You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Nature Fix: Trying Hard at Photography - Pt. 1 (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

This is lovely. You shouldn't put yourself down like that -- this photo draws you in because of the water and ice on the left hand side. It also follows the "Rule of Threes" -- you should look it up if you're interested. It will help you with your composition -- it helped me... a lot.

Sort:  

I'm familiar with the rules of threes, but I've never tried to implement it. Not intentionally, anyway. I never even think about stuff like composition when we're on a trip somewhere. Perhaps a lot of what I need to improve on is my mindset/focus while I'm somewhere cool. lol I always just try to document what I'm seeing... not so much in an artistic way.

I think mindset/focus is the difference between a gorgeous photo and a gorgeous snapshot.

You could always go out and just take photos in your neighborhood -- you don't have to be on a trip somewhere. I'm not a great photographer, but I know that to get good at something is to practice, practice, practice :) With today's digital tech, at least we can take lots of photos instead of worrying about how to get that one image via a film camera. :)

Oh man, speaking of... check out that @irvinesimages who commented just below. The photos he posts from the southwest US are are film (pretty much) from the 1990ish. Respect! I can barely remember the pre-digital days and not being able to look at the images instantly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86