Microbes Are Forever

in #nature6 years ago

Well, maybe not forever. But micro-biologists have found single celled organisms on the bottom of the deep sea that have a completely different relation to time and energy, and they can live for hundreds of thousands of years, maybe even millions of years...

Regular visitors of this blog might have noticed that I love science. That's why I regularly check up on the latest TED-talks. A while ago one of these talks inspired me to go look for strange and beautiful life forms in the dee sea that I presented in this post. Now, as wonderful as all those are, I recently had the pleasure of listening to Karen Lloyd's TED-talk about some startling discovery on the oceans' floors.

One of the things I wanted to find out as a kid was what the oldest living things on Earth are. The undisputed king in that particular ranking has for the longest time been some Bristlecone Pine tree, the latest being this one:


unnamed-Great-Basin-bristlecone-pine.jpg
5,067 year old Great Basin Bristlecone Pine
source: oldest.org


But I was so wrong... There's even a term called biological immortality:

Biological immortality (sometimes referred to bio-indefinite mortality) is a state in which the rate of mortality from senescence is stable or decreasing, thus decoupling it from chronological age. Various unicellular and multicellular species, including some vertebrates, achieve this state either throughout their existence or after living long enough. A biologically immortal living being can still die from means other than senescence, such as through injury or disease.
source: Wikipedia

In the TED-talk Karen Lloyd takes us on a journey to the mud on the ocean's bottom. Some microbes survive under circumstances that differ so greatly from our surroundings in the sunlight, that they change our understanding about life on earth. What's especially remarkable is the very low energy requirements and the total lack of any day-night cycle these microbes live with. The effect of this is that these organisms live in a totally different "rhythm" than all surface-dwelling life on the planet, and that they can reach extreme old ages.

Naturally I went looking for confirmation of this remarkable claim, but this has been known for quite some time now. Here's what we find in Wikipedia under the heading "List of longest-living organisms":

Some endoliths have extremely long lives. In August 2013, researchers reported evidence of endoliths in the ocean floor, perhaps millions of years old, with a generation time of 10 millennia. These are slowly metabolizing, not in a dormant state.
source: Wikipedia

Perhaps millions of years old... Imagine if that microbe could tell tales... But I bored you long enough with needless talk about age; you're getting old reading this ;-) So here's the talk that amazed me and got me thinking about life's fleeting nature:


This deep-sea mystery is changing our understanding of life | Karen Lloyd

I hope you enjoyed that as much as I did! Thanks for visiting, and I hope you'll be back tomorrow :-)


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>The First Casualty Of War
God Wants You Dead. Really.Polarization Bubble
It's A MAD WorldSTEEM Is Still Doing Great!
Moral DilemmaStarting On Steemit: My 4 Month 1 Year Anniversary

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

Sort:  

After reading this, and watching something lastnight about organisms being algorithums, then dam me john! This is my prediction of where bio engineering will come from for the future human species!!

Congratulations @zyx066! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Well shit. For at least 20 years I've had the notion that when this meat wrapped skeleton of mine no longer serves a purpose for me I'd have it either liquefied or cremated and supplied to the tree pictured above. And thereby become part of the oldest living being in earth. And now, thanks so fucking much, I have to reconsider my posthumous plans. Jeez Rick. What a hassle. Here I thought I had it figured out but noooooooo.... I know nuzzing lebowski

That's exactly what happened to me! I was so surprised to learn about these microbial buggers... :-) Thanks for sharing my amazement @naturowlmystic :-) And sorry for crushing your postmortem dreams... ;-)

Hahahahaha it's all a dream probably so no worries!

Your article is very good, my game is very fun. https://goo.gl/Dd9394

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99