#needlework : Update on the crocheted slippers ...

in #needlework5 years ago

Last Monday I wrote a post about a pair of slippers I was crocheting and how I needed to add (shirring) elastic to stop them from 'slipping off'.

In the comments @muscara suggested I use elastic thread - thank you !

I had not seen this product before and after going to a couple of shops I ended sourcing it online. It came a couple of days later :

As soon as it arrived I tore the package open and took out the thread to discover that there was a big loop like this :

I think I was a bit too keen and opened it too fast. Fortunately, @jen0revision helped me out to unravel the mess without having to cut it.

I set about using it nearly straight away and now I can post a couple of photos. There truly isn't that much too see because it's quite transparent.

As you can see in the photo above the elastic is incredibly fine too. I just crocheted a row of single crochet stitches along the edge of the slipper holding the normal yarn and the elastic thread at the same time. I made sure the crochet hook was actually including this fine elastic as one unit.

It was quite hard to take a photo of my left hand with my right hand (literally single-handedly).
It seems to work quite well, but I wonder whether I should have stretched it a bit as I went along.

I'm pleased with the overall result of the slippers. They did need a row of single crochet to finish them off anyway.

I would like to find out how effective the elastic thread will be but I will have to wait a few weeks (months even) for that... or perhaps I should make a pair for myself too :D (you probably guessed that was coming !).

Thank you for reading.



work and photos by @cryptocariad

Sort:  

I'm happy that I could help you! That's one of the things I love about #needleworkmonday :)

Working with the elastic thread you have to be a bit careful but it works and is long lasting.

Thank you very much again, @muscara. I really appreciate your advice :D

It has begun - the age of elasticity 🤪 I vote for another pair for yourself and afterwards a report of their functionality 👍🏻😍

I'm in the process of sourcing the yarn, @neumannsalva :D

I have used elastic thread in the bobbin of my sewing machine for machine smocking.

Posted using Partiko Android

So did you use a very fine fabric, @fiberfrau ? I guess I'm slightly confused with the use of shirring elastic which went in the bobbin. This thread could actually go through the needle....
Can you tell me how you used it, please?

My elastic thread was cotton-wrapped. I used it in the bobbin and embroidery thread in the needle. The elastic gathered my lightweight cotton for the look of smocking.

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounds like the way my mum used to use that 'shirring' elastic, @fiberfrau... I wish I'd paid attention to her method... Do you stretch the elastic a bit as you wind it in the bobbin?

It has been a while, but I think I just let it stretch as it wound onto the bobbin using my machine's bobbin winder. Then it relaxes after stitching to create the shirring.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope that elastic works. I think it might. I've run into problems like this before and the elastic thread is pretty effective. These are so beautiful!

Thank you very much, @kimmac !
Again here, I'm more used to using 'shirring' elastic which is thicker... This is quite think really... Did you use it straight in the knitting machine ?

Oh , I see the elastic is a little different. I hope it works well for you! No, I haven’t used any elastic on the machine. It scares me because I imagine uneven tension. It could be interesting though.

I can totally sympathise with that, @kimmac... It takes me so long to get the courage to set up the machine - and often ages to sort jams :D

Creators create. Thats what you do.

I always enjoy making things, @steven-patrick :D

Love the cute slippers, with or without elastic thread hehe :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Always plotting, planning and wondering 'what if ?', @steven-patrick :D

Glad that you found something to try, hope it works well!

Totally new product for me, @jamethiel... I thought I'd have to weave in shirring elastic, but this looks better really...

What a neat idea? How is this working out for you?

I kind of want to make something that uses elastic now... lol.

This is @metzli visiting from the steemitmamas account to say "hello."

<3

Hi, @metzli ! That's very fine elastic I hadn't seeing before so I was totally curious to give it a try XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10