The specifics in a song and why you like it

in #music6 years ago

I can honestly say that my taste in music is quite broad. From roaring guitars to beats to sensitive songs, it will all drop by in the house here.


Pexels, Bruce Mars


But one thing that always keeps coming back is that I often do not like whole songs, but a certain part is to me the most powerful piece. To me this piece defines the whole song. But leaving the rest out would also not be fair, because the powerful piece is often in a build up from the rest.

This is always the part where I want to turn up my music louder and louder, maybe that is what messed up my ears back in the days hahaha.


Are you catching my drift in what I am saying, or is this all weird?





Examples!!


I really love this Underworld song when I was always biking towards work during this song I would alway notice I would start to ride faster and faster with the climax at 5.22.


This all time Michael Jackson classic really gets going on 3.56 when the deep bass kicks in.


Daft Punk has such a weird but genius album with Random Access Memories where the coolness in this song kicks in at 3.25 when everything is adding up


I dont know why but I find this such an emotional song from Elbow where at 3.30 Guy Garveys voice totally does what it supposed to do!


But even in this Black Eyed Peas single at the moment where the extra bass jumps in at 4.00 for a repeating of the chorus is just perfectly done.


In this Fear Factory song where the synthesizers extra kick in during the repeatal of the chorus is like the climax to me at 5.20


Actually I love everything about this song because this reminds me about me whole Caribbean time, and the radio station would always play it when I would be driving to work. Just before the ending the vocals remain there at 4.10 and also the bass just seems a bit deeper


And last but certainly not least in this sad White Lies song (who am I kidding, all White Lies songs are fucking depressing) in the end where the chorus is extra repeated at 4.05 also the synthesizers are extra back in is such a epic part for me.

You see where I am heading right?

These parts are not something special when you hear it on itself, but in the moment of the music I just really want to push in the gas-pedal.




Do you also have these kind of specifics in certain songs? Im curious. Leave them in the comments!







Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Sort:  

Yes memory! Music is like smells, sticking to your mind with memos. I'm still living in 90s in my music taste😛

Yeah I have also a lot of 90s vibes with stuff, all though most of these songs are actually a bit newer hehe

I would say that most of the songs I like have a very catchy chorus.

Its not all about the chorus, but often something that is extra in the chorus makes it just a bit bigger.

Yes!!!
You are definitely not alone on this.
I was into the music driving to work just this morning. They played “Party Up” by DMX, “Poison” by Bell Biv DeVoe, “What About Your Friends” by TLC, “All I Do Is Win” by DJ Khaled, and “Children’s Story” by Slick Rick. I have NO doubt that the people in the cars around me got nervous because of my singing and dancing in the driver’s seat! 🤣😂🤣
Those are cool songs you have posted today!

DMX and 'everybodies hand go UPPP.....and they stay there, and they stay there'

hahha, you really must have scared some people long the way there :D

Weird? Do you mean there are people who experience this differently than how you describe it? :P

The build-up from 1:42 to the underbelly excitedness at 2:11 (I feel this one very deep in my stomach)

And then there's this one, which actually feels like they STARTED the song at that point that normally people will build up to:

I feel therefore this song is too short. Like it's running towards you, passes you, than runs away from you again... Curious to hear if you understand what I mean. (Gosh, I love this band.)

That last song is like it is unfinished in some sort of way, hahaha!

But yeah Im am feeling you with the one above that for sure!!

I know exactly!! What you mean, some songs are definitely built around a “climax” moment. And when it gets there and the hairs on your neck stand on end and you start feeling goosebumps all over ..... ohhhhh ... it’s kinda like an audible orgasm! 😎 and I love it

An audible orgasm!!! :D
hahahaha

Well chosen words my friend, and yeas I know exactly what you mean around the goosebumps come sinking in

Haha! Yeah! It’s amazing how sound/music can directly effect our emotions and effect us physically.

I love music/songs which is catchy. It doesn't have to be an English song. I listen to all kind of songs which is non-English because music is all about rhythm. Music is life. 😆

Same here it doesnt have to be English at all. And for me are often the moments were an extra beats comes popping in the shiniest!

Oh yes! Totally with you there! And Fear Factory!!! OMG!!! Such a long time ago that I listened to that... Brings back memories...

Right ;))))

Its been a long time there hehe. Not their best album, but this song is sooooo catchy

Thanks God there's no reggeton here! I would bitchslap you if you had that music here hahahaha

LOLOLOLOL....it feels super weird listening to soca or reaggaeton being in Europa...its just not right!! hahaha

Yeah...and probably they will look at you like if you're possesed by the devil haaaahahaha

You received a 100% upvote from @freedomtribe for posting about what you love!
mel.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95