You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Thread #10- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants!

in #nature6 years ago

Hi!, what rock is the one in the photo, and what mineral are the crystals?
This rock was obtained on the bank of a river at 3500 meters above sea level, in a metamorphic geological environment, with the presence of rocks such as schist, gneiss and quartzite. But this rock, is different from the others, and has veins of green crystals, that call my attention, you know what it is ?, I am doubtful between beryllium, epidote, clinozoisite, hornblende, riebeckita. I am sure that inside there are also transparent quartz crystals. I want to know what the green crystals are.
I hope someone can help me.
Regards!

DSCF7613.JPG

Sort:  

That's a tricky one! If I had to choose from your list, I'd probably go with epidote or clinozoisite- however, there are a couple of other possibilities as well! There is a slim chance of it being peridotite- slim due to its presence in a metamorphic region. Slightly more likely is the possibility of it being green garnet. Green's not the most common color for garnets, but garnets are pretty much the most common metamorphic gem. It's hard to tell just from the photo, however. The crystals look a bit elongated, from what I could see, which makes epidote or clinozoisite strong contenders.

Now that I think about it, there are also small red garnet mines, very close to where the rock is.
I think it's an epidote, It hurts that the photo does not fit me better.
Thanks my friend.

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84