You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BUYING YOUR FIRST ELECTRIC GUITAR

in #music6 years ago

Great suggestions, though I disagree about the amplifier. I'd personally recommend a modelling amp which has all the features a rookie can play with: this way they will learn about the different effects, fool around with the sounds that their amps can make, and then ultimately find their own style and tone while they progress and get better.

The Fender Champ 600 is a sweet little amp, but it's a one-trick pony which requires effects and/or mods to completely satisfy the expectations of the average guy who sees David Gilmour and thinks it's all in the fingers.

Sort:  

From my personal experience I spent way too much time fiddling with a modeling amp when I first started and I was randomly tweaking knobs not knowing what I was doing. I wasn't happy with my sound and I think that's why most people have such a hatred for the Line 6 Spider amps. Can you get a great sound out of it? Yes, if you know what you're doing.

If I could take it all back I would start with a one trick pony amp that has a great clean and then buy a overdrive, distortion, or fuzz pedal depending on what sound I was going for. Then slowly add pedals as I need them.

For someone like me, too many options stop me from actually playing and getting better.

What amp/guitar is your main setup?

Right now I'm using a Yamaha THR 10C to write songs and record in my home studio, and I play it with two Telecasters (an American Highway One Texas and a modified Mexican one with a Stratocaster neck pup) and an Epiphone Dot. I don't have a special preference for guitars, I just pick one up and see what I can do in regards to writing a new song and getting a nice sound.

I'm also using a Big Muff, and an array of EHX pedals like the Pitchfork, Mel9, and the 720 looper. A friend of mine has made me a custom made clone of the Centaur Klon, but I discovered that it's too wooly and use it mostly as an overdrive or cleaner for the fuzz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69