Walk with me ~ Scottsdale Desert Botanical GardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature5 years ago (edited)

DCP00226.JPG

While staying with a friend in Scottsdale, Arizona, I visited the Desert Botanical Garden. If you like cacti and agave, it is a great place to spend a few hours.

DCP00230.JPG

The specimens are beautiful and some are quite big. Since it's in a desert, it's completely different than any other botanical garden I have seen.

DCP00228.JPG

There are big broad pathways through the rugged terrain and garden.

DCP00232.JPG

The winding path takes us between these small hills, below.

DCP00233.JPG

You can see that it was late afternoon and closing in on golden hour.

DCP00225.JPG

At one point, I was surprised to see that I wasn't alone!

DCP00227.JPG

The big cacti are saguaros. There is a Saguaro National Park not too far from here. These particular cacti will reach 40' (12 m) in height and don't get their first branches until they are about 80 years old. Needless to say, they are a protected species. They grow only in the Sonoran Desert which covers parts of California, Arizona, and the state of Sonora, Mexico.

The surrounding area is more or less flat with a few prominent mountains smack in the middle. You get a sense of it in this photo, above. There are some good hiking trails on the mountains.

DCP00231.JPG

You may have noticed that some paths are made of brick.

I think the big plant, below, is an agave.

DCP00223.JPG

References

Desert Botanical Garden

Images

Photos from @kansuze's old Kodak DC210 Plus at Desert Botanical Garden, Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Follow footer.gif

I hope you enjoyed the walk!
@kansuze

Sort:  

Great photos!
Beautiful cacti.
I really liked the photo where the gopher looks from the mink!
He obviously did not buy a ticket to visit the Batanic Garden!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you!

I've never been to Arizona and those botanical gardens that I've visited so far were indeed different - all green, vibrant and lush. This one looks very special to me.

Was it very hot when you visited it? It looks like it.. I've never seen such big cactus's but I've never been to a desert either so this could be the reason :)

Looks like you had a nice excursion. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Have a lovely day!

I visited in April and I was at the gardens later in the day so it wasn't really hot, but in Phoenix and Scottsdale I pretty much went from an air-conditioned house to an air-conditioned car to an air-conditioned restaurant, even at that time of year.

I have been to Arizona, but not to where the saguaros were. I'd love to go back at this time of year, before things get too intense.

Those agave are all over here as landscape plants that put up with our intense summers. We call them century plants.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10