A wander through new musicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago

I decided to have a gander at some of the new posts listed under the 'music' tag and maybe have a listen to stuff I wouldn't normally come across.


Mbah Surip.png

(picture from original post)

Have you ever heard of Indonesian Reggae? Neither had I until today. Lol. I had a listen and though the quality is not the greatest the song itself is quite good, complete with lots of maniacal laughter.
See here for the original post: https://steemit.com/dsound/@muhammadzikri/mbah-surip-bangun-tidur-indonesian-song-reggae


Next up was an instrumental Irish jig played by a Scottish guitar player, a real Celtic combination. I thought this was a bouncy tune and, though I know feck all about finger plucking, this sounded like a fairly complicated piece to play.
See here for the original post: https://steemit.com/dsound/@camuel/humours-of-ballyloughlin



From acoustic to electronic next. I wouldn't be the biggest fan of electronic instrumentals, I prefer stuff I can sing along to. It was the name of the poster that drew me in to listen and I found I did like the piece. The drum rhythms are pretty cool.
See here for the original post: https://steemit.com/music/@fresheiremusic/energetic-instrumental-i-made-a-while-back


Continuing the 'Irish' theme that's developing on this post the next bit of music is from an Irish rapper called Willy G. I linked to him from the previous song and randomly clicked on this video. The chorus of this is brilliant and he does an absolutely excellent job of rapping live.
See here for the original post: https://steemit.com/thecut/@scribblingwilly/willy-g-scribbling-into-my-notepad-prod-fresheiremusic


And finally a bit of Bollywood! This song is fairly catchy and the video, though of low quality, is fun too! :)
See here for the original post: https://steemit.com/bollywood/@pkvynes/bollywood-song

Sort:  

How nice to see some (although short) review of original music published by Steemians. Most of the people give votes, but the written word has so much more added value and we need more of that at Steemit, I mean nice and good posts reviewing artists works, including music :)

I'm glad you enjoyed the post. I wasn't really reviewing the music, just giving my opinion on the one's I liked. I watched/listened to a whole lot more but I'm of the philosophy that if you aint got nothing nice to say then you say nothing. Just because I don't like it doesn't mean it aint good. I might do some more at a later date. :)

Nice way of looking at things, although I personally dont mind to criticise some art/music. It is about expressing your own personal views, and that is super we can do this here at Steemit :)

BTW, do you know the challenge by @scuzzy "Steemit Music Reviews" (more info here)? Maybe something for you to participate in?

Thanks for the comment and also for the link to the 'Steemit Music Reviews' project. It's something I would definitely be interested in participating in. :)
As far as criticising goes I don't mind doing it along as it constructive criticism. I don't believe in criticising something just because it isn't my taste. If I believe I can add something to the music or its presentation I don't mind offering my opinion. :)

Oww, sure, criticism works and is allowed when done right, in a positive way, so the other can learn from it, if he/she wants.

Agreed, this is a cool idea, and it looks like it could pay off. You might have found a new calling!

You could be right condra, we'll give it a go anyway! ;)

Great stuff for a hard earned break.
No. 1 didn't start up for me. Maybe for the best, since I haven't found a piece of reggae I can stand, yet (I think it's the only music except death-growl, I don't take well to. Oh and go easy on the Wagner.).
No. 2 lulled me off to (much needed) sleep. Well done!
No. 3 woke me right back up. Still scraping my scalp off the ceiling.
No. 4 shows me who needs sleep anyway! Even if it leaves you a little "shitty" (favorite rhyme word it seems). Scribbling on!
No 5 I love Indian Classical music but also enjoy a piece of Bollywood now and again for its infectious energy. I notice I am watching that video with a critical eye, though - but that's because I've just spent two days/nights writing on male-female relationships...

Maybe it's just as well the first one didn't start up for ya so as the singer does some maniacial laughing all through the track which sounds a little death-growlish near the end! ;). I shall endeavour to go easy on the Wagner also! :)
Lol. It sounds like the musical choices brought you to a full circle of sleep.
Yeah I've gotta give it to Bollywood, they certainly have energy! I can see why you'd have a critical eye on the video after writing about male-female relationships. There's a lot of stuff happening between all of the couples in the video. :)

Thanks so much for the write-up! (I'm the Scottish Irish-jig guy). Music is one of the greatest things I've found about this platform in the one week that I've been signed up. It's amazing for that!

Not a problem camuel! Hopefully it can translate into getting more people to hear your music! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48