Song Translation

in #music6 years ago (edited)

And now, for something completely different: a song translation.

Translating songs is difficult, especially when you want to stay close to the original meaning, mood, and feeling of the words, use the same rhyme scheme, and make the words fit well onto the original melody.

Let's just say Google Translate doesn't quite cut it.

Yesterday, I made a NoWords posting with a Dutch song in it.

The singer is called Wim Sonneveld, the Dutch text was written in 1965 by Friso Wiegersma, and the melody is from the similarly-themed La Montagne by Jean Ferrat.

There are also a few German versions, but I don't like them.

I couldn't find an English translation of the Dutch text, so I decided to make one, because I felt like it; I like playing with language sometimes. The result you can find below; comments, suggestions, and improvements are all welcome. English is not my native language, you see.

Before you continue: note that the song is shamelessly nostalgic, and to make matters worse, it is nostalgia put into words back in 1965. It is, however, still a well-known Dutch song that somehow doesn't seem to lose much of its popularity. Anyway, don't read the text if you think nostalgia is not what it used to be.

Here goes:

Het Dorp

The Village

Thuis heb ik nog een ansichtkaart
waarop een kerk een kar met paard
een slagerij J. van der Ven.
Een kroeg, een juffrouw op de fiets
het zegt u hoogstwaarschijnlijk niets,
maar 't is waar ik geboren ben.
Dit dorp, ik weet nog hoe het was,
de boerenkind'ren in de klas,
een kar die ratelt op de keien,
het raadhuis met een pomp ervoor,
een zandweg tussen koren door,
het vee, de boerderijen.
On my desk there is a card
With a church, a horse and cart
A butcher's shop called Hagedoorn
A pub, a bike against its wall
To you it means nothing at all
But it is where I was born
This town, I remember how it was
The farmers' children in my class
A cart that rattled on the bricks
A town hall with a pump in front
A track with farms and grain beyond
The cows, the playing pigs
En langs het tuinpad van m'n vader
zag ik de hoge bomen staan.
Ik was een kind en wist niet beter,
dan dat dit nooit voorbij zou gaan.
And along my father's garden path
The tall trees looked down on me
I was a child and and knew no better
Than that this would always be
Wat leefden ze eenvoudig toen
in simp'le huizen tussen groen
met boerenbloemen en een heg.
Maar blijkbaar leefden ze verkeerd,
het dorp is gemoderniseerd
en nu zijn ze op de goeie weg.
Want ziet, hoe rijk het leven is,
ze zien de televisiequiz
en wonen in betonnen dozen,
met flink veel glas, dan kun je zien
hoe of het bankstel staat bij Mien
en d'r dressoir met plastic rozen.
They lived simpler lives back then
In modest houses near a fen
With farmers' flowers and a shack
It seems all their ways were wrong
Modernity came along
And put them on a better track
Because see how rich life is
They watch a television quiz
And they live in concrete towers
With lots of glass so you can see
The quality of their settee
And their desk with plastic flowers
En langs het tuinpad van m'n vader
zag ik de hoge bomen staan.
Ik was een kind en wist niet beter,
dan dat dit nooit voorbij zou gaan.
And along my father's garden path
The tall trees looked down on me
I was a child and and knew no better
Than that this would always be
De dorpsjeugd klit wat bij elkaar
in minirok en beatle-haar
en joelt wat mee met beat-muziek.
Ik weet wel, het is hun goeie recht,
de nieuwe tijd, net wat u zegt,
maar het maakt me wat melancholiek.
Ik heb hun vaders nog gekend
ze kochten zoethout voor een cent
ik zag hun moeders touwtje springen.
Dat dorp van toen, het is voorbij,
dit is al wat er bleef voor mij:
een ansicht en herinneringen.
The village youth is hanging out
In fancy clothes, hair blown about
And bobs to an unfamiliar sound
Yes, I know, it is their way
Modern times, as you say
But it does make me feel down
I saw their mothers as they went
And bought liquorice for a cent
I saw their fathers climbing trees
That village then, it is no more
All I'm left with of before:
A postcard and my memories
Toen ik langs het tuinpad van m'n vader
de hoge bomen nog zag staan.
Ik was een kind, hoe kon ik weten
dat dat voorgoed voorbij zou gaan.
When along my father's garden path
The trees still looked down on me
I was a child, how could I've known
This would forever cease to be

Het Dorp

La Montagne
Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thanks! Manually? So it does still happen!

I actually think you did a great job of translating the song, from what I can tell, which, you have probably guessed, is not much.

I'm happy if you like the English bit. Why can't you tell, btw? It's not difficult, the Dutch there. Still unsure about your prowess in Dutch.

My proficiency in Dutch is 1/100 of your English. I know words and phrases, and can even put some together, but, what you don't use, you lose. :(

My proficiency in Dutch is 1/100 of your English.

So, still quite good then.

Who said arrogance isn't funny?

Yes, it's use it or lose it. You should find a few Dutchmen to converse with.

Ik versta u als u langzaam praat.

Je mag wel "je" zeggen, hoor.

Natuurlijk. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99