much.
That guitar is really well preserved @shephard I can see from the sound that the wood is completely dry, correct me if I am wrong but I would give that guitar 40+ years, such an amazing clarity in the sound.

I have a big "all talent" contest on steemit, it be cool if you joined the next round, you can check what its about here

Sort:  

Pretty good guess! I bought that guitar in '79 and I take it everywhere with me. It's been in -40C and in +50C. It still has an amazing sound most of the time. It really depends on the weather. Sometimes it has it's bad days. Once in a while I have to have some work done on it. I think it's due one repair session soon.

I'll check out your "all talent contest", but unfortunately not the next one. I am leaving tomorrow for almost two weeks to Montenegro for some trekking guide work. Needless to say they will be no access to internet there.

Ah cool yes, my bet was that guitar was from late 70's, she is a beaut, and I know what you mean when you say it depends on the weather, had a share of those :) still, that guitar is irreplaceable, back in 70's wood used for acoustic was still having a minimum of 10-20 years curation, so add this 40, its 60 years curated wood, which resonates specifically in resonance on the shape on how it was dried in the past 40 years, I hope I find guitar similar to that one soon :) ...

@shephard Monte Negro?
Ah that is close to me, I'm in Croatia :)

The brand name is Yamaki, they don't exist anymore. I heard that Yamaha swallowed them.
Croatia - nice, just around the corner.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65