BUYING YOUR FIRST ELECTRIC GUITAR

in #music6 years ago

BUYING YOUR FIRST ELECTRIC GUITAR

night-amps-lonestar-mesa-boogie-72171.jpeg

This week I found myself killing time at my local (Las Vegas) Guitar Center; I was picking up some extra strings for my upcoming gig (you can never have too many extra strings). While checking out some of the new gear I overheard many customers asking a similar question, “I want to start learning the guitar. What guitar should I buy?” It actually put a smile on my face at first because I love music and I want everyone to be able to experience learning an instrument, it’s very rewarding. Then I heard the responses from the employees and I couldn’t have disagreed with them more.

So what was it that didn’t sit right with me? Their advice was to purchase a starter pack.

What’s so bad about guitar packages? The reason that I steer people away from buying starter or value packs is simple. You get what you pay for and the instruments in the packs aren’t of good quality and you will outgrow the instrument very quickly. You may be thinking, “I’ll buy this guitar now to learn on and buy a better instrument when I’m better.” The problem with that thinking is that a poorly constructed guitar will dramatically slow your musical progression. I know it’s convenient to get a guitar and an amp in the package but buying them separately is the way to go.

What should I look for in a guitar then? Lots of new (and intermediate) guitarist tend to over complicate the buying process. When choosing your first guitar it comes down to the genre of music you want to play, the feel, and lastly looks.

– Genre of music you want to play
While you can play any genre on any guitar there are some characteristics that make certain genres sound better. The easiest way to determine this is to look at your guitar idols and see what type of guitar they are playing. Note: It doesn’t have to be the same brand.

– The Feel
Everyone’s hands are different and what feels good to me might not work for you. You need to get your hands on these instruments and play a few notes or chords and see how the guitar fits in your hands. Note: I suggest that you get a few guitar lessons before purchasing so that you can properly test the guitar.

pexels-photo-210835.jpeg

– Looks
In the grand scheme of musicianship looks aren’t going to make the instrument sound better. Your instrument is going to be an extension of you and if you see yourself playing an all white Fender Strat then that’s what you should get. Get an instrument that you are going to be proud to play.

How much should I spend on my first guitar? $300-$400, will get you a quality instrument that will last you a lifetime. If you can’t afford this price range then I suggest that you save your money until you can, it will be well worth it.

What guitars do you suggest for a first time buyer? I went back to Guitar Center and played every electric guitar under $600 so that I could formulate some suggestions. You will notice that some of these guitars are well over $400 and the reason being is that I suggest that you buy used.

Why buy used? Remember when I suggested that you spend $300-$400 on your first guitar, if you buy used you will get a better instrument at a fraction of the cost of a new one. My rule when buying used instruments is only purchase if it’s 50-70% of the original cost. Guitar Center has a great selection of used instruments online and the best thing about ordering from them is that if you aren’t happy you can return it to your local store, no questions asked. Note: Craigslist can be a great place to purchase used instruments but if you are going to go that route I suggest that a trusted experienced guitar player tests the instrument before you buy it.

Epiphone Riviera Custom P93


This guitar is stunningly beautiful and has everything a rockabilly player is looking for. While it’s not a Gretsch it does come loaded with a Bigsby bridge, which feels amazing. The Riviera Custom P93 has a nice feel and good tone straight out of the box. Used Epiphone Riviera Custom P33 selection.

Fender Duo Sonic



Do you have small hands? Then this guitar is perfect for you due to it’s thinner neck. In addition this guitar sports a nice retro surfer feel. The new model is relatively new and might be a challenge finding used but once you do it’s a great guitar. Used Fender Duo Sonic selection.

Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro II


With it’s dual humbuckers this guitar is great for playing rock and metal. The guitar has a nice weight to it and offers great features such as the 15db boost, which is a nice bonus. One thing to be aware of though is that the neck is a bit bigger feeling so players with small hands may have trouble with the Les Paul Traditional Pro II. Used Epiphone Les Paul Traditional Pro II selection.

Fender Standard Stratocaster (Mexican)


What can I say about a Fender Strat? It’s the go to guitar for lots of musicians around the world. It’s a great general all purpose guitar that you will hold onto for years. Don’t let the “made in Mexico” throw you off, Fender goes out of it’s way to ensure that these guitars are top notch at an affordable price. Used Fender Standard Strat Selection. Used Fender Standard Strat Selection.

Ibanez RG



Ah, the Ibanez RG line. These guitars are my favorite due to the wizard II necks on them; the only way to describe it is “complete smoothness.” The highlight is that these guitars are very customizable and will grow with you as you upgrade things like strap locks, pickups, and locking tuners. Used Ibanez RG Selection.

But what about an amp, don’t I need one since it’s an electric guitar? Yes and No. During my practice sessions I don’t plug my guitar in, trust me you can hear what you are doing without an amp. Use that money towards a good guitar and worry about an amp later, but if you must have one I suggest this simple amp:

485054000000000-00-500x500-300x300.jpg

Why the Fender Champion 600? Lots of amps out there have multiple features and knobs for you to turn to alter the sound. The problem with those is that it takes lots of fiddling around with the amp to produce a good sound. With the Fender Champion 600 there is only one knob and it’s for volume and because of this the amp will always sound great. Note: This amp has been discontinued. Used Fender Champion 600 Selection.

Go get your hands on a nice quality used instrument from guitar center (or any other used dealer).


Hello everyone!

Thank you for reading my article. This one in particular was posted on my old music blog http://www.nocturne-music.com which I have stopped working on. I will be continuing to write new music articles here on Steemit, please upvote, comment, and follow to keep the content flowing.

@pltorres

© 2017 PEDRO TORRES ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
Pictures provided by https://www.pexels.com & Amazon affiliates

Sort:  

Thanks for the Advice :)

Thanks for the post, I couldn't agree more about the starter packs. I was fortunate to start on a '66 Fender Mustang I bought at a pawn shop in 1976 for $100. Wish I still had it... worth a couple grand now. Best amp was a same era fender tweed champ. Awesome distortion, never matched since

Yeah those fender guitars not only held their value but increased over time. When I started out I had a bunch of guitars that I kept selling to buy "better gear" but now I regret it. I should have held on to all of them.

Wow.. What great advice for new players.
Love it. I started on an 2008 epiphone gibson sg.
Upgraded to a couple les paul's these days.

Epiphones are great. I'd actually prefer a high end Epiphone to a low end Gibson but I've met lots of beginners with $2000 guitars for some reason, mostly due to the name.

Agreed esp if you pop some Duncan’s in it 😎

And I’d love to see your collection sometime. Feel free to connect with me and I’ll show you mine I’ve been collecting for about 8 years now 🎸

Great suggestions, though I disagree about the amplifier. I'd personally recommend a modelling amp which has all the features a rookie can play with: this way they will learn about the different effects, fool around with the sounds that their amps can make, and then ultimately find their own style and tone while they progress and get better.

The Fender Champ 600 is a sweet little amp, but it's a one-trick pony which requires effects and/or mods to completely satisfy the expectations of the average guy who sees David Gilmour and thinks it's all in the fingers.

From my personal experience I spent way too much time fiddling with a modeling amp when I first started and I was randomly tweaking knobs not knowing what I was doing. I wasn't happy with my sound and I think that's why most people have such a hatred for the Line 6 Spider amps. Can you get a great sound out of it? Yes, if you know what you're doing.

If I could take it all back I would start with a one trick pony amp that has a great clean and then buy a overdrive, distortion, or fuzz pedal depending on what sound I was going for. Then slowly add pedals as I need them.

For someone like me, too many options stop me from actually playing and getting better.

What amp/guitar is your main setup?

Right now I'm using a Yamaha THR 10C to write songs and record in my home studio, and I play it with two Telecasters (an American Highway One Texas and a modified Mexican one with a Stratocaster neck pup) and an Epiphone Dot. I don't have a special preference for guitars, I just pick one up and see what I can do in regards to writing a new song and getting a nice sound.

I'm also using a Big Muff, and an array of EHX pedals like the Pitchfork, Mel9, and the 720 looper. A friend of mine has made me a custom made clone of the Centaur Klon, but I discovered that it's too wooly and use it mostly as an overdrive or cleaner for the fuzz.

Congratulations @pltorres! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61