You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Music Discovery] This week I 'ave been mostly listenin' to...

in #musicdiscovery6 years ago (edited)

"I will Follow You Into the Dark" was a big hit here and Death Cab for Cutie. Possess Your Heart was too, but I like Follow into the Dark more if I had to choose (not sure it's rank on charts). I do like Death Cab but haven't listened to an album all the way through. Thanks for Bixby Bridge - I could listen and it was awesome.
EDIT- I went to listen to "Follow you into the dark" and got lost in the old comments a good hour. There was some debate and edification on the meaning of 'fear' in the Catholic context it got quite brainy. A lot of sad comments, and also joyful ones. This song means a lot to people.

Sort:  

I do love that song, in fact I rarely give that album a full listen to for some reason. I tend to fall back to the first couple of albums or the two recent ones, ignoring everything in between. Yeah, I think Bixby Canyon Bridge is definitely up there with ...Into The Dark and Possess Your Heart.

This sounds interesting! Was this on the youtube video for the song? I could have a read of them

Yep it was comments on the youtube song of "Follow You into the dark." I try not to get into reading comments often as they can be so varied, heartbreaking or maddening. Then I think I shouldn't be spending emotional energy on anonymous people on the internet thinking about it so much. Listening to music on youtube is interesting though in that way you can have a kind of shared experience with others. It doesn't match going to a live show but it has become a proxy for that experience.

I know what you mean, sometimes it can be hard to not let strangers online get to you. I quite enjoy watching the live comments on the lofi streams I listen to, some of the things people say...
It's a similar experience to listening to podcasts too, in fact it reminds me of a meme I saw;

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54