7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 2 - Rannoch Moor

The location is France.

We are driving through the countryside, on the road to I don't know where.
It's just me and my father.

There is music playing, as always. Any time we went on a trip, I created a playlist recorded on whatever medium was used at the time.

Rannoch Moor Suite, from the Rob Roy soundtrack, composed by Carter Burwell.

It's a long, straight road, with trees on both sides, for shade, and meadows behind the trees, stretching endlessly.

We are stuck in slow speed, with lots of cars in front of us.

My father is not a patient man in such situations, he keeps trying to find a loophole, to overtake the other cars, but it's not working. There is continuously too much traffic from the other side.

We are at about 1:10 in the above track. The music begins to change, from the previously dragging, stretched out tempo, suddenly the tension starts the build. Simultaneously with this change, perfectly in sync with the music, he steers left once more, and he goes for it.

We are at 1:20 in the track.

We are now passing cars, they are swooshing by to our right, one by one, the line of cars seems to be endless, which adds tension, as there is visible traffic coming from the other direction, closing in on us.

There is urgency in the air, it feels like we are at flying speed.

The track is at about 1:45.

We made it, and he turns back into the right lane.
The music playing now feels like a reward. It sounds like freedom.

Not a single car ahead of us, just road, guarded by endless lines of trees with meadows behind them.

...



This is my second entry for the #MusicWaybackChallenge, sharing a piece of music and an associated memory from the early years of Sabina Nore.....

Today, I nominate @patschwork & @michaeldietrich!
Will you join the games??

The rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you  blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your  friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated.
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post.

Thank you for the nomination @ruth-girl 🌺

I'm having a lovely time with this, while discovering other music loving spirits around here!



Sort:  

Wow! A near tragedy experience with a soundtrack. That sounds scary.
Very nice piece!

I'm glad you're having fun with this! :D

very poetic description - sort of at the edge of my seat, lol - I remember a situation with my sisters boyfriend, passing on a narrow country road - the cars just moved over on each side to give him room in the middle, crazy, I could not even breathe!
I love your music selection! I am thinking of an epic battle, riders crashing into one another, and then the aftermath, surveying the field, comforting the wounded, mourning the dead, but then celebrating the victory.

I'm glad you've enjoyed the story! :)

Yes, there are so many great soundtracks. In the old days, they were mostly interesting as background music only for whatever scene they were composed for. Ennio Morricone, for instance, was one of the few exceptions, as his music reached outside the movies it was composed for.

Meanwhile, there is such an abundance of great soundtracks, for any mood.
There are still mediocre works to be found too, naturally, but a treasure trove of marvelous compositions also!

like I was watching a movie!

wow !! i loved!

:) I'm glad.

Unbelievable synergism between the development of the music theme and the development in the reality. Great story, Sabina and beautiful music.

Thank you! I have several such stories of synergism (music spontaneously synchronized with life), but I will try to dedicate my other music posts (in this challenge at least) to different kinds of memories.

Thanks for the nomination @anibas! That is indeed a great soundtrack to a great movie. I will gladly accept the challenge though I will make it to post 7 days in a row... ;)

Of course! I think it's quite alright to spread it out and do it in a rhythm one is comfortable with. After all, we don't live here, in this virtual environment, it's only an addition to life.

This post has received a 3.42 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99