Growing a "Ginkgo Biloba" Tree: Week 1

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

Ginkgo Biloba, also known as the maidenhair tree, is a popular dietary supplement. 🌿
The herb is often taken from the leaves of the tree which are then often dried and processed into the popular supplement.

The 'benefits' of Ginkgo are open to debate, some studies point in one direction whilst others point in the opposite direction. For now, I am not going to get into that.

What I find interesting about Gingko is not it's supposed health benefits but simply that this tree is frigging amazing!

Image of Yaktocat

Fossils of Ginkgo date back over 270 million years ago, and ginkgo is the only living species in the Ginkgophyta division.

So, Ginkgo was on the go when Dinosaurs were kicking around. Fossils of Ginkgo date back to 270 million years ago, before the Triassic Period (250 to 200 million years ago) back when the single land, mass called Pangea existed.

How amazing is that!!!!!!

It has existed throughout several mass extinctions, including the one that ended the Triassic period, survived the Jurassic period and still exists today! Sadly, Ginkgo is now on the Endangered watch list. 😢

So, without going further off topic. I present to you......

My pet Ginkgo Tree. Well, he's not that tall yet but he will grow. Measuring just 21cm and living on my nightstand. This guy will hopefully end up planted in my back garden or living in a plant pot in my house.

I bought this online from a plug retailer, it costs about $7, including delivery.

Ginkgo tree as delivered!

I'll try and keep a log of this plant and how it progresses. So far, he's 21cm and not looking too healthy.

Being a special plant, he needs a name. So what shall we call him???
Ginkgo George? Terry the Tree? Or something else? Let me know in the comments down below.

Until next time, take care and be safe.

@epicdave

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I used to miss-read the full name of Ginkgo trees, Ginkgo Biloba as Ginkgo Bilbo, and since Bilbo is a very good name... I volunteer it as a tree name- Bilbo Ginkins.
I hope it grows well and brightens up your home. We visited a park in Washington State which had fossilized Ginkgo, it was pretty cool.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ginkgo_Petrified_Forest_State_Park

I hope that it doesn't mutate and eat me :P

Yay, let it's name Bilbo Ginkins. :D

Wow, I would love to see a Petrified Forest. It amazes me how many different types of extinct species of life lived on Earth! :O

Congratulations @epicdave! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Come @tts read this post, you know you want too ;) ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64