Sort:  

Bees are amazing indeed! A real pitty they have a hard time surviving...
And I'm really happy they bring me relief and help me survive (allthough they got hard times) the troubles of spring.

You have some bee stories yourself ?

We keep bees on our homestead and I make an all natural skin care range, most of which incorporates beeswax (and sometimes honey). So yes, I have bee stories ;) And as you say their survival is a challenge. It is a pity there isn't more effort to protect the bees, especially as our survival depends on theirs!

Oh yes a beekeeper! Can you share some tips how people can help the bees at their place? So we csn save their future and ours!

What does the beewax do for the skin? Wasn’t aware of those qualities either!😎

Oh dear where do I start? Beeswax protects the skin as a natural barrier. It is anti-inflammatory so wonderful for skin ailments. Very high in Vit A. Fights sun damage. Beeswax also has has incredible anti-bacterial anti-fungal properties. It helps with healing and reduces scaring.

To keep bees you'll need hives. Safe access to water. Plenty of bee friendly herbs and plants in your gardens. No aggrevating noise or interferenc;es. No No's are: lawnmowers, cell or electricity towers or lines, animal interference. They need plenty of love and care with no aggrevation. Although our South African "killer" bee has a reputation for being aggressive. They're amazing little creatures. And apart from the benefit of honey they are really a special community insect to watch

an aggressive bee? I always thought a bee would only be agressive when you enclose it. Isn't the SA killerbee actually a bee with wasp gens or something? 🙈
But the bees need safe access to water? they can fly to it why do you need to arrange the safe access? The plants I can imagine otherwis no honey. And the electricity and cell towers, they can't handle the radiowaves?

Wasn't aware of all those magical things about beeswax. Thanks for the explanation!

Not at all. The SA bee is just the most aggressive type and far more prone to sting. Hence the name killer bee. If a bee feels threatened it stings. If it feels its colony is threatened it stings. By safe access I mean that they will drown in a pool of water. Shallow tubs of water with pebbles or stones will give them "safe access" ie no risk of drowning.

I know bees sting when they feel threatened.. But the SA killerbee doesn't sting for fun I assume? Because as fas as I know bees die after the moment they sting.

Safe access I understand now, thanks for the explanation! So swallow they can actually keep their head above the water I assume?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73