Natural Medicine for Cough and Cold

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

Winter is coming and sometimes cold related illnesses can't be avoided. So here's what my mother used to give me when I was coughing. And believe me, I was coughing a lot and always had a sore throat.

nhv54n51og.jpg

Black radish syrup with honey

This is 100% natural, no chemicals used and 100% effective!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bigger black radish,
  • honey

n27dbq9zs6.jpg

Wash and peal the radish, make a whole in the middle and fill it with honey. let it rest till the radish starts to let the juice out. Use 1 - 2 teaspoon of juice and don't eat or drink for 20 minutes. repeat as often as necessary.

I love this remedy because always helped me.
steemit-border

9njs2q97qo.jpg

Onion syrup with honey or sugar for cough

Wash and peal the onion, slice it, lace it in a jar, add the honey and leave it for 6 - 8 hours at room temperature. Use 1 - 2 teaspoon of juice and don't eat or drink for 20 minutes. repeat as often as necessary. Store it in a cold place, preferably in a refrigerator. After 48 hours make a new one if needed! You can replace honey with sugar.

steemit-border

249netl98u.jpg

Garlic syrup with honey or sugar for cough

This is the other option, you replace the onions with garlic. Wash and peal the garlic, place it in a jar and cover with honey. Keep it in a warm place till the garlic becomes opaque. It will take a few days but you can store it in the fridge for several months.

steemit-border

ub71ebeka2.jpg

These are herbs that can be used for cough, recommended by Franziska von Au and confirmed by sources mentioned below.

White Butterbur (Petasites albus) which is known to treat respiratory diseases, cough, hoarseness and asthma attacks.

Anise (Pimpinella anisum), also called aniseed, good for bronchitis, gastric and intestinal cramps.
Tea: crushed anise seeds in one cup of boiled water, steep for 10-12 minutes.

Basil (Ocimum basilicum) treats cough, chronic gastritis and stomach pains.
Cough syrup: Blend one teaspoon of basil leaves juice with honey to treat cough.
Tea for cough : 2 teaspoon dry basil in one cup of boiled water.
Tea for calming the stomach: half of teaspoon basil (dry or fresh) in one cup of boiled water.

Borage (Borago officinalis), or starflower, is good for cold, cough, hoarseness.
Tea: 2 - 3 tablespoon dry borage for 2 cups of boiled water.

Dog Rose(Rosa canina) treats cold.
Tea: 2 spoons of dried dog rose, one cup of boiled water.

Liquorice or licorice (the root of Glycyrrhiza glabra) treats cough, ulcer and digestive problems.
Tea: 2 teaspoons of dried licorice root, one cup of boiled water

Common polypody(Polypodium vulgare) is an expectorant.
Tea: 1 - 2 tablespoons of the dried root, half a cup of hot (not boiling) water, 15 minutes.

Fennel (Foeniculum vulgare) treats cough and clear mucus from the airways.
Tea: crush one teaspoon of fennel seeds, add one cup of boiling water, 7 - 10 minutes.

White nettle or white dead-nettle(Lamium album) treats cough, respiratory tract problems.
Tea: 1 - 2 tablespoons of white nettle (fresh or dried) one cup boiling water, 5 - 10 minutes.

Marshmallow(Althaea officinalis) treats cough and cold.

Source:

steemit-border

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

Vote for @good-karma witness

06m6wxfoyl.png

Sort:  

Magnificent natural remedies for maintaining immunity
@cleverbot , @automation & @banjo

The logo on top of the page says you are cleverbot.

The logo on top of the page says you are cleverbot.

I'm familiar with using honey as a remedy when sick, but I've never tried this concoction! Hopefully , this year I won't need any remedies, but if I do, I have a nice resteem I can turn to for help! Thank you for this information dear! 🤗

Let's hope you won't need it but in case you do, as you say, you know where to look :) And thank you! :)

Very useful, Erika. And, if I may add, the homemade plantain syrup. This one is very useful for treating cough.

Never hear about that, so thanks for telling me.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I wonder if purple dead nettle has the same effect! We have the purple everywhere! Great post!

Thank you very much @littlebitfarm. That was my intention, to bring awareness, to let people know about these plants quality. There are so many homesteaders here, who can find these plants easily. I don't know if the purple has the same effect, you should Google it. Worth a try.

Love these home remedies garlic and onion and honey have been used home remedies in all sorts of countries for a very long time.

Posted using Partiko Android

indeed, these are old remedies, and I'm glad you like it :)

I know the onion syrup. My mum used to make it for us too. Mostly with sugar.
Also Marjoram tea which I hated at first, but now I like it with a bit of honey. It really helps with caugh

Never heard of the black radish one! I know the veggie is good and we eat it in salads. Didn't know it can be used like that too :)

I've never heard about Marjoram tea, so thanks for that! Looks like we all have something to learn :)

It is pretty good if you like the herbal tastes. And it really makes wonders!

I'm going to keep that in mind, the cold season is almost here, we need as many home remedies as we can!

Very useful info. Just in time for change of seasons and less sun

Thank you!

Lovely healing remedies! Garlic and honey are such treasured plants for health!

Thank you @walkerland, I'm glad you are confirming it!

Great article. I didn't know about the onion and garlic syrup. Next time I'm coughing I'm gonna give it a try!

Please do and let me know. It's very good and healthy, not to mention how handy it is when you don't have the possibility to go to the doctor right away. Cough medicine is prescription only and they gave you for five days, sometimes it's ineffective.

So true! I'm all in favour of natural medicine :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73