Wayback music challenge: Day 4 - Yellow Sunshine Explosion

Yellow Sunshine Explosion - Elefantenhochzeit ["Jumbo Merger"]

I was nominated by @katharsisdrill to participate in this challenge, where you have to write seven consecutively posts about songs from your high-school/college years, that somehow were important for you.

When I moved out of my parent's house to study computer sciences in Dortmund, I didn't have huge expectations about meeting any cool people there, but I luckily was completely wrong. Here is today's song:


Yellow Sunshine Explosion - Elefantenhochzeit (Previously Unpublished)

First track of five, on the "Legendary Tape" (1989)

Bert Schlexer - Lead Vocal, Bass
Thomas Hopf - Drums, Percussion, Tabla, Organ
Georg Schulte - electric and acoustic Guitars, Vocals


From art to science

I initially wanted to become an art student, but on one hand my father was strongly against that idea while on the other hand, I failed to pass the qualifying examination at the Arts Academy of Düsseldorf anyway. Maybe following the footsteps of Joseph Beuys, Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke and Anselm Kiefer was out of my league.

At least I manged to enroll for a computer sciences study, which was my second passion and opened up the possibility to start a new life away from home. Regardless my expectations, I instantly met some guys at the faculty, who were into anarchism, expansion of consciousness and psychedelic music.

Coincidences?

While I left my parent's home in a hurry, a fellow student offered me a small chamber in his flat deep in Dortmund's northern district. Coincidentally I suddenly realized, that my new home was right above a living community of some members of a psychedelic rock band called "Yellow Sunshine¹ Explosion".

After I moved in, I thought it would be a good idea to buy a crate of beer and share it with these guys. I remember, that we watched some stupid "Wetten, dass..?" in the telly, had some beer and maybe a smoke.

When we started to talk about music, they mentioned the German Krautrock legend Can, but I was too shy to tell them, that I had some connection with the band through the sons of their lead singer Damo Suzuki².

Five

Coincidentally I had joined a small circle of fellow computer students, which was initated by an advanced student, who was known as "Five". (I later learned, that his nick was derived from The Illuminatus! Trilogy by Wilson and Shea, but he was also a buddy of Yellow Sunshine Explosion and maybe their greatest fan.

That's how I happen to visit a lot of legendary concerts (and parties) of that trippy Krautrock band and although I probably was too young and innocent to be able to really get to know these guys personally, they always played a role in my student years in Dortmund.

I was so happy, that I discovered some of their music at youtube in research for this post, that I made a youtube playlist. Feel free to dig deeper into their music!

Although I'm not a fan of nominations, I hereby nominate @sature to participate in the challenge, particularly because I think, he might enjoy listening to this music. At least it might be a great addition for his Unknown Psychedelic Rock series.

Thanks for reading!

@shortcut


[1] "Yellow Sunshine" is a small cube like paper dipped in LSD.
[2] You can still support the crowdfunding campaign about Damo Suzuki here


The #musicwaybackchallenge rules:

  • Choose one song from your high-school/college years.
  • Write a few words about who made you listen to this song for the first time, what this song means to you (was it a breakup song? you blasted it at 100% on your audio system when you were partying with your friends?) whatever you want.
  • Write your text while listening to the song. As soon as the song ends, wrap up what you where writing and submit it.
  • Do this for 7 days in a row if you get nominated
  • Mention one person who should do this on each day.
  • Tag it with #musicwaybackchallenge and include these rules at the bottom of your post
Sort:  

Very nice post with a lot of interesting insights ;-) I remember you writing about Can before. Like the visuals a lot on that clip, and the music is somewhat reminiscent of the Jezebel Spirit background track I shared last week.

Those student days are a lot of fun -- interesting, in America it was Orange Sunshine not Yellow.

I'm surprised you didn't become a producer of music videos, that seems like a perfect fit for you.

Yes, there are probably quite a few nicknames for LSD.

I found the music of YSE heavily inspired by Can and even thought about adding this video for comparison:


Can - Paperhouse - Live, 1971

Also those visuals are quite common for this kind of psychedelic music (they're great without doubt).

I guess, I always wanted to create music videos, but at first hand I couldn't afford my own editing suite and when I could, I had spend so many years in the industry, that I rather needed some detachment from doing videos.

But hopefully I will get over it and make some surreal dadaistic & psychedelic art videos in the future. Stay tuned, as I'm eventually going to post my first self-made music video pretty soon.

I have to reveal my ignorance, I'm not familiar with YSE. The style of music that Can is playing there reminds me a lot of the psychedelic groups of the 60s in the States, for example Vanilla Fudge.

Looking forward to the videos. BTW, I came across something in the 90s. I pointed my video camera at the TV and tuned it on. I guess the Chaos Theory comes into play when you do that, after a while it began producing effects somewhat like the scenes in 2001 a Space Odyssey. So I turned the VCR on and had these very cool background videos for music.

Thanks a lot for the Vanilla Fudge video :-) I somehow did not have them very much on my radar yet, but really enjoyed the song. Their attitude is more pathetic, then the one of Can imho, but there are certainly some similarities in their psychedelic approach.

I also experimented with the video-feedback, you mentioned. It is a really cool effect for music videos. The camera I had, was not so good at it, as the early video-cameras, but I still achieved some nice visuals.

Before Hendrix broke out on the scene, there were quite a few band playing that style -- of course none of them were the same, but there was a fuzz-tone garage band genesis to a lot of it.

BTW, I checked YouTube to see if anyone had posted video feedback, lots of cool stuff :-)

I don't know why, but when I did it I got a lot of really cool vortex videos -- visual infinity feeling.

Pretty cool :-) I guess the cameras, which had electronic tubes (rather than image sensors) where pretty good for this kind of feedback videos. You just had to be careful, that you didn't kill them by these kind of experiments.

For me the most interesting part of Can probably were their tricky rhythms played by their drummer Jaki Liebezeit, who had a history in Free Jazz, but was able to play like a metronome.

My TV was definitely a tube, but I assumed my 90s Sony Camcorder was digital -- but I'm not sure.

Can's drummer had the perfect name, for a drummer or a gigolo:

Liebezeit = Love Time :-)

I came very late to kraut-rock and space-rock like this. six years ago, maybe. We had a friend living with us as and he is an expert in rhythmic music, so I got an introduction to some incredible music that I didn't know shit about. Great to have this story about your life.

It's really interesting for me, how the #waybackmusicchallenge evolves over the branch of Rock. I was already listening to a variety of music (including lots of Jazz music during that time), but when it comes to the connection with emotional moments or key moments, I seem to have a crush on loud and awry music. That wasn't clear before I started writing about it. So also thank you for the invitation.

It has been a very interesting thing for me to to write about it. It does make you think in another way about things. Glad I did ask you, these are really good texts!

Hello @shortcut, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks a lot, much appreciated! Keep up the good work with the @creativecrypto magazine and curating creative content. Steem on!

hi @shortcut, nice to see you again, I thought you were in Art academy because you art works.

Thanks :-) I just took some art classes as a secondary subject while studying computer sciences. But I never graduated.

But your sense of art is in you obviously, I never graduated from my major as well @shorcut, I was in math teaching faculty

Something about of your life is now open in this post, you are want to be a art student and later find yourself self at computer classes. This is life and your music choice is very nice.

I really like your every idea for a student. No one can think like you, I am very glad to know your life history, everybody can't feel up their dreams you are the one of them, but always remember and believe yourself this is the perfect that happen always to you, I really like your music video that was terrific sound.. hope for the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97