Music Monday (feel free to add your own music)

in #musicmonday6 years ago (edited)

The aim is simple, to banish those Monday blues with an eclectic range of music chosen by Steemit friends both old and new.

Music Monday.jpg

Every Monday I intend to post a music video (and a few words explaining my choice) I invite you to join me by doing same in the comments section below. As the forum (hopefully) grows my aim is that we begin to inspire our fellow Steemians to broaden their musical horizons by listening to the music that inspires us. The only thing I ask is that (where possible) every song we listen to is played nice and loudly on headphones or speakers in order that we capture it’s true essence.

As more Steemians join this venture there is also going to be the possibility of being rewarded for our musical tastes via the amount of upvotes each song receives. That said please never feel awkward about posting a track, a guilty pleasure or even your own musical ventures. I have an extremely wide range of musical interests but also understand that music like beauty is very much in the eye of the beholder. As such I may play my chosen song, but who am I to define what constitutes good music.

Hey I hope everyone has enjoyed a good weekend! Apologies for missing last week, I was helping a friend move and his wi-fi was late in being connected. So this week I return with an absolute classic from an age that came to define the birth of modern rock music and a song from the soundtrack of my youth. I hope you enjoy.

This isn't about making me Steem so please save your upvotes and reward the songs that you feel are worthy, although equally if my song stands out to you then I'd appreciate the vote. Any resteems would be much appreciated, all are invited and welcomed to join us in sharing and listening to a diverse range of music.

Minnow5.gif

Written by perceptualflaws
Song: L.A Woman
Band: The Doors
Gifs courtesy of @justcallmemyth

Many thanks for taking the time and consideration to read this post. Any upvotes, follows and resteems are greatly appreciated. Follow @perceptualflaws

I'm proud to be both a member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - brought to you by the hard work of: @aggroed, @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut and @ausbitbank,
discord channel: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Sort:  

They rocked - I remember them well - bought their first album - yes vinyl with big cardboard cover. Those were the days - thanks for the memories...

That will probably be worth some money these days .. vinyl is still very much in demand. :)

Hey @perceptualflaws I hope you're doing well. Here's my pick for the week!
Holygram-Hideaway

Great track @fadedhistory .. I'm loving the retro vibe that oozes from this track ..a fusion of new-romantic soundscapes! Very chilled and thought-provoking .. the music simply washes over you. Thank you for sharing my friend.

Great track. Very Joy Divisionesque.

Ah yes!

I too had a little bit of a journey over the weekend to a family cottage that I just absolutely love. It is 4-5 hours drive from where we live so you can imagine the sound track me and my girls got in.....

I am probably the only Accept fan you know. From the opening classic german riff being obliterated by a Udo scream to the crazy driving drum beat to the octave changes in the lead up to the solo to the soaring classic style guitars and the prototypical Accept low backing vocals, this kicks ass.

My girl knows right from the Hi-Dee Hi-Doe's that this is a song dad loves!

I have a friend who is a die-hard fan of Accept. He has tried to convince me that they are so great... but can't say that I like them! So now I know two Accept fans!

Haha yes!

I liked them since I bought the Metal Heart cassette tape (you may have to look that up if you are not old as dust like me.) Not my favourite band of all time but so few people I know have heard of them or like them, I have adopted them as my own.

Metal Heart!

Hey my friend, it sounds like you had an awesome weekend. Yes, you definitely are the only Accept fan that I know .. athough, I recognise the song and I have a mind that remembers everything, literally! Now I haven't seen it for about twenty-five years but I'm sure that this song featured in the horror film Demons! I shall have to check. Anyway if I wasn't awake I certainly am now! Don't worry I love a bit of metal and I'm loving the riff on this .. great stuff and a perfect wake up for those long drives. Air guitar to the max! Thank you for the music @zekepickleman

Thanks for this weekly pick me up for all your followers. It usually hits me bu surprise late afternoon when I am getting back to the office or trying to fight off the day and I usually start the reply with AH YAH! because that is what I say out loud when I see the image and post.

Ah, yes, the man himself...I definitely spent my fair share of tripping with the Doors!
Anyway, I was able to get this one shined up a bit and I'm definitely happier with this little slice of gnostic rock...

Man that was awesome .. you're a one man music machine .. love it!! Seriously great track and I'm loving the lyrics "reality has been refracted" brilliant stuff. I've said it before and I'm sure I'll say it again .. and again lol but you're seriously talented my friend .. thank you for the music @andrewmarkmusic

Hi! Nice to have discovered #MusicMonday!
My first choice is in some way related to The Doors. I've chosen "Fire" from a band called The Front because his singer, Michael Franano, has ever remind me Jim Morrison.

Hey my friend,

Sorry but I must have missed this last night .. great track and I can really see what you mean about JIm, it's not just the look but the mannerisms, it's also a really good song which is always a bonus! Thank you for the music @calisay .. I really enjoyed this one!

Thanks! It's a very unknown (and undervalued) band. One of those that have been lost in the way to stardom.

Oh my gosh! I had this song prepared for my next Music Monday. SNAP, A Doors song....

I chose Roadhouse blues.....enjoy!

Hey @palikari123 Great minds and all that ;) Love this track and this is a brilliant version of it .. I would've loved to have seen these guys live .. such a stage presence, there will never be another Jim Morrison :) Thank you for the music my friend .. a great choice, brilliant version and a compelling video!

Yeah, a great band and a great song. Couldn't see them live too, but when Krieger & Manzarek did the tour with Ian Astbury from The Cult on vocals I had the chance to see them live twice, in Warsaw and Barcelona. It was much better than expected, Ian Astbury respected a lot the legacy of Jim Morrison and didn't want to be a clone.

Great choice as always my friend .. a track that really captures the tangible essence of the time and the moment. An audio and visual feast for the senses. Thank you for the music @sequentialvibe

I didn't have time to write a comment with my choice. I missed you last week!

Glad to have Music Mondays!

I am going to have to use my daughters account for a while, she is in Thailand anyway, I sent her on a world tour (no not my youngest)
I sold the other account starting with D bro.

Your friend in PL.

Hey dude! Really good to hear from you and what a great track!! I have spoken to @shepz1 before, but never knew she was your daughter .. small world! Anyway I really enjoyed your choice this week and it's made me reminisce about days gone and not to be repeated .. excellent stuff and thank you for the music my friend. :D

:-) Loves ya bro, I count you as my "chosen" family, not the ones inherited.

Likewise my friend :)


Song to the children destroyed in the death camps. Janusz Korczak is a legendary teacher, he entered the gas chamber with his pupils. He could live, but he could not leave the children.

Hey @rosgard thank you for sharing this moving track .. I have heard of Janusz Korczak, well I've certainly heard his story .. it's very sad and the song captures the mood perfectly, thank you for sharing.

The camp of Treblinka's death has a very sad history. The only thing that can a little comfort the uprising. An officer of the Red Army fell into Treblinka. The Russians were not taken prisoner, the genocide was going on as a result, 27,000,000 women and children were killed. The EU leadership mistakenly sent an officer of the Red Army to Treblinka. There were 2 camps. Treblinka-1 labor camp. Treblinka-2 death camp. As a result, on August 2, 1943, an uprising was raised.
Many people were able to escape. The fate of their sad 90% of those who fled was killed or peradanos in the hands of the Nazis by the Poles. Treblinka was on Polish territory.

The second successful uprising was in the Sobibor death camp. The Russian officer Alexander Pechersky led the insurrection. The fate of the rebels is sad. They have found freedom. They were killed or handed over to the Germans by the Poles. Of the 350 people who managed to escape killed by the Poles or handed over to the Germans, there were 280 people.

The song is certainly very sad. But it's not without pride. There is a spirit of freedom in the song.
Even if you do not give up in the death camp.
Be human.
Even if you lose, you die a man.
You can not live a slave.

Here you got some old andalusian vibes, have an amazing week!

Great music @alejandr0 very chilled .. close my eyes and I'm on holiday, surrounded by beautiful sounds and whiling away the day under the hot summers sun and cool breeze, where's my credit card?! lol Thank you for the music my friend, I would never have heard this in my daily life and that's why I love the diverse selection of music people share here, in short .. I very much enjoyed this one!

Thanks to you, this is a really good idea, glad you liked it, that's why I did it, hope to discover more diversity along the way, inspiring and entertaining each other.

Nice tune bro, likes ya style.

Thanks! glad to see you're sticking around.

You know where I am bro, I would never let people down by just disappearing. I got your back always.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94