You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nature Identification Thread #10- Now Paying out Steem Basic Income Memberships to Participants!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Welcome back! Let's get this party started... haha I have a bunch of animals that I see but do not know

Saw this birdy while up around Deception Pass in WA state a couple weeks ago, I also have the bird cry recorded but not sure how to easily share a MOV file - anyway, maybe just the image is enough

IMG_6762.JPG

Sort:  

White-crowned Sparrow. I posted about this one about a month ago.
https://steemit.com/animalphotography/@katysavage/daily-birding-88

Here is the link to the All About Birds profile page for it. It includes a recording of the song you can listen to and compare to what you heard. Be aware that most birds have multiple calls. You can check out more at the Macaulay Library, an amazing free resource that has sound & video recordings, as well as photographs of MANY creatures around the world.

Thank you for the identification! I listened to the bird call and while the tone seems lighter (different individual) the song is the same! Also your photo quality is super

No problem! Many birds have different dialects in different areas, as well as what you are saying the difference between individuals. :)
Thank you! I recently upgraded my camera and am still learning the ropes. I had been working with a small point-and-shoot camera held against binoculars. It sounds peculiar but it worked! :)

Thanks for helping out with this ID! You'll definitely be getting one of the @steembasicincome memberships! Hope to see you more often in these threads in the future!

I would love to help out where I can! :) I will do my best to keep checking in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82