You are My Sunshine - Serena Matthews (@paintingangels)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Classic song in minor key. People don't realize that this is a sad song. Someone is abandoned by their lover, left for another. Sunshine is stolen... But, it's cool people can just take the first verse and make it into something happy. That's the beauty of music, isn't it? It's all interpretation.

Lover leaves a lover if you read all the lyrics. But hear the first verse and it's a celebration of love. The song is public domain, and so I've altered it a bit in the lyrics, to just really drive home the point that it's about betrayal. So, if you're not keen on the sad version of this song, you might want to move on along.

Also, my voice in this song is irritating to more than a few, because I drop so low. To be honest, I just forgot to capo it up when I recorded the song. I have a version where Danny Hamilton sings harmonies that I'll be sharing later on DSound, which helps put a needed, elevated softness there, but when I made this video he hadn't done that yet.

This video I"m proud of, even though it may look very amateur, it took me days to finish this video, everything is timed with the music, right down to a leaf flying across the screen, (1:05) perfectly in time with the music. And at the end, the daylight fades away, symbolic of sunshine being "taken away."

I've shared this on Steemit before, but I'm about to begin using DTube more often. I feel that I've ignored it for way too long!


You Are My Sunshine

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are gray
You'll never know dear, how much I loved you
Please don't take my sunshine away

The other night dear, as I lay sleeping
I dreamed you held me in your arms
But when I woke dear, I was mistaken
And I hung my head down and cried

Babe, you told me you really loved me
And no one else could come between
But now you've left me
to love another
And you've broken all
of my dreams

You are my sunshine
My only sunshine
You made me happy
when skies were gray

You'll never know dear
How much I loved you

Please don't take my sunshine away.

Why'd you take my sunshine away?

Recording ©2018 serena matthews


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh wow, that's amazing, the slower tempo and minor key really make it a perfect song for your voice.

Have you listened to the Weepies at all? They're sort of in the same neighborhood as your sound and I'd be really curious to see what you think of Deb's work.

Thank you, Tim! I love the Weepies! Although it's been many years since I listened .. I should see what they've been up to lately..

This song I hold close to me for many reasons. Although I know a slightly different version of this one. The original song dates back to 1939 and from then on a few different versions surfaced. But I think no matter the version it still depicts one of sad times.

Yep! I love all versions ive heard.. such a fan of the song. Hey @foxyspirit are you on discord yet?

Yep I am on Discord :D Shoot me up if you feel like chatting away ^_^

Oh awesome!! I dont know how to search for people there yet with any success, but i am paintingangels(serena)#3668 there's a group I want to invite you to but it's invite only :)

I'm out for an hour or so but will be back then available all day. : )

Ok I found you, said hello. get back to me when its good ;)

I have not commented yet cos I do not seem to get it to play on my end :( but will keep on trying

Beautiful, thank you @paintingangels 👏🏻👏🏻

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

tanks serena i am very happy

I‘m absolutely in love with this!
It would mean a lot to me if you go an see my latest cover and tell me your opinion!
All the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87