You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7-Day Wayback Music Challenge: Day 6: Pearl Jam ~ Black

"Black" -in my opinion- is one of the best songs of Pearl Jam. "Alive" and "Jeremy" were the most succesful singles from "Ten" but there were great songs that didn't go mainstream like "Black", "Once" or "Deep". I remember a Pearl Jam concert at Pinkpop Festival that was broadcasted in our national TV. Eddie Vedder was in those crazy days, full of energy. All changed after Kurt Cobain's dead, I think he noticed he had done crazy thinks (climbing on stage, jumping to the audience...) and had to stop putting his live in risk. Anyway Pearl Jam are still one of the biggest bands in the earth, the three times have seen them have been just awesome.

Sort:  

Agreed, any time a good song get's on the radio there is normally some hidden gems which never see the light of day. I honestly don't dislike a single track on this album so they are all winners in my book.

"Ten" is in my TOP 10 albums of all time. I love all the songs of the album. I remember I bought the vinyl the same day that I bought Soundgarden's "Badmotorfinger" so maybe the best shopping day of my life!

I never got into Soundgarden but always did like Temple of the Dog, my friend always found that extremely strange, I guess it is.

Soundgarden is not easy to get into, it's heavier than most of the grunge bands. Actually, the grunge tag was more about the way of life or the lyrics than about the music and Soundgarden had some roots on bands like Black Sabbath while Pearl Jam had the roots in more classic rock bands, and Nirvana in punk bands. I never got into Nirvana, just liked some songs.
For me, the Temple Of The Dog album is the definition of the 90s, the perfect union and an unbeatable album.

I just never cared for Cornell's voice. It was like nails on a chalkboard to my ears, lol. Temple of the Dog was okay since he wasn't the solo singer, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12