Alternative Weekend – Cocteau Twins, a Diversion of Sounds.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I have been posting most weekends using @detlev’s #metalweekend tag, but my main love of music is progressive and alternative music. Some of my posts have included these songs, but I feel they are not keeping with the spirit of metal.

I will continue to post article’s using #metalweekend occasionally but feel I have more to offer regarding these other genre’s that I am more familiar with.

alternative-112226_960_720.jpg

Source

Introducing #alternativeweekend. Post an article that highlights THREE great songs that are either progressive or alternative and use the tag #alternativeweekend.

If you have a short story or something to offer regarding an opinion on your songs, then share it with us!


smal_16642-illustration-of-an-electric-guitar-pv.jpg

Cocteau Twins – Grail Overfloweth

I picked up on this band many years later than when these songs were made. The transition they went thought during the 1980’s and into the 1990’s was rather drastic.

From ‘Garlands’, the debut album which is more akin to a horror music soundtrack to the ambient sounds that came later, there appears to be two different sets of fans.

Which type of fan am I? I love both types of sounds they produced.

My daughter used to beg me to turn this song off when she was younger as it ‘creeped her out’.

Cocteau Twins – Peresphone

The ‘Treasure’ album for me was the transition point for the band. ‘Peresphone’ is firmly in the initial sound era, but there are some songs on this album which show a change is coming and the subsequent albums proved this to be correct.

Elizabeth's Fraser's early 'voice' somewhat reminded me of Siouxsie Sioux. The guitar sounds too, was this sound a little like Siouxsie and the Banshees?

Cocteau Twins – How to Bring a Blush to the Snow

The subsequent ‘Victorialand’ was to prove the new sound was well and truly in place. The whole album reminds me of Christmas. The album is regarded as the 'acoustic' one, but do I hear electric guitars?

I hear it as beautiful with melancholy haunting sweeping sounds.

You might notice the nonsensical names for the songs; this would continue until the end of their musical career.

Cocteau Twins – Cherry-coloured Funk

‘Heaven or Las Vegas’ was their most commercial and successful album and by this time, the ‘new sound’ was here to stay. Elizabeth Fraser has a beautiful voice and uses her falsetto to good effect on the later albums.

Nonsensical lyrics combined with ambient synthesizers made for a unique and distinctive sound.

I have heard 'Cherry-coloured Funk' played on the TV, whether it was in a movie soundtrack or something else, it is likely to be 'the one you have heard before' of all the ones above if you are not familiar with the discography of this band.

I had to post FOUR songs today to highlight the differences between the ‘old’ sound and the ‘new’ sound of the Cocteau Twins. Of course, its all ‘old' now the last album being released in 1996.


smal_16642-illustration-of-an-electric-guitar-pv.jpg

In the spirit of @detlev’s original idea, you need to remember one thing.

Pump up the volume, PLAY IT LOUD!


Guitar Image courtesy of http://www.freestockphotos.biz/stockphoto/16642


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Have a good weekend. See you are listening to more relaxing stuff. Nice way for you the start Saturday. I will be out today. Just getting up and then around noon photo shoot at Indian Powow. This is supposed to be a big one.

You and your wife need to rest from that powerful hike I saw you guys take. Great photos, beautiful country out there.

She wanted to do another today, I declined stating I needed to recover a little, its weekend and too busy and we had other stuff to do.

Supposedly it raining all next week, I hope not as I want to do Whernside, the big daddy.

Healthy fun! :)

Hello @slobberchops, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I never really gelled with the Cocteau Twins back when they were popular, but now on hearing your picks they are growing on me, probably needs some extra listening.

They did't gel with me when popular either, my tastes have gone progressively stranger over the years.

At least its not repeated on the radio 1000's of times, you get tired of the same old shit.

Ha ha I dont listen to the radio anymore, it really is just the same old shit, or the same new shit!

P.S. I made a new attempt at this challenge, check it out if you have time :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05