My Midwifery History

So my foundation is mainstream, western medical training. As a nursing student, I didn't question what I was taught. I enjoyed midwifery, but it wasn't my passion as a student.

I'd like to give a brief description of how South Africa's pregnancy care works. We currently have two healthcare systems available to the population.
The public system --- Government-funded hospitals and clinics, so free of charge for any women who get care from this system
The private system --- Paid for by medical aid (that requires its members to pay a monthly fee) or by cash

In the public system clinics with Midwife Obstetric Units (MOU), midwives manage low-risk pregnant women, from antenatal care, to birth and postnatal care. In the hospitals, the midwives still manage the normal deliveries, but a doctor admits and discharges the mother and baby from the hospital. Only high-risk women are seen by doctors (although, if a high-risk woman has a normal birth, a midwife will still manage her birth); only in labours that don't go according to the textbook does a midwife call a doctor for an assessment; and obviously, C-sections are also done by doctors. So normal birth is managed by midwives, in the public system.

In the private system, a pregnant woman sees a doctor (usually a gynaecologist) during pregnancy, for birth and postnatal visits. Doctors manage every aspect of the women's care, whether they are low- or high-risk. Obstetric nurses run the labour wards of private hospitals, and only manage deliveries if the doctor does not arrive on time.

There are a few private birth centers and private midwives that are practicing in South Africa, where women are cared for by midwives throughout their pregnancy journey. I feel that this is the best route to go for the majority of pregnant women, because of the research backing midwife-led care for pregnant women (I will go into detail about this in a future post).

After completing my degree, I worked at a 24-hour clinic with an MOU in a township, called Ikageng. I was one of the midwives who saw low-risk pregnant women throughout their entire pregnancy, helped with their births and post-partum stage. After a year, I started working as a midwife in Potchefstroom's public hospital. 1604493_10152206236199224_1977844562_n.jpg
This was just after my natural-health awakening, and I started researching more about pregnancy and birth. I found that a lot of what was done in practice was not backed up by evidence at all. For example, we were taught as students to immediately clamp and cut the baby's umbilical cord the moment the baby is born. In babies that have the cord around the neck, we would clamp and cut it while the babies' heads were out and the bodies were still inside the birth canal!!! By now, everyone knows that delayed cord clamping is best for babies, but it is taking an extremely long time for this practice to be implemented. Another example is that mothers are forced (I know that word sounds harsh, but it really is the case) to give birth lying on their backs, whereas the research shows that a mother should assume whatever position she would like to be in.

So when I started seeing all these contradictions in the research and in our practice at the hospital (all the hospitals that I had worked at had these same contradictions), I decided that I would treat all my patients according to what I had discovered was best, instead of how I was taught and how everyone else was doing it!

This, of course, caused a lot of disturbance in the ward where I worked. One of the gynaecologists was so furious when he saw a woman squatting to give birth, that he firmly told me to stop doing "my experiments" in his ward. The thing is, my patients started having such good outcomes, that a lot of the other staff noticed it and even advocated for me, which was very encouraging, to say the least. There were a few doctors who really supported me and my growth as a midwife, and I am very grateful for them. One doctor was paging through our files in the ward, and she noted that my patients hardly every require stitching for tears after normal deliveries, compared to the other midwives' patients, and said that it can definitely be attributed to the fact that they can give birth to their babies in any position that they please.

I also did a lot of other "controversial" (against policy, but backed up by research) things in the ward, but I'd like to dedicate a post to evidence-based practice vs current hospital policies.

Naturally, as I went deeper and deeper into the research, I came across this new world called home birth. I knew that I needed to throw myself into that world, and I then became Potchefstroom's first full-time home birth midwife. My sister-in-law was my first client, and she had a wonderful short and pain-free labour in the early hours of a very cold winter morning. I have since then been with 18 women who chose to give birth at home (I'm counting myself as well). After the birth of my daughter, I scaled down tremendously to dedicate my time to her, in these vital early years. My daughter is two years old now, and I hope to include her in my passion as much as possible, as she grows up. So far, she loves what I do and is intrigued by every part of midwifery! Here she is listening to a "baby" in her cousin's tummy (this cousin is my first home-birth baby, the one I mentioned earlier). Here's a clue to another quirk of mine... I don't use doppler to listen to babies' heartbeats!!
5723fcf5-c64f-457c-a69b-7878e0398ea6 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Wow! That must have taken some courage to go against the hospital practices and allow the women more natural births. I have so much admiration for you doing that.

Love love love this post @vanessamidwife! Where were you when I was giving birth?! :) Thank you for sharing your knowledge and having the strength to 'buck the system' ... I'm sure all your new moms appreciated it!

I found your post because @porters featured you in a Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry; feel free to join us with an entry of your own any week :)

so happy to be reading more about birth on here and especially posts that are about empowering women and reminding them that their bodies know exactly what to do in order to birth their babies. I really believe that hospitals are not the best place to give birth, you go to hospital when you are ill, pregnancy is not a sickness it is huge rite of passage for women and something that we need to take back.
I birthed my last daughter unassisted, i know what my body is capable of, but sadly so many women do not xxxx

I knew I'd find you here :) Absolutely! Hospitals are good for sick people. The word 'patient' already implies illness. And unconsciously women believe they are sick and need help. When in reality, we have put children on this earth for centuries without any help. Or maybe our aunts, or sisters. I love the sentence in Laura Shanley's book: If birth were as dangerous as they make it out to be, we would simply not exist as a species. Much love to you my unassisted home-birthing sister 🤗

I absolutely agree! I also had an unassisted birth with my daughter, and I'll be posting about it next!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

That's awesome! I'm looking forward to reading it @vanessamidwife!

Welcome to Steemit my fellow South African 😊
I was interested in why the ambilical cord cutting should be delayed? I love your perspective on birth. Well done. 😘

@sweetsah, The delay in cord clamping (at least until the cord has stopped pulsing) is done so all the goodness can still go from the placenta to the baby. You know, in some places (at least where I'm from) there are companies who will advertise and almost hunt pregnant women down to tell them they will store the baby's umbilical cord blood for a lot of money, just in case they might need it later in life (stem cells) if they fall ill with cancer or other diseases. Some people (I am one of them) believe that delayed cord clamping could possibly nullify the need for that in the first place (and thus prevent illness). We all know stem cells are used in trials to treat various diseases. That 'frozen cord blood' is big business... The placenta itself is sometimes used in frozen, then dried and powdered form for the mother to recover faster from birth. And later even when she goes into menopause...

I wasn't aware of the benefit of delayed clamping either. I did know that the cord blood could be of benefit to someone requiring a transfusion, and tried to donate my last one to the blood bank. Some hospitals in Australia work with the blood bank to collect it for these uses, but the one I was booked in was not part of that programme. It became difficult to arrange so it was just discarded, which seemed incredibly wasteful. Interesting, as you mentioned, for thousands of dollars I could have banked it for my child, but donating it to a stranger was less easy.

Yes, that is kind of strange that it's so hard to do. Yeah, it does seem very wasteful. I think that stuff is liquid gold, or better even as it literally gives life, even after birth. But I always thought it was crazy that they'd have you pay huge amounts to bank your own child's umbilical cord blood, in stead of just making the best use of it right after birth, which could prevent the need for it entirely.

Thanks for the feedback. Very interesting to know. I wonder what happens to the cord nowadays? Are the hospitals using them in tests? It would be sad if it just gets destroyed.

I have no idea what happens to it, or the placenta for that matter. My first thought is that it may be destroyed. Shame, you're right.

Sorry for taking so long to reply! It gets quite busy with a two-year-old to take care of and making sure I get enough sleep!!
According to the hospital consent forms, the placenta and umbilical cord are incinerated. But there are conspiracies that they are sold to cosmetics companies.

Oe pleaaaase do tell more, because these kinds of things really intrigue me. To me, evidence changes almost every so often years because we havent seen the best of it all by far. Just keep your instincts open!

Greetings from a scrubnurse from the neonatal department who worked worldwide :D

@karinxxl If you look at this speech that Ina May Gaskin once did. She said that she was speaking to a room full of ob/gyns (about 90 of them) When she asked to raise their hands if they had ever witnessed a natural birth, no one raised their hand...They had simply never seen it, and therefore worked from a mind-set of problems...

I will definitely keep posting about this! In the case of birth, the evidence is showing that we need to go back to how birth was done before it was medicalised! I feel it's very unlikely that this is going to change. Birth in the majority of cases just needs to be left alone.

I very much disagreee with your but that why it is cool to read your stuff that might make my opinon so much milder ;)

Show those doctors on how it's done! But how to catch the baby if not on their back?
Using a stethoscope is fine..some aren't comfy in using it maybe?

Posted using Partiko Android

I am pretty sure that the lying on the back has been done by the medical world for the comfort of the doctor/midwife. God forbid that they have to bend over too much... It is a totally unnatural way of giving birth narrows the pelvic outlet and makes getting the baby out harder. It is working against gravity!

Hi! As a nursing student in the Philippines, our exposure to maternity and lying-in are in public where midwives rule. in saying that, primis were made to walk till they get into true labor, then made to lie in the stirrup. I had not seen any episiotomy there, only in the hospital. I have not seen any other position but if other position is allowed and it's what made them comfortable, yeah by all means.
Awareness of the benefits and implementation seem to be the issue in private practice. Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi! You see, I cringe when I hear things like: 'made to lie in the stirrup' or 'is allowed'. The mother should have full autonomy over her own labor and birth experience. And that's what's oftentimes wrong with hospital births (other births too, as is my experience), (male) doctors and/or midwives oftentimes very arrogantly think to know best. However, only the mother feels what goes on in her body. In the modern medical world, women aren't allowed anymore to 'feel' what goes on. With my first two births, I had no idea. Not because I didn't want to, but because there was so much interference, I wasn't able to feel what was going on. Some women even have drugs, so that makes things worse. If we let women truly experience birth, their bodies will instinctively know what to do. We always have. A heart knows how to beat, every organ and cell in the body knows exactly what to do, what they're made for. So it's is crazy to think that the uterus doesn't have that knowledge. :) Thank you for your input. Nurses usually don't know any better, because they see and hear this from midwives or doctors. So I think it's very good of you to already look at things critically.

I probably used words i shouldn't have sorry.
As a student nurse ages ago, one mom came to mind where she chose to give birth in a public lying-in where we were. It was an easy primi, things went accordingly as she wanted and her midwife was a relative.
From there i can remember that her involvement and her relationship to her midwife were the factors that made it that way..In hindsight, this arrangement was not the case elsewhere then...even now...most esp in hospitals.
Though it's possible... Some moms also might prefer it that way if aware pre-birth...and have good relationships with their midwifes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, but you don't have to apologize! It's the system and society that came up with that wording, and I am pretty sure it was partly done on purpose (or kept that way) to make women feel small. I have this theory (call me crazy) about birth and the medical world. I think that in the patriarchic world, men (not all of course) have always been trying to control everything. But nature is the only thing they can't control (really). There's nothing more natural than birth, but they turned it into something else. To control women and make them feel small and less, they use these words and 'protocol' during birth, to make women believe we need anyone other than ourselves to give birth. Some women actually believe they need machines, doctors etc. to give birth. Now mind you, I know there are situations when a woman needs an emergency c-section, but those moments are rare. The interventions women go through are often a result of those interventions. Interventions that are oftentimes only done for several reasons that have nothing to do with the birth, woman or her baby. Sometimes it's the doctor that wants to go home, sometimes other things. Birth is 'on the clock' in hospitals, a woman only has a certain time to do it herself, if she can't (which is normal, because every birth is different) within a certain time (usually 12 hours) they come with interventions... Are you still in the Philipines? Interesting to hear they have such a Western approach to birth. Shame really. I know of a place in Indonesia, it's a birthing center, where women are allowed to have the birth they want. They can have no one there or the whole family, whatever they choose. There are birth pools, they can have lotus births etc. The women are left alone, and can call whenever they need anything. No checks to see how much dilated they are etc. It's beautiful. The first time I heard about it, I thought: why can they do this in a supposedly 'developing' country, while they can't in the Western world. We should all take that place as an example. It matters how women perceive the birthing process and it matters to the baby as well. We need more stories like: 'Your birth was beautiful and empowering.' Instead of: 'Your birth was horrible, 32 hours of pain and then vacuum/forceps, and an emergency section. You were crying for 6 weeks straight after that.' Isn't the first story the best gift to give a child?

That sounds wonderful! So with the birth pool. It's not crazy maybe because it's what we've seen for years wherein it can be different and beautiful if allowed to.
My sis-in-law was a practising midwife before and yes, a few home births with her were according to how the women were comfortable.
Perhaps it's time to change the old system that's nor working. That would be fun actually...a struggle but if the moms are made aware of this practice, am sure most will be behind you. Not all, as there will still be some who believe their docs.
The practice in the Philippines follows the US.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhhh, such a shame that the Philippines follows the US in their practices. Especially since the mortality rates, both infant and maternal, are rather high in the US... I think it would be great practice if hospitals worldwide would have a look at options such as the one in Indonesia. It might change things. There's a doctor by the name of Michel Odent, who is a great advocate of water birth and natural birth. He says a lot of things about the way birth is handled these days and doesn't agree with it. He's my hero because he is one of only a few men and doctors who actually takes a stand on western medical practice. There should be more like him. He's written a few books, and each of them is equally amazing.

Love your posts Vanessa. Even though we have worked together a lot, we never end up talking about how you got where you are, so these posts are teaching me a lot about you! Keep them coming!

Wow! Really!! I thought that this might be a way too boring post 😂😅. I'm amazed that, despite the amount of talking we've done, that there's still so much new info!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful story, and wonderful woman. Allthe best for you ❤️

Gosh, what you do is amazing. I've always had such admiration for midwives. It's truly a noble profession. Really glad you came to natural birthing through your own knowledge, instincts and belief in what was right, not what you were 'told' and that you are being, for the most part, positively recieved. xxx

Oh I am going to enjoy your posts @vanessamidwife! I so wish you were closer. Homebirth, going "upstream" and health. We have so much in common except that I'm in the Karoo (just friend requested you ;) My wonderful homebirth journey took a horrible and unexpected turn after three days of labour, 17 months ago. But I will perhaps save that for a post. What should've been the most wonderful experience of my life is one that I wish never to remember. HOWEVER, praise the Most High, despite the emergency C-section at the crack of dawn and all the medical intervention, we did get delayed cord clamping, my husband insisted on skin to skin and left with no vaccinations (although a huge fight). So I still have so much to be grateful for. I loved your post Vanessa. You are a special woman and birthing mamas and babas are blessed to have you! Yay for no doppler!!!!

Hi!!! So sorry that your birth didn't go as you hoped. I am so happy that you got those wonderful gems of DCC and skin to skin. And that you managed to leave the hospital without vaccines!!!!! Praise God!!!
But there is always so much at play that we don't see, beyond the physical. I always pray that God will help me see with His eyes...
I actually wanted to tag @Camille101 here and I see she found her way! Because I immediately also thought about her story and everything she went through.
I really look forward to reading your story and connecting more!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @vanessamidwife! I'm going to answer her next. I totally agree with you. There is so much beyond the physical. Have you read Born in Zion? It was written in the 80's but an incredible book. I read it many years ago and it opened my eyes although I have always wanted a natural birth. I dream of being a midwife. Our Father has a sense of humour as He allows me to deliver animals on our farm instead
2013-01-11 Goshna 015.JPG

What an amazing photo!!
And thank you for that book recommendation. I will check it out!

I'm so sorry. It sounds like you and I had very similar experiences. If you ever want to have a whatsapp chat about it, let me know!

Thanks @camille101 for your sweet comment. I will most certainly let you know. I read your (only?) two posts. They are fantastic!

I just read and commented on this post @buckaroo, and was about to close it when I thought to scroll through the comments because I just knew you would be here :) Hope you are doing well!

Hi @lynncoyle1! Am I so predictable! I guess it's woman's intuition as my husband says I'm unpredictable :D Thank you for looking for me! It seems we seldom "chat" these days

Women's intuition is a thing!! I haven't been too regular on steemit, but I've missed our chats for sure. I'm trying to get back in the swing of things, but there's always something pulling me away ... like the pool :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85